Linux-Clk Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
To: Matti Vaittinen <matti.vaittinen@fi.rohmeurope.com>
Cc: Matti Vaittinen <mazziesaccount@gmail.com>,
	Jacek Anaszewski <jacek.anaszewski@gmail.com>,
	Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>, Dan Murphy <dmurphy@ti.com>,
	Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Lee Jones <lee.jones@linaro.org>,
	Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@gmail.com>,
	Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>,
	Michael Turquette <mturquette@baylibre.com>,
	Stephen Boyd <sboyd@kernel.org>,
	Bartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@baylibre.com>,
	Alessandro Zummo <a.zummo@towertech.it>,
	Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com>,
	Linux LED Subsystem <linux-leds@vger.kernel.org>,
	"open list:OPEN FIRMWARE AND FLATTENED DEVICE TREE BINDINGS" 
	<devicetree@vger.kernel.org>,
	"linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-clk <linux-clk@vger.kernel.org>,
	"open list:GPIO SUBSYSTEM" <linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-rtc@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [RFC PATCH v3 10/15] regulator: bd71828: Add GPIO based run-level control for regulators
Date: Sun, 3 Nov 2019 23:27:02 +0100
Message-ID: <CACRpkdZYw3QQcQ4h5y_C0UD6+4Wz9AdmQ0qSrrjfUweuJj8hyQ@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <2a8fa03308b08b2a15019d9b457d9bff7aafce94.1572606437.git.matti.vaittinen@fi.rohmeurope.com>

On Fri, Nov 1, 2019 at 12:43 PM Matti Vaittinen
<matti.vaittinen@fi.rohmeurope.com> wrote:

> Bucks 1,2,6 and 7 on ROHM BD71828 can be either controlled as
> individual regulartors - or they can be grouped to a group of
> regulators that are controlled by 'run levels'. This can be
> done via I2C. Each regulator can be assigned a voltage and
> enable/disable status for each run-level. These statuses are
> also changeable via I2C.
>
> Run-levels can then be changed either by I2C or GPIO. This
> control mechanism is selected by data in one time programmable
> area (during production) and can't be changed later.
>
> Allow regulators to be controlled via run-levels and allow
> getting/setting the current run-level also via GPIO.
>
> Signed-off-by: Matti Vaittinen <matti.vaittinen@fi.rohmeurope.com>

I like the way you use the gpio API so FWIW:
Reviewed-by: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>

I do not understand the regulator parts of the patch.

Yours,
Linus Walleij

  reply index

Thread overview: 38+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-11-01 11:28 [RFC PATCH v3 00/15] Support ROHM BD71828 PMIC Matti Vaittinen
2019-11-01 11:29 ` [RFC PATCH v3 01/15] mfd: bd71828: Support ROHM BD71828 PMIC - core Matti Vaittinen
2019-11-11 10:57   ` Lee Jones
2019-11-11 11:20     ` Vaittinen, Matti
2019-11-01 11:31 ` [RFC PATCH v3 02/15] dt-bindings: mfd: Document ROHM BD71828 bindings Matti Vaittinen
2019-11-05 20:43   ` Rob Herring
2019-11-06 12:55     ` SPAM (R/EU IT) // " Vaittinen, Matti
2019-11-01 11:31 ` [RFC PATCH v3 03/15] dt-bindings: regulator: Document ROHM BD71282 regulator bindings Matti Vaittinen
2019-11-05 20:52   ` Rob Herring
2019-11-07  6:50     ` SPAM (R/EU IT) // " Vaittinen, Matti
2019-11-01 11:32 ` [RFC PATCH v3 04/15] dt-bindings: leds: ROHM BD71282 PMIC LED driver Matti Vaittinen
2019-11-05 19:14   ` Dan Murphy
2019-11-05 20:59     ` Rob Herring
2019-11-06 13:05     ` Vaittinen, Matti
2019-11-05 20:57   ` Rob Herring
2019-11-01 11:33 ` [RFC PATCH v3 05/15] mfd: input: bd71828: Add power-key support Matti Vaittinen
2019-11-11 10:59   ` Lee Jones
2019-11-11 11:07     ` Vaittinen, Matti
2019-11-01 11:38 ` [RFC PATCH v3 06/15] clk: bd718x7: Support ROHM BD71828 clk block Matti Vaittinen
2019-11-01 11:39 ` [RFC PATCH v3 07/15] clk: bd718x7: simplify header dependencies Matti Vaittinen
2019-11-01 11:41 ` [RFC PATCH v3 08/15] regulator: bd718x7: Split driver to common and bd718x7 specific parts Matti Vaittinen
2019-11-01 11:42 ` [RFC PATCH v3 09/15] regulator: bd71828: Basic support for ROHM bd71828 PMIC regulators Matti Vaittinen
2019-11-01 11:43 ` [RFC PATCH v3 10/15] regulator: bd71828: Add GPIO based run-level control for regulators Matti Vaittinen
2019-11-03 22:27   ` Linus Walleij [this message]
2019-11-04  7:05     ` Vaittinen, Matti
2019-11-05 13:24       ` Linus Walleij
2019-11-05 14:07         ` Vaittinen, Matti
2019-11-01 11:44 ` [RFC PATCH v3 11/15] regulator: bd71828: enhanced run-level support Matti Vaittinen
2019-11-01 11:45 ` [RFC PATCH v3 12/15] regulator: bd71828: Support in-kernel APIs to change run-level Matti Vaittinen
2019-11-01 11:49 ` [RFC PATCH v3 13/15] rtc: bd70528 add BD71828 support Matti Vaittinen
2019-11-01 11:49 ` [RFC PATCH v3 14/15] gpio: Add definition for GPIO direction Matti Vaittinen
2019-11-03 22:30   ` Linus Walleij
2019-11-04  6:57     ` Vaittinen, Matti
2019-11-04 15:48     ` Vaittinen, Matti
2019-11-05 15:05       ` Linus Walleij
2019-11-06  6:51         ` Vaittinen, Matti
2019-11-01 11:51 ` [RFC PATCH v3 15/15] gpio: bd71828: Initial support for ROHM BD71828 PMIC GPIOs Matti Vaittinen
2019-11-01 11:53 ` [RFC PATCH v3 00/15] Support ROHM BD71828 PMIC Vaittinen, Matti

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CACRpkdZYw3QQcQ4h5y_C0UD6+4Wz9AdmQ0qSrrjfUweuJj8hyQ@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=a.zummo@towertech.it \
    --cc=alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=bgolaszewski@baylibre.com \
    --cc=broonie@kernel.org \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=dmurphy@ti.com \
    --cc=jacek.anaszewski@gmail.com \
    --cc=lee.jones@linaro.org \
    --cc=lgirdwood@gmail.com \
    --cc=linux-clk@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-leds@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-rtc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=matti.vaittinen@fi.rohmeurope.com \
    --cc=mazziesaccount@gmail.com \
    --cc=mturquette@baylibre.com \
    --cc=pavel@ucw.cz \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=sboyd@kernel.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-Clk Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-clk/0 linux-clk/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-clk linux-clk/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-clk \
		linux-clk@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-clk

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-clk


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git