Linux-Doc Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
To: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Yu-cheng Yu <yu-cheng.yu@intel.com>,
	x86@kernel.org, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-doc@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-mm@kvack.org, linux-arch@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-api@vger.kernel.org, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>,
	Balbir Singh <bsingharora@gmail.com>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>,
	Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@gmail.com>,
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>,
	Eugene Syromiatnikov <esyr@redhat.com>,
	Florian Weimer <fweimer@redhat.com>,
	"H.J. Lu" <hjl.tools@gmail.com>, Jann Horn <jannh@google.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>,
	Nadav Amit <nadav.amit@gmail.com>,
	Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>, Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>,
	"Ravi V. Shankar" <ravi.v.shankar@intel.com>,
	Vedvyas Shanbhogue <vedvyas.shanbhogue@intel.com>,
	Dave Martin <Dave.Martin@arm.com>,
	Weijiang Yang <weijiang.yang@intel.com>
Subject: Re: [RFC PATCH 5/5] selftest/x86: Add CET quick test
Date: Fri, 22 May 2020 10:22:51 -0700
Message-ID: <202005221020.B578B8C6@keescook> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200522092848.GJ325280@hirez.programming.kicks-ass.net>

On Fri, May 22, 2020 at 11:28:48AM +0200, Peter Zijlstra wrote:
> Get asm/asm.h into userspace and then write something like:

Yeah, selftests is going to start suffering from the same "tools/ header
duplication" problem. I've also had cases (see the logic in the Makefile
in selftests/x86) where selftests is duplicating existing Kconfig and
Makefile logic ("can I build this way?")

But yes, I think getting a copy of asm.h would be nice here. I don't
think the WRITE_ONCE() is needed in this particular case. Hmm.

-- 
Kees Cook

  parent reply index

Thread overview: 21+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-05-21 21:17 [RFC PATCH 0/5] Update selftests/x86 for CET Yu-cheng Yu
2020-05-21 21:17 ` [RFC PATCH 1/5] x86/cet/shstk: Modify ARCH_X86_CET_ALLOC_SHSTK for 32-bit address range Yu-cheng Yu
2020-05-21 22:43   ` Kees Cook
2020-05-21 21:17 ` [RFC PATCH 2/5] selftest/x86: Enable CET for selftests/x86 Yu-cheng Yu
2020-05-21 22:44   ` Kees Cook
2020-05-21 22:58     ` Yu-cheng Yu
2020-05-21 21:17 ` [RFC PATCH 3/5] selftest/x86: Fix sigreturn_64 test Yu-cheng Yu
2020-05-21 22:47   ` Kees Cook
2020-05-21 22:48   ` Kees Cook
2020-05-21 21:17 ` [RFC PATCH 4/5] selftest/x86: Fix sysret_rip with ENDBR Yu-cheng Yu
2020-05-21 21:34   ` Thomas Gleixner
2020-05-21 22:59     ` Yu-cheng Yu
2020-05-21 21:17 ` [RFC PATCH 5/5] selftest/x86: Add CET quick test Yu-cheng Yu
2020-05-21 23:02   ` Kees Cook
2020-05-21 23:23     ` Yu-cheng Yu
2020-05-22  9:28   ` Peter Zijlstra
2020-05-22 15:10     ` Yu-cheng Yu
2020-05-22 17:22     ` Kees Cook [this message]
2020-05-22 17:27       ` Peter Zijlstra
2020-05-22 17:36         ` Kees Cook
2020-05-22 18:07           ` Yu-cheng Yu

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=202005221020.B578B8C6@keescook \
    --to=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=Dave.Martin@arm.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=bsingharora@gmail.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=dave.hansen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=esyr@redhat.com \
    --cc=fweimer@redhat.com \
    --cc=gorcunov@gmail.com \
    --cc=hjl.tools@gmail.com \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=jannh@google.com \
    --cc=linux-api@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arch@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=luto@kernel.org \
    --cc=mike.kravetz@oracle.com \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=nadav.amit@gmail.com \
    --cc=oleg@redhat.com \
    --cc=pavel@ucw.cz \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=ravi.v.shankar@intel.com \
    --cc=rdunlap@infradead.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=vedvyas.shanbhogue@intel.com \
    --cc=weijiang.yang@intel.com \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --cc=yu-cheng.yu@intel.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-Doc Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-doc/0 linux-doc/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-doc linux-doc/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-doc \
		linux-doc@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-doc

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-doc


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git