linux-cifs.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: "Michael Kerrisk (man-pages)" <mtk.manpages@gmail.com>
To: Amir Goldstein <amir73il@gmail.com>
Cc: mtk.manpages@gmail.com,
	Alejandro Colomar <alx.manpages@gmail.com>,
	linux-man <linux-man@vger.kernel.org>,
	Luis Henriques <lhenriques@suse.de>,
	Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Anna Schumaker <anna.schumaker@netapp.com>,
	Jeff Layton <jlayton@kernel.org>,
	Steve French <sfrench@samba.org>,
	Miklos Szeredi <miklos@szeredi.hu>,
	Trond Myklebust <trond.myklebust@hammerspace.com>,
	Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	"Darrick J. Wong" <darrick.wong@oracle.com>,
	Dave Chinner <dchinner@redhat.com>,
	Nicolas Boichat <drinkcat@chromium.org>,
	Ian Lance Taylor <iant@google.com>,
	Luis Lozano <llozano@chromium.org>,
	Andreas Dilger <adilger@dilger.ca>,
	Olga Kornievskaia <aglo@umich.edu>,
	Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>,
	ceph-devel <ceph-devel@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-kernel <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	CIFS <linux-cifs@vger.kernel.org>,
	samba-technical <samba-technical@lists.samba.org>,
	linux-fsdevel <linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux NFS Mailing List <linux-nfs@vger.kernel.org>,
	Walter Harms <wharms@bfs.de>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] copy_file_range.2: Update cross-filesystem support for 5.12
Date: Tue, 11 May 2021 04:34:47 +1200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <e293694f-7dd9-0212-6b6b-b42096cc1928@gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAOQ4uxgB+sZ08jB+mFXuPJfTSJUV+Re5XKQ=hN7A4xfYo0dj6A@mail.gmail.com>

Hi Amir,

On 5/10/21 4:26 PM, Amir Goldstein wrote:
> On Mon, May 10, 2021 at 3:01 AM Michael Kerrisk (man-pages)
> <mtk.manpages@gmail.com> wrote:
>>
>> Hi Alex,
>>
>> On 5/10/21 9:39 AM, Alejandro Colomar wrote:
>>> Linux 5.12 fixes a regression.
> 
> Nope.
> That never happened:
> https://lore.kernel.org/linux-fsdevel/8735v4tcye.fsf@suse.de/
> 
>>>
>>> Cross-filesystem (introduced in 5.3) copies were buggy.
>>>
>>> Move the statements documenting cross-fs to BUGS.
>>> Kernels 5.3..5.11 should be patched soon.
>>>
>>> State version information for some errors related to this.
>>
>> Thanks. Patch applied.
> 
> I guess that would need to be reverted...

Thanks for catching that. I had not pushed the patch, so 
I'll just drop it.

Cheers,

Michael


-- 
Michael Kerrisk
Linux man-pages maintainer; http://www.kernel.org/doc/man-pages/
Linux/UNIX System Programming Training: http://man7.org/training/

      reply	other threads:[~2021-05-10 16:35 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 4+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
     [not found] <20210509213930.94120-1-alx.manpages@gmail.com>
2021-05-09 21:39 ` Alejandro Colomar
2021-05-10  0:01   ` Michael Kerrisk (man-pages)
2021-05-10  4:26     ` Amir Goldstein
2021-05-10 16:34       ` Michael Kerrisk (man-pages) [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=e293694f-7dd9-0212-6b6b-b42096cc1928@gmail.com \
    --to=mtk.manpages@gmail.com \
    --cc=adilger@dilger.ca \
    --cc=aglo@umich.edu \
    --cc=alx.manpages@gmail.com \
    --cc=amir73il@gmail.com \
    --cc=anna.schumaker@netapp.com \
    --cc=ceph-devel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=darrick.wong@oracle.com \
    --cc=dchinner@redhat.com \
    --cc=drinkcat@chromium.org \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=hch@infradead.org \
    --cc=iant@google.com \
    --cc=jlayton@kernel.org \
    --cc=lhenriques@suse.de \
    --cc=linux-cifs@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-man@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-nfs@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=llozano@chromium.org \
    --cc=miklos@szeredi.hu \
    --cc=samba-technical@lists.samba.org \
    --cc=sfrench@samba.org \
    --cc=trond.myklebust@hammerspace.com \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=wharms@bfs.de \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH] copy_file_range.2: Update cross-filesystem support for 5.12' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).