Linux-Clk Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: "Uwe Kleine-König" <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>
To: Michael Turquette <mturquette@baylibre.com>,
	Stephen Boyd <sboyd@kernel.org>
Cc: linux-clk@vger.kernel.org, kernel@pengutronix.de,
	Claudiu Beznea <claudiu.beznea@microchip.com>,
	Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	Lee Jones <lee.jones@linaro.org>,
	Nicolas Ferre <nicolas.ferre@microchip.com>,
	Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com>,
	Ludovic Desroches <ludovic.desroches@microchip.com>,
	linux-pwm@vger.kernel.org, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	Alessandro Zummo <a.zummo@towertech.it>,
	linux-rtc@vger.kernel.org, Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>,
	linux-spi@vger.kernel.org, Wolfram Sang <wsa@kernel.org>,
	Oleksij Rempel <o.rempel@pengutronix.de>
Subject: [PATCH v6 1/6] clk: generalize devm_clk_get() a bit
Date: Mon, 26 Apr 2021 16:17:25 +0200
Message-ID: <20210426141730.2826832-2-u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210426141730.2826832-1-u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>

Allow to add an exit hook to devm managed clocks. Also use
clk_get_optional() in devm_clk_get_optional instead of open coding it.
The generalisation will be used in the next commit to add some more
devm_clk helpers.

Signed-off-by: Uwe Kleine-König <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>
---
 drivers/clk/clk-devres.c | 67 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++----------
 1 file changed, 50 insertions(+), 17 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/clk/clk-devres.c b/drivers/clk/clk-devres.c
index be160764911b..91c995815b57 100644
--- a/drivers/clk/clk-devres.c
+++ b/drivers/clk/clk-devres.c
@@ -4,39 +4,72 @@
 #include <linux/export.h>
 #include <linux/gfp.h>
 
+struct devm_clk_state {
+	struct clk *clk;
+	void (*exit)(struct clk *clk);
+};
+
 static void devm_clk_release(struct device *dev, void *res)
 {
-	clk_put(*(struct clk **)res);
+	struct devm_clk_state *state = *(struct devm_clk_state **)res;
+
+	if (state->exit)
+		state->exit(state->clk);
+
+	clk_put(state->clk);
 }
 
-struct clk *devm_clk_get(struct device *dev, const char *id)
+static struct clk *__devm_clk_get(struct device *dev, const char *id,
+				  struct clk *(*get)(struct device *dev, const char *id),
+				  int (*init)(struct clk *clk),
+				  void (*exit)(struct clk *clk))
 {
-	struct clk **ptr, *clk;
+	struct devm_clk_state *state;
+	struct clk *clk;
+	int ret;
 
-	ptr = devres_alloc(devm_clk_release, sizeof(*ptr), GFP_KERNEL);
-	if (!ptr)
+	state = devres_alloc(devm_clk_release, sizeof(*state), GFP_KERNEL);
+	if (!state)
 		return ERR_PTR(-ENOMEM);
 
-	clk = clk_get(dev, id);
-	if (!IS_ERR(clk)) {
-		*ptr = clk;
-		devres_add(dev, ptr);
-	} else {
-		devres_free(ptr);
+	clk = get(dev, id);
+	if (IS_ERR(clk)) {
+		ret = PTR_ERR(clk);
+		goto err_clk_get;
 	}
 
+	if (init) {
+		ret = init(clk);
+		if (ret)
+			goto err_clk_init;
+	}
+
+	state->clk = clk;
+	state->exit = exit;
+
+	devres_add(dev, state);
+
 	return clk;
+
+err_clk_init:
+
+	clk_put(clk);
+err_clk_get:
+
+	devres_free(state);
+	return ERR_PTR(ret);
 }
-EXPORT_SYMBOL(devm_clk_get);
 
-struct clk *devm_clk_get_optional(struct device *dev, const char *id)
+struct clk *devm_clk_get(struct device *dev, const char *id)
 {
-	struct clk *clk = devm_clk_get(dev, id);
+	return __devm_clk_get(dev, id, clk_get, NULL, NULL);
 
-	if (clk == ERR_PTR(-ENOENT))
-		return NULL;
+}
+EXPORT_SYMBOL(devm_clk_get);
 
-	return clk;
+struct clk *devm_clk_get_optional(struct device *dev, const char *id)
+{
+	return __devm_clk_get(dev, id, clk_get_optional, NULL, NULL);
 }
 EXPORT_SYMBOL(devm_clk_get_optional);
 
-- 
2.30.2


  reply index

Thread overview: 7+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-04-26 14:17 [PATCH v6 0/6] clk: provide new devm helpers for prepared and enabled clocks Uwe Kleine-König
2021-04-26 14:17 ` Uwe Kleine-König [this message]
2021-04-26 14:17 ` [PATCH v6 2/6] clk: Provide new devm_clk_helpers " Uwe Kleine-König
2021-04-26 14:17 ` [PATCH v6 3/6] pwm: atmel: Simplify using devm_clk_get_prepared() Uwe Kleine-König
2021-04-26 14:17 ` [PATCH v6 4/6] rtc: at91sam9: Simplify using devm_clk_get_enabled() Uwe Kleine-König
2021-04-26 14:17 ` [PATCH v6 5/6] i2c: imx: " Uwe Kleine-König
2021-04-26 14:17 ` [PATCH v6 6/6] spi: davinci: " Uwe Kleine-König

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210426141730.2826832-2-u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de \
    --to=u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=a.zummo@towertech.it \
    --cc=alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=broonie@kernel.org \
    --cc=claudiu.beznea@microchip.com \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=lee.jones@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-clk@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pwm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-rtc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-spi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=ludovic.desroches@microchip.com \
    --cc=mturquette@baylibre.com \
    --cc=nicolas.ferre@microchip.com \
    --cc=o.rempel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=sboyd@kernel.org \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --cc=wsa@kernel.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-Clk Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-clk/0 linux-clk/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-clk linux-clk/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-clk \
		linux-clk@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-clk

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-clk


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git