Linux-Doc Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
To: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
Cc: Bartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@baylibre.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	Harish Jenny K N <harish_kandiga@mentor.com>,
	Eugeniu Rosca <erosca@de.adit-jv.com>,
	Alexander Graf <graf@amazon.com>,
	Peter Maydell <peter.maydell@linaro.org>,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>,
	Phil Reid <preid@electromag.com.au>,
	Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@arm.com>,
	Christoffer Dall <christoffer.dall@arm.com>,
	Magnus Damm <magnus.damm@gmail.com>,
	Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	"open list:GPIO SUBSYSTEM" <linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux Doc Mailing List <linux-doc@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux-Renesas <linux-renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org>,
	"linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	QEMU Developers <qemu-devel@nongnu.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v5 1/5] gpiolib: Add support for gpiochipN-based table lookup
Date: Tue, 17 Mar 2020 09:41:47 +0100
Message-ID: <CAMuHMdVM=F_p0L24shstWbQSur7JJ6irVBiugxxqKsky0hxdAg@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CACRpkdZGKB9opaOFT8Yz-tfE9vcCVeF9EvvBi7jWWuAAh3C_FA@mail.gmail.com>

Hi Linus,

On Thu, Mar 12, 2020 at 3:23 PM Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org> wrote:
> On Tue, Feb 18, 2020 at 4:18 PM Geert Uytterhoeven
> <geert+renesas@glider.be> wrote:
>
> > Currently GPIO controllers can only be referred to by label in GPIO
> > lookup tables.
> >
> > Add support for looking them up by "gpiochipN" name, with "N" the
> > corresponding GPIO device's ID number.
> >
> > Signed-off-by: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@glider.be>
> > Reviewed-by: Ulrich Hecht <uli+renesas@fpond.eu>
> > Reviewed-by: Eugeniu Rosca <erosca@de.adit-jv.com>
> > Tested-by: Eugeniu Rosca <erosca@de.adit-jv.com>
>
> Just like with patch 2/5 I have the same problem here that
> the commit message doesn't state the technical reason why
> we need to change this and support the device name in these
> tables and not just labels.

As these "gpiochipN" names are not stable, I will drop this patch, and
the related support.

Gr{oetje,eeting}s,

                        Geert


--
Geert Uytterhoeven -- There's lots of Linux beyond ia32 -- geert@linux-m68k.org

In personal conversations with technical people, I call myself a hacker. But
when I'm talking to journalists I just say "programmer" or something like that.
                                -- Linus Torvalds

  reply index

Thread overview: 20+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-02-18 15:18 [PATCH v5 0/5] gpio: Add GPIO Aggregator Geert Uytterhoeven
2020-02-18 15:18 ` [PATCH v5 1/5] gpiolib: Add support for gpiochipN-based table lookup Geert Uytterhoeven
2020-03-12 14:23   ` Linus Walleij
2020-03-17  8:41     ` Geert Uytterhoeven [this message]
2020-02-18 15:18 ` [PATCH v5 2/5] gpiolib: Add support for GPIO line " Geert Uytterhoeven
2020-02-19 10:17   ` Geert Uytterhoeven
2020-03-12 14:21   ` Linus Walleij
2020-03-17  8:48     ` Geert Uytterhoeven
2020-02-18 15:18 ` [PATCH v5 3/5] gpio: Add GPIO Aggregator Geert Uytterhoeven
2020-03-12 14:57   ` Linus Walleij
2020-03-17 10:50     ` Geert Uytterhoeven
2020-03-17 11:32   ` Geert Uytterhoeven
2020-02-18 15:18 ` [PATCH v5 4/5] docs: gpio: Add GPIO Aggregator documentation Geert Uytterhoeven
2020-02-18 18:29   ` Randy Dunlap
2020-02-18 19:09     ` Geert Uytterhoeven
2020-02-21 16:34     ` Geert Uytterhoeven
2020-02-21 16:35       ` Randy Dunlap
2020-02-18 15:18 ` [PATCH v5 5/5] MAINTAINERS: Add GPIO Aggregator section Geert Uytterhoeven
2020-02-18 17:04 ` [PATCH v5 0/5] gpio: Add GPIO Aggregator Eugeniu Rosca
2020-02-21 16:39 ` Geert Uytterhoeven

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAMuHMdVM=F_p0L24shstWbQSur7JJ6irVBiugxxqKsky0hxdAg@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=geert@linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=bgolaszewski@baylibre.com \
    --cc=christoffer.dall@arm.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=erosca@de.adit-jv.com \
    --cc=graf@amazon.com \
    --cc=harish_kandiga@mentor.com \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=magnus.damm@gmail.com \
    --cc=marc.zyngier@arm.com \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=pbonzini@redhat.com \
    --cc=peter.maydell@linaro.org \
    --cc=preid@electromag.com.au \
    --cc=qemu-devel@nongnu.org \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-Doc Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-doc/0 linux-doc/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-doc linux-doc/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-doc \
		linux-doc@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-doc

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-doc


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git