Linux-Clk Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Sudeep Holla <sudeep.holla@arm.com>
To: Amit Kucheria <amit.kucheria@linaro.org>
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, arm@kernel.org,
	Bartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@baylibre.com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Kishon Vijay Abraham I <kishon@ti.com>,
	Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@gmail.com>,
	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>,
	Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>,
	Michael Turquette <mturquette@baylibre.com>,
	Sebastian Reichel <sre@kernel.org>,
	Stephen Boyd <sboyd@kernel.org>, Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	linux-clk@vger.kernel.org, Sudeep Holla <sudeep.holla@arm.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 3/4] arm64: Kconfig: Fix VEXPRESS driver dependencies
Date: Fri, 13 Sep 2019 11:12:39 +0100
Message-ID: <20190913101239.GB2559@bogus> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <8f539b28c25d22b8f515c131cd6b24c309f7ca90.1568239378.git.amit.kucheria@linaro.org>

On Thu, Sep 12, 2019 at 03:48:47AM +0530, Amit Kucheria wrote:
> Push various VEXPRESS drivers behind ARCH_VEXPRESS dependency so that it
> doesn't get enabled by default on other platforms.
>

I couldn't understand the motivation for these changes from the cover letter.

> Signed-off-by: Amit Kucheria <amit.kucheria@linaro.org>
> ---
>  drivers/bus/Kconfig           | 2 +-
>  drivers/clk/versatile/Kconfig | 4 ++--
>  2 files changed, 3 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)
> 
> diff --git a/drivers/bus/Kconfig b/drivers/bus/Kconfig
> index d80e8d70bf10..b2b1beee9953 100644
> --- a/drivers/bus/Kconfig
> +++ b/drivers/bus/Kconfig
> @@ -166,7 +166,7 @@ config UNIPHIER_SYSTEM_BUS
>  
>  config VEXPRESS_CONFIG
>  	bool "Versatile Express configuration bus"
> -	default y if ARCH_VEXPRESS
> +	depends on ARCH_VEXPRESS
>  	depends on ARM || ARM64
>  	depends on OF
>  	select REGMAP
> diff --git a/drivers/clk/versatile/Kconfig b/drivers/clk/versatile/Kconfig
> index ac766855ba16..826750292c1e 100644
> --- a/drivers/clk/versatile/Kconfig
> +++ b/drivers/clk/versatile/Kconfig
> @@ -5,8 +5,8 @@ config ICST
>  config COMMON_CLK_VERSATILE
>  	bool "Clock driver for ARM Reference designs"
>  	depends on ARCH_INTEGRATOR || ARCH_REALVIEW || \
> -		ARCH_VERSATILE || ARCH_VEXPRESS || ARM64 || \
> -		COMPILE_TEST
> +		ARCH_VERSATILE || ARCH_VEXPRESS || COMPILE_TEST
> +	depends on ARM64

This will break 32-bit platforms.

--
Regards,
Sudeep

  parent reply index

Thread overview: 17+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-09-11 22:18 [PATCH 0/4] Cleanup arm64 " Amit Kucheria
2019-09-11 22:18 ` [PATCH 1/4] arm64: Kconfig: Fix XGENE " Amit Kucheria
2019-09-12  1:03   ` Stephen Boyd
2019-09-12  9:23   ` Arnd Bergmann
2019-09-11 22:18 ` [PATCH 3/4] arm64: Kconfig: Fix VEXPRESS " Amit Kucheria
2019-09-12  9:17   ` Arnd Bergmann
2019-09-13 10:12   ` Sudeep Holla [this message]
2019-09-20 20:12     ` Amit Kucheria
2019-09-11 22:18 ` [PATCH 4/4] arm64: Kconfig: Fix EXYNOS " Amit Kucheria
2019-09-12  9:19   ` Arnd Bergmann
2019-09-12  9:32   ` Mark Brown
2019-09-12  9:29 ` [PATCH 0/4] Cleanup arm64 " Arnd Bergmann
2019-09-12  9:47   ` Amit Kucheria
2019-09-12 10:03   ` Mark Brown
2019-09-12  9:46 ` Mark Brown
2019-09-12 10:03   ` Amit Kucheria
2019-09-12 10:53     ` Mark Brown

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20190913101239.GB2559@bogus \
    --to=sudeep.holla@arm.com \
    --cc=amit.kucheria@linaro.org \
    --cc=arm@kernel.org \
    --cc=bgolaszewski@baylibre.com \
    --cc=broonie@kernel.org \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=kishon@ti.com \
    --cc=lgirdwood@gmail.com \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-clk@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com \
    --cc=mturquette@baylibre.com \
    --cc=sboyd@kernel.org \
    --cc=sre@kernel.org \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-Clk Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-clk/0 linux-clk/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-clk linux-clk/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-clk \
		linux-clk@vger.kernel.org linux-clk@archiver.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-clk


Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-clk


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/ public-inbox