Linux-Clk Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>
To: Amit Kucheria <amit.kucheria@linaro.org>
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, arm@kernel.org,
	Bartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@baylibre.com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Kishon Vijay Abraham I <kishon@ti.com>,
	Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@gmail.com>,
	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>,
	Michael Turquette <mturquette@baylibre.com>,
	Sebastian Reichel <sre@kernel.org>,
	Stephen Boyd <sboyd@kernel.org>, Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	linux-clk@vger.kernel.org, linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-pci@vger.kernel.org, linux-pm@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 0/4] Cleanup arm64 driver dependencies
Date: Thu, 12 Sep 2019 10:46:51 +0100
Message-ID: <20190912094651.GH2036@sirena.org.uk> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <cover.1568239378.git.amit.kucheria@linaro.org>

[-- Attachment #1: Type: text/plain, Size: 645 bytes --]

On Thu, Sep 12, 2019 at 03:48:44AM +0530, Amit Kucheria wrote:

> I was using initcall_debugging on a QCOM platform and ran across a bunch of
> driver initcalls that are enabled even if their SoC support is disabled.

What exactly is the problem you're trying to fix here?  For the
drivers I looked at these were bog standard register the driver
with the subsystem type initcalls on optional drivers so not
doing anything particularly disruptive or anything like that.
For any given system that's going to be an issue for the
overwhelming majority of drivers on the tree, including those
that aren't associated with any particular architecture.

[-- Attachment #2: signature.asc --]
[-- Type: application/pgp-signature, Size: 488 bytes --]

  parent reply index

Thread overview: 17+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-09-11 22:18 Amit Kucheria
2019-09-11 22:18 ` [PATCH 1/4] arm64: Kconfig: Fix XGENE " Amit Kucheria
2019-09-12  1:03   ` Stephen Boyd
2019-09-12  9:23   ` Arnd Bergmann
2019-09-11 22:18 ` [PATCH 3/4] arm64: Kconfig: Fix VEXPRESS " Amit Kucheria
2019-09-12  9:17   ` Arnd Bergmann
2019-09-13 10:12   ` Sudeep Holla
2019-09-20 20:12     ` Amit Kucheria
2019-09-11 22:18 ` [PATCH 4/4] arm64: Kconfig: Fix EXYNOS " Amit Kucheria
2019-09-12  9:19   ` Arnd Bergmann
2019-09-12  9:32   ` Mark Brown
2019-09-12  9:29 ` [PATCH 0/4] Cleanup arm64 " Arnd Bergmann
2019-09-12  9:47   ` Amit Kucheria
2019-09-12 10:03   ` Mark Brown
2019-09-12  9:46 ` Mark Brown [this message]
2019-09-12 10:03   ` Amit Kucheria
2019-09-12 10:53     ` Mark Brown

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20190912094651.GH2036@sirena.org.uk \
    --to=broonie@kernel.org \
    --cc=amit.kucheria@linaro.org \
    --cc=arm@kernel.org \
    --cc=bgolaszewski@baylibre.com \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=kishon@ti.com \
    --cc=lgirdwood@gmail.com \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-clk@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com \
    --cc=mturquette@baylibre.com \
    --cc=sboyd@kernel.org \
    --cc=sre@kernel.org \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-Clk Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-clk/0 linux-clk/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-clk linux-clk/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-clk \
		linux-clk@vger.kernel.org linux-clk@archiver.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-clk

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-clk


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/ public-inbox