linux-coco.lists.linux.dev archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
To: Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>
Cc: x86@kernel.org, Joerg Roedel <jroedel@suse.de>,
	hpa@zytor.com, Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>,
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.cz>,
	Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>,
	Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@amd.com>,
	Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>,
	Cfir Cohen <cfir@google.com>, Erdem Aktas <erdemaktas@google.com>,
	Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@kernel.org>,
	Mike Stunes <mstunes@vmware.com>,
	Sean Christopherson <seanjc@google.com>,
	Martin Radev <martin.b.radev@gmail.com>,
	Arvind Sankar <nivedita@alum.mit.edu>,
	linux-coco@lists.linux.dev, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	kvm@vger.kernel.org, virtualization@lists.linux-foundation.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v7 1/2] x86/sev: Make sure IRQs are disabled while GHCB is active
Date: Mon, 21 Jun 2021 14:40:40 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <YNCIyFltNGzLWuk5@zn.tnic> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210618115409.22735-2-joro@8bytes.org>

On Fri, Jun 18, 2021 at 01:54:08PM +0200, Joerg Roedel wrote:
> From: Joerg Roedel <jroedel@suse.de>
> 
> The #VC handler only cares about IRQs being disabled while the GHCB is
> active, as it must not be interrupted by something which could cause
> another #VC while it holds the GHCB (NMI is the exception for which the
> backup GHCB exits).
> 
> Make sure nothing interrupts the code path while the GHCB is active by
> disabling IRQs in sev_es_get_ghcb() and restoring the previous irq state
> in sev_es_put_ghcb().

Note for committer: update those function names.

-- 
Regards/Gruss,
    Boris.

https://people.kernel.org/tglx/notes-about-netiquette

  reply	other threads:[~2021-06-21 12:40 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 6+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-06-18 11:54 [PATCH v7 0/2] x86/sev: Fixes for SEV-ES Guest Support Joerg Roedel
2021-06-18 11:54 ` [PATCH v7 1/2] x86/sev: Make sure IRQs are disabled while GHCB is active Joerg Roedel
2021-06-21 12:40   ` Borislav Petkov [this message]
2021-06-18 11:54 ` [PATCH v7 2/2] x86/sev: Split up runtime #VC handler for correct state tracking Joerg Roedel
2021-06-21 13:13 ` [PATCH v7 0/2] x86/sev: Fixes for SEV-ES Guest Support Peter Zijlstra
2021-06-21 15:52   ` Joerg Roedel

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=YNCIyFltNGzLWuk5@zn.tnic \
    --to=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=cfir@google.com \
    --cc=dan.j.williams@intel.com \
    --cc=dave.hansen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=erdemaktas@google.com \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=jgross@suse.com \
    --cc=joro@8bytes.org \
    --cc=jroedel@suse.de \
    --cc=jslaby@suse.cz \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kvm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-coco@lists.linux.dev \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=luto@kernel.org \
    --cc=martin.b.radev@gmail.com \
    --cc=mhiramat@kernel.org \
    --cc=mstunes@vmware.com \
    --cc=nivedita@alum.mit.edu \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=rientjes@google.com \
    --cc=seanjc@google.com \
    --cc=thomas.lendacky@amd.com \
    --cc=virtualization@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v7 1/2] x86/sev: Make sure IRQs are disabled while GHCB is active' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).