linux-crypto.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Iuliana Prodan <iuliana.prodan@nxp.com>
To: Herbert Xu <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au>
Cc: Baolin Wang <baolin.wang@linaro.org>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>,
	Corentin Labbe <clabbe.montjoie@gmail.com>,
	Horia Geanta <horia.geanta@nxp.com>,
	Maxime Coquelin <mcoquelin.stm32@gmail.com>,
	Alexandre Torgue <alexandre.torgue@st.com>,
	Maxime Ripard <mripard@kernel.org>,
	Aymen Sghaier <aymen.sghaier@nxp.com>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Silvano Di Ninno <silvano.dininno@nxp.com>,
	Franck Lenormand <franck.lenormand@nxp.com>,
	"linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org" <linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org>,
	"linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	dl-linux-imx <linux-imx@nxp.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v4 1/2] crypto: engine - support for parallel requests
Date: Fri, 27 Mar 2020 10:44:02 +0000	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <AM6PR0402MB370147736BEAD099AAF061558CCC0@AM6PR0402MB3701.eurprd04.prod.outlook.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200327044404.GA12318@gondor.apana.org.au>

On 3/27/2020 6:44 AM, Herbert Xu wrote:
> On Tue, Mar 17, 2020 at 01:08:18PM +0000, Iuliana Prodan wrote:
>>
>> This case can happen right now, also. I can't guarantee that all drivers
>> send all requests via crypto-engine.
> 
> I think this is something that we should address.  


I agree we should not have failed requests, _with_ MAY_BACKLOG, that 
pass through crypto-engine. All these requests must me executed. For 
this case I have a solution and I'll work on it.

> If a driver
> is going to use crypto_engine then really all requests should go
> through that.  IOW, we should have a one-to-one relationship between
> engines and hardware.
> 
This cannot happen right now.
For non-crypto API requests (like split key or rng) I cannot pass them 
through crypto-engine which only supports aead, skcipher, hash and 
akcipher requests.

So, I believe that if the first problem is solved (to have all crypto 
API requests, that have backlog flag executed - retry mechanism instead 
of reporting failure) the non-crypto API request doesn't have to be pass 
through crypto-engine - these can be handled by driver.

Thanks,
Iulia



  reply	other threads:[~2020-03-27 10:44 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 13+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-03-08 22:51 [PATCH v4 0/2] crypto: engine - support for parallel and batch requests Iuliana Prodan
2020-03-08 22:51 ` [PATCH v4 1/2] crypto: engine - support for parallel requests Iuliana Prodan
2020-03-12  3:25   ` Herbert Xu
2020-03-12 11:05     ` Horia Geantă
2020-03-17  3:22       ` Herbert Xu
2020-03-12 12:45     ` Iuliana Prodan
2020-03-12 12:52       ` Iuliana Prodan
2020-03-17  3:29       ` Herbert Xu
2020-03-17 13:08         ` Iuliana Prodan
2020-03-27  4:44           ` Herbert Xu
2020-03-27 10:44             ` Iuliana Prodan [this message]
2020-04-03  6:19               ` Herbert Xu
2020-03-08 22:51 ` [PATCH v4 2/2] crypto: engine - support for batch requests Iuliana Prodan

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=AM6PR0402MB370147736BEAD099AAF061558CCC0@AM6PR0402MB3701.eurprd04.prod.outlook.com \
    --to=iuliana.prodan@nxp.com \
    --cc=alexandre.torgue@st.com \
    --cc=ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org \
    --cc=aymen.sghaier@nxp.com \
    --cc=baolin.wang@linaro.org \
    --cc=clabbe.montjoie@gmail.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=franck.lenormand@nxp.com \
    --cc=herbert@gondor.apana.org.au \
    --cc=horia.geanta@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-imx@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mcoquelin.stm32@gmail.com \
    --cc=mripard@kernel.org \
    --cc=silvano.dininno@nxp.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v4 1/2] crypto: engine - support for parallel requests' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).