Linux-EFI Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Qian Cai <cai@lca.pw>
To: Marco Elver <elver@google.com>
Cc: LKMM Maintainers -- Akira Yokosawa <akiyks@gmail.com>,
	Alan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>,
	Alexander Potapenko <glider@google.com>,
	Andrea Parri <parri.andrea@gmail.com>,
	Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@google.com>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>, Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>, Daniel Axtens <dja@axtens.net>,
	Daniel Lustig <dlustig@nvidia.com>,
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>,
	David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>,
	Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>,
	"H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	Jade Alglave <j.alglave@ucl.ac.uk>,
	Joel Fernandes <joel@joelfernandes.org>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>,
	Luc Maranget <luc.maranget@inria.fr>,
	Mark Rutland <Mark.Rutland@arm.com>,
	Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>,
	"Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@kernel.org>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>, Eric Dumazet <edumazet@google.com>,
	kasan-dev <kasan-dev@googlegroups.com>,
	linux-arch <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org>,
	"open list:DOCUMENTATION" <linux-doc@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-efi@vger.kernel.org,
	Linux Kbuild mailing list <linux-kbuild@vger.kernel.org>,
	LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux Memory Management List <linux-mm@kvack.org>,
	the arch/x86 maintainers <x86@kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v4 01/10] kcsan: Add Kernel Concurrency Sanitizer infrastructure
Date: Tue, 19 Nov 2019 16:42:26 -0500
Message-ID: <A74F8151-F5E8-4532-BB67-6CFA32487D26@lca.pw> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CANpmjNPiKg++=QHUjD87dqiBU1pHHfZmGLAh1gOZ+4JKAQ4SAQ@mail.gmail.com>



> On Nov 19, 2019, at 2:54 PM, Marco Elver <elver@google.com> wrote:
> 
> Regardless of approach, my guess is that the complexity outweighs any
> benefits this may provide in the end. Not only would a hypothetical
> kernel that combines these be extremely slow, it'd also diminish the
> practical value because testing and finding bugs would also be
> impaired due to performance.

On the other hand, it is valuable for distros to be able to select both for the debug kernel variant. Performance is usually not a major concern over there and could be migrated by other means like selecting powerful systems etc.

  reply index

Thread overview: 40+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-11-14 18:02 [PATCH v4 00/10] Add Kernel Concurrency Sanitizer (KCSAN) Marco Elver
2019-11-14 18:02 ` [PATCH v4 01/10] kcsan: Add Kernel Concurrency Sanitizer infrastructure Marco Elver
2019-11-19 19:27   ` Qian Cai
2019-11-19 19:54     ` Marco Elver
2019-11-19 21:42       ` Qian Cai [this message]
2019-11-19 21:53         ` Marco Elver
2020-01-03  5:13   ` Qian Cai
2020-01-06 12:46     ` Marco Elver
2020-01-14 11:08       ` Qian Cai
2020-01-14 12:51         ` Marco Elver
2020-01-14 19:22         ` Paul E. McKenney
2020-01-14 20:30           ` Qian Cai
2020-01-14 21:34             ` Paul E. McKenney
2020-01-14 21:48               ` Qian Cai
2020-01-14 22:09                 ` Paul E. McKenney
2019-11-14 18:02 ` [PATCH v4 02/10] include/linux/compiler.h: Introduce data_race(expr) macro Marco Elver
2019-11-14 18:02 ` [PATCH v4 03/10] kcsan: Add Documentation entry in dev-tools Marco Elver
2019-11-14 18:02 ` [PATCH v4 04/10] objtool, kcsan: Add KCSAN runtime functions to whitelist Marco Elver
2019-11-14 18:02 ` [PATCH v4 05/10] build, kcsan: Add KCSAN build exceptions Marco Elver
2019-11-14 18:02 ` [PATCH v4 06/10] seqlock, kcsan: Add annotations for KCSAN Marco Elver
2019-11-14 18:03 ` [PATCH v4 07/10] seqlock: Require WRITE_ONCE surrounding raw_seqcount_barrier Marco Elver
2019-11-14 18:03 ` [PATCH v4 08/10] asm-generic, kcsan: Add KCSAN instrumentation for bitops Marco Elver
2019-11-15 11:55   ` Marco Elver
2019-11-14 18:03 ` [PATCH v4 09/10] locking/atomics, kcsan: Add KCSAN instrumentation Marco Elver
2019-11-14 18:03 ` [PATCH v4 10/10] x86, kcsan: Enable KCSAN for x86 Marco Elver
2019-11-14 19:50 ` [PATCH v4 00/10] Add Kernel Concurrency Sanitizer (KCSAN) Paul E. McKenney
2019-11-14 21:33   ` Marco Elver
2019-11-14 22:15     ` Paul E. McKenney
2019-11-15 12:02       ` Marco Elver
2019-11-15 16:41         ` Paul E. McKenney
2019-11-15 17:14           ` Marco Elver
2019-11-15 20:43             ` Paul E. McKenney
2019-11-16  8:20               ` Marco Elver
2019-11-16 15:34                 ` Paul E. McKenney
2019-11-16 18:09                   ` Marco Elver
2019-11-16 18:28                     ` Paul E. McKenney
2019-11-19 19:50 ` Qian Cai
2019-11-19 20:12 ` Qian Cai
2019-11-19 21:50   ` Marco Elver
2019-11-20 15:54     ` Marco Elver

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=A74F8151-F5E8-4532-BB67-6CFA32487D26@lca.pw \
    --to=cai@lca.pw \
    --cc=Mark.Rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=akiyks@gmail.com \
    --cc=andreyknvl@google.com \
    --cc=ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=boqun.feng@gmail.com \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=dave.hansen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=dhowells@redhat.com \
    --cc=dja@axtens.net \
    --cc=dlustig@nvidia.com \
    --cc=dvyukov@google.com \
    --cc=edumazet@google.com \
    --cc=elver@google.com \
    --cc=glider@google.com \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=j.alglave@ucl.ac.uk \
    --cc=joel@joelfernandes.org \
    --cc=jpoimboe@redhat.com \
    --cc=kasan-dev@googlegroups.com \
    --cc=linux-arch@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-efi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kbuild@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=luc.maranget@inria.fr \
    --cc=luto@kernel.org \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=npiggin@gmail.com \
    --cc=parri.andrea@gmail.com \
    --cc=paulmck@kernel.org \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=stern@rowland.harvard.edu \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-EFI Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-efi/0 linux-efi/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-efi linux-efi/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-efi \
		linux-efi@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-efi

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-efi


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git