linux-edac.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: "Leizhen (ThunderTown)" <thunder.leizhen@huawei.com>
To: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@kernel.org>,
	Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>,
	James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>,
	Robert Richter <rric@kernel.org>,
	Johannes Thumshirn <morbidrsa@gmail.com>,
	Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>,
	Dinh Nguyen <dinguyen@kernel.org>,
	Jan Luebbe <jlu@pengutronix.de>,
	Andre Przywara <andre.przywara@arm.com>,
	"Channagoud Kadabi" <ckadabi@codeaurora.org>,
	Venkata Narendra Kumar Gutta <vnkgutta@codeaurora.org>,
	Andy Gross <agross@kernel.org>,
	Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	Khuong Dinh <khuong@os.amperecomputing.com>,
	York Sun <york.sun@nxp.com>,
	linux-edac <linux-edac@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-mips <linux-mips@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-arm-msm <linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-kernel <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 3/3] edac: Use 'ret' instead of 'res' to store the return value
Date: Tue, 1 Jun 2021 09:40:19 +0800	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <4f96d85f-a7a6-531b-a032-a04e51a218cc@huawei.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <YLT5Y+FRhUWWszOq@zn.tnic>



On 2021/5/31 22:57, Borislav Petkov wrote:
> On Mon, May 31, 2021 at 10:53:02PM +0800, Zhen Lei wrote:
>> Usually 'ret' or 'rc' is used as the abbreviation for 'return code', and
>> 'res' is used as the abbreviation for 'resource'.
> 
> Or "result."

https://www.allacronyms.com/result/abbreviated

It seems 'res' is the right abbreviation for 'result'. But since people see 'res',
it's easier to associate 'resource', it's probably better to use it sparingly.
And it seems that 'ret' and 'rc' are used more frequently.

However, the greens and radishes have their own love. So I'm fine with ignoring
this patch.

> 
> Please refrain from doing pointless patches like that - it is a totally
> unnecessary churn.

OK

> 


      reply	other threads:[~2021-06-01  1:40 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 6+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-05-31 14:52 [PATCH v2 0/3] edac: Fix error return code when edac_pci_add_device() or edac_device_add_device() fails Zhen Lei
2021-05-31 14:53 ` [PATCH v2 1/3] edac: Fix error return code when edac_pci_add_device() fails Zhen Lei
2021-05-31 14:53 ` [PATCH v2 2/3] edac: Fix error return code when edac_device_add_device() fails Zhen Lei
2021-05-31 14:53 ` [PATCH v2 3/3] edac: Use 'ret' instead of 'res' to store the return value Zhen Lei
2021-05-31 14:57   ` Borislav Petkov
2021-06-01  1:40     ` Leizhen (ThunderTown) [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=4f96d85f-a7a6-531b-a032-a04e51a218cc@huawei.com \
    --to=thunder.leizhen@huawei.com \
    --cc=agross@kernel.org \
    --cc=andre.przywara@arm.com \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=ckadabi@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=dinguyen@kernel.org \
    --cc=james.morse@arm.com \
    --cc=jlu@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=khuong@os.amperecomputing.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-edac@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mips@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mchehab@kernel.org \
    --cc=morbidrsa@gmail.com \
    --cc=ralf@linux-mips.org \
    --cc=rric@kernel.org \
    --cc=tony.luck@intel.com \
    --cc=vnkgutta@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=york.sun@nxp.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2 3/3] edac: Use '\''ret'\'' instead of '\''res'\'' to store the return value' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).