Linux-Clk Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>
To: Amit Kucheria <amit.kucheria@linaro.org>
Cc: Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Lists LAKML <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	arm-soc <arm@kernel.org>,
	Bartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@baylibre.com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Kishon Vijay Abraham I <kishon@ti.com>,
	Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@gmail.com>,
	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>,
	Michael Turquette <mturquette@baylibre.com>,
	Sebastian Reichel <sre@kernel.org>,
	Stephen Boyd <sboyd@kernel.org>, Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	linux-clk <linux-clk@vger.kernel.org>,
	"open list:GPIO SUBSYSTEM" <linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-pci <linux-pci@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux PM list <linux-pm@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 0/4] Cleanup arm64 driver dependencies
Date: Thu, 12 Sep 2019 11:53:39 +0100
Message-ID: <20190912105339.GK2036@sirena.org.uk> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAP245DXBwwtcbjRQV_bCdYK5SZH9C9oxZJ2rFraJpbd5L0sHvw@mail.gmail.com>

[-- Attachment #1: Type: text/plain, Size: 1241 bytes --]

On Thu, Sep 12, 2019 at 03:33:20PM +0530, Amit Kucheria wrote:
> On Thu, Sep 12, 2019 at 3:17 PM Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org> wrote:

> > > I was using initcall_debugging on a QCOM platform and ran across a bunch of
> > > driver initcalls that are enabled even if their SoC support is disabled.

> > What exactly is the problem you're trying to fix here?  For the
> > drivers I looked at these were bog standard register the driver
> > with the subsystem type initcalls on optional drivers so not
> > doing anything particularly disruptive or anything like that.

> I was trying to prune the defconfig only to drivers that make sense on
> the SoC. e.g. Why should I see a brcmstb_soc_device_early_init() call
> on a QCOM system when I've disabled ARCH_BRCMSTB?

So this is really just the standard make Kconfig easier to use by
filtering out noise thing.  It'd be clearer if you said that in
the changelog, and like the review comments have been saying you
need to leave in an || COMPILE_TEST in there otherwise it's
actively harmful.

> I came across this while trying to figure out how to make thermal and
> cpufreq frameworks initialise as early as possible.

AFAICT you'd also have been happy if you just built these drivers
modular?

[-- Attachment #2: signature.asc --]
[-- Type: application/pgp-signature, Size: 488 bytes --]

      reply index

Thread overview: 17+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-09-11 22:18 Amit Kucheria
2019-09-11 22:18 ` [PATCH 1/4] arm64: Kconfig: Fix XGENE " Amit Kucheria
2019-09-12  1:03   ` Stephen Boyd
2019-09-12  9:23   ` Arnd Bergmann
2019-09-11 22:18 ` [PATCH 3/4] arm64: Kconfig: Fix VEXPRESS " Amit Kucheria
2019-09-12  9:17   ` Arnd Bergmann
2019-09-13 10:12   ` Sudeep Holla
2019-09-20 20:12     ` Amit Kucheria
2019-09-11 22:18 ` [PATCH 4/4] arm64: Kconfig: Fix EXYNOS " Amit Kucheria
2019-09-12  9:19   ` Arnd Bergmann
2019-09-12  9:32   ` Mark Brown
2019-09-12  9:29 ` [PATCH 0/4] Cleanup arm64 " Arnd Bergmann
2019-09-12  9:47   ` Amit Kucheria
2019-09-12 10:03   ` Mark Brown
2019-09-12  9:46 ` Mark Brown
2019-09-12 10:03   ` Amit Kucheria
2019-09-12 10:53     ` Mark Brown [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20190912105339.GK2036@sirena.org.uk \
    --to=broonie@kernel.org \
    --cc=amit.kucheria@linaro.org \
    --cc=arm@kernel.org \
    --cc=bgolaszewski@baylibre.com \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=kishon@ti.com \
    --cc=lgirdwood@gmail.com \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-clk@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com \
    --cc=mturquette@baylibre.com \
    --cc=sboyd@kernel.org \
    --cc=sre@kernel.org \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-Clk Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-clk/0 linux-clk/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-clk linux-clk/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-clk \
		linux-clk@vger.kernel.org linux-clk@archiver.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-clk

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-clk


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/ public-inbox