Linux-fbdev Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@csgroup.eu>
To: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Kate Stewart <kstewart@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	"Desnes A. Nunes do Rosario" <desnesn@linux.ibm.com>,
	Geert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@glider.be>,
	"open list:DOCUMENTATION" <linux-doc@vger.kernel.org>,
	ALSA Development Mailing List <alsa-devel@alsa-project.org>,
	dri-devel <dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org>,
	Jaroslav Kysela <perex@perex.cz>,
	Richard Fontana <rfontana@redhat.com>,
	Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>,
	Miquel Raynal <miquel.raynal@bootlin.com>,
	Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+samsung@kernel.org>,
	Fabio Estevam <festevam@gmail.com>,
	Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>,
	Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	Masahiro Yamada <masahiroy@kernel.org>,
	Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.com>, YueHaibing <yuehaibing@huawei.com>,
	Michal Simek <michal.simek@xilinx.com>,
	Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@kernel.org>,
	Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	Leonardo Bras <leonardo@linux.ibm.com>,
	DTML <devicetree@vger.kernel.org>,
	Andrew Donnellan <ajd@linux.ibm.com>,
	Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <b.zolnierkie@samsung.com>,
	Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@arm.com>,
	Alistair Popple <alistair@popple.id.au>,
	linuxppc-dev <linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org>,
	Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>,
	Alexios Zavras <alexios.zavras@intel.com>,
	Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>,
	git@xilinx.com,
	Linux Fbdev development list <linux-fbdev@vger.kernel.org>,
	Jonathan Cameron <Jonathan.Cameron@huawei.com>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com>,
	Allison Randal <allison@lohutok.net>,
	Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr>,
	Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>, Wei Hu <weh@microsoft.com>,
	Christian Lamparter <chunkeey@gmail.com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@google.com>,
	"linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Armijn Hemel <armijn@tjaldur.nl>,
	Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>, Enrico Weigelt <info@metux.net>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Thiago Jung Bauermann <bauerman@linux.ibm.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 0/2] powerpc: Remove support for ppc405/440 Xilinx platforms
Date: Wed, 25 Nov 2020 07:36:49 +0100
Message-ID: <02a27887-55ce-2101-efce-b1236e164f15@csgroup.eu> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <33b873a8-ded2-4866-fb70-c336fb325923@csgroup.eu>



Le 21/05/2020 à 12:38, Christophe Leroy a écrit :
> 
> 
> Le 21/05/2020 à 09:02, Michael Ellerman a écrit :
>> Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> writes:
>>> +On Wed, Apr 8, 2020 at 2:04 PM Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> wrote:
>>>> Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> writes:
>>>>> On Fri, 2020-04-03 at 15:59 +1100, Michael Ellerman wrote:
>>>>>> Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> writes:
>>>>> IBM still put 40x cores inside POWER chips no ?
>>>>
>>>> Oh yeah that's true. I guess most folks don't know that, or that they
>>>> run RHEL on them.
>>>
>>> Is there a reason for not having those dts files in mainline then?
>>> If nothing else, it would document what machines are still being
>>> used with future kernels.
>>
>> Sorry that part was a joke :D  Those chips don't run Linux.
>>
> 
> Nice to know :)
> 
> What's the plan then, do we still want to keep 40x in the kernel ?
> 
> If yes, is it ok to drop the oldies anyway as done in my series 
> https://patchwork.ozlabs.org/project/linuxppc-dev/list/?series=172630 ?
> 
> (Note that this series will conflict with my series on hugepages on 8xx due to the 
> PTE_ATOMIC_UPDATES stuff. I can rebase the 40x modernisation series on top of the 8xx hugepages 
> series if it is worth it)
> 

Do we still want to keep 40x in the kernel ? We don't even have a running 40x QEMU machine as far as 
I know.

I'm asking because I'd like to drop the non CONFIG_VMAP_STACK code to simplify and ease stuff (code 
that works with vmalloc'ed stacks also works with stacks in linear memory), but I can't do it 
because 40x doesn't have VMAP_STACK and should I implement it for 40x, I have to means to test it.

So it would ease things if we could drop 40x completely, unless someone there has a 40x platform to 
test stuff.

Thanks
Christophe

      parent reply index

Thread overview: 2+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
     [not found] <cover.1585311091.git.michal.simek@xilinx.com>
2020-03-27 12:12 ` [PATCH 2/2] powerpc: Remove Xilinx PPC405/PPC440 support Michal Simek
     [not found] ` <CAK8P3a2mKPRFbRE3MWScr9GSiL4cpLg0wqv1Q28XDCZVPWgHfg@mail.gmail.com>
     [not found]   ` <20200327131026.GT1922688@smile.fi.intel.com>
     [not found]     ` <20200327131531.GU1922688@smile.fi.intel.com>
     [not found]       ` <CAK8P3a1Z+ZPTDzgAjdz0a7d85R62BhUqkdEWgrwXh-OnYe6rog@mail.gmail.com>
     [not found]         ` <20200327141434.GA1922688@smile.fi.intel.com>
     [not found]           ` <b5adcc7a-9d10-d75f-50e3-9c150a7b4989@c-s.fr>
     [not found]             ` <87mu7xum41.fsf@mpe.ellerman.id.au>
     [not found]               ` <bac9af641140cf6df04e3532589a11c2f3bccd2f.camel@kernel.crashing.org>
     [not found]                 ` <87pncprwp9.fsf@mpe.ellerman.id.au>
     [not found]                   ` <5782f9a42ad8acd8b234fa9c15a09db93552dc6b.camel@kernel.crashing.org>
     [not found]                     ` <871roykwu6.fsf@mpe.ellerman.id.au>
     [not found]                       ` <CAK8P3a1XmeeP7FKfNwXZO8cXyJ_U_Jr0kjOaGZ6F=7OcoZ+0nw@mail.gmail.com>
     [not found]                         ` <87zha17otl.fsf@mpe.ellerman.id.au>
     [not found]                           ` <33b873a8-ded2-4866-fb70-c336fb325923@csgroup.eu>
2020-11-25  6:36                             ` Christophe Leroy [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=02a27887-55ce-2101-efce-b1236e164f15@csgroup.eu \
    --to=christophe.leroy@csgroup.eu \
    --cc=Jonathan.Cameron@huawei.com \
    --cc=ajd@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=alexios.zavras@intel.com \
    --cc=alistair@popple.id.au \
    --cc=allison@lohutok.net \
    --cc=alsa-devel@alsa-project.org \
    --cc=andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=armijn@tjaldur.nl \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=b.zolnierkie@samsung.com \
    --cc=bauerman@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=broonie@kernel.org \
    --cc=christophe.leroy@c-s.fr \
    --cc=chunkeey@gmail.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=desnesn@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=festevam@gmail.com \
    --cc=geert+renesas@glider.be \
    --cc=git@xilinx.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=info@metux.net \
    --cc=krzk@kernel.org \
    --cc=kstewart@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=leonardo@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-fbdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=marc.zyngier@arm.com \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=masahiroy@kernel.org \
    --cc=mchehab+samsung@kernel.org \
    --cc=michal.simek@xilinx.com \
    --cc=miquel.raynal@bootlin.com \
    --cc=monstr@monstr.eu \
    --cc=mpe@ellerman.id.au \
    --cc=ndesaulniers@google.com \
    --cc=npiggin@gmail.com \
    --cc=paulus@samba.org \
    --cc=perex@perex.cz \
    --cc=rfontana@redhat.com \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=sashal@kernel.org \
    --cc=sfr@canb.auug.org.au \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=tiwai@suse.com \
    --cc=weh@microsoft.com \
    --cc=yuehaibing@huawei.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-fbdev Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-fbdev/0 linux-fbdev/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-fbdev linux-fbdev/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-fbdev \
		linux-fbdev@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-fbdev

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-fbdev


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git