linux-fbdev.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>
To: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux-MM <linux-mm@kvack.org>, Joel Stanley <joel@jms.id.au>,
	David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>, Andrew Jeffery <andrew@aj.id.au>,
	Lucas Stach <l.stach@pengutronix.de>,
	Russell King <linux+etnaviv@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Christian Gmeiner <christian.gmeiner@gmail.com>,
	Mike Rapoport <rppt@kernel.org>,
	Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <b.zolnierkie@samsung.com>,
	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	Michal Simek <michal.simek@xilinx.com>,
	Masahiro Yamada <masahiroy@kernel.org>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>,
	Peter Collingbourne <pcc@google.com>,
	linux-aspeed <linux-aspeed@lists.ozlabs.org>,
	dri-devel <dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org>,
	Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	The etnaviv authors <etnaviv@lists.freedesktop.org>,
	Linux Fbdev development list <linux-fbdev@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v1 2/2] drivers/gpu/drm: don't select DMA_CMA or CMA from aspeed or etnaviv
Date: Thu, 8 Apr 2021 13:46:12 -0300	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210408164612.GD227011@ziepe.ca> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <YG7rKfJkTDJorqvY@phenom.ffwll.local>

On Thu, Apr 08, 2021 at 01:38:17PM +0200, Daniel Vetter wrote:

> If you want to change this, we need automatic conflict resolution like apt
> and other package managers have, with suggestions how to fix the config if
> you want to enable a driver, but some of its requirements are missing. The
> current approach of hiding driver symbols complete if any of their
> dependencies are off is really not great.

+1 to this.. 

Though Kconfig is basically already unusuable unless you have hours to
carefully craft the kconfig you need to get out.

I'm not sure trying to optimize this by abusing the existing language
rules is such a good idea.

I gave a very half hearted go at a simple heuristic solution solve for
kconfig a while ago. It is good enough to sometimes automate a kconfig
task, but it is not so nice.

I use it to do things like "turn on all RDMA drivers" which is quite
a hard to do by hand.

It looks liked heursitics need a lot of fine tuning as the
conditionals are complex enough that it is hard to guess which branch
is going to yield a success.

Jason

      reply	other threads:[~2021-04-08 16:46 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 23+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-04-08  9:20 [PATCH v1 0/2] drivers: don't select DMA_CMA or CMA David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08  9:20 ` [PATCH v1 1/2] drivers/video/fbdev: don't select DMA_CMA David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08  9:56   ` Mike Rapoport
2021-04-08  9:20 ` [PATCH v1 2/2] drivers/gpu/drm: don't select DMA_CMA or CMA from aspeed or etnaviv David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08  9:56   ` Mike Rapoport
2021-04-08  9:57     ` David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08 10:20   ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-04-08 10:27     ` David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08 10:36       ` David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08 10:44       ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-04-08 11:00         ` David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08 11:44           ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-04-08 12:00             ` David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08 12:12               ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-04-08 12:49               ` Linus Walleij
2021-04-08 13:19                 ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-04-09  8:07                   ` David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08 16:44                 ` David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08 20:29                   ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-04-09  8:09                     ` David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08 21:45                   ` Linus Walleij
2021-04-08 11:38     ` Daniel Vetter
2021-04-08 16:46       ` Jason Gunthorpe [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210408164612.GD227011@ziepe.ca \
    --to=jgg@ziepe.ca \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=andrew@aj.id.au \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=b.zolnierkie@samsung.com \
    --cc=christian.gmeiner@gmail.com \
    --cc=david@redhat.com \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=etnaviv@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=joel@jms.id.au \
    --cc=l.stach@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux+etnaviv@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-aspeed@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=linux-fbdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=masahiroy@kernel.org \
    --cc=michal.simek@xilinx.com \
    --cc=pcc@google.com \
    --cc=rdunlap@infradead.org \
    --cc=rppt@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v1 2/2] drivers/gpu/drm: don'\''t select DMA_CMA or CMA from aspeed or etnaviv' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).