linux-fbdev.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
To: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux-MM <linux-mm@kvack.org>, Joel Stanley <joel@jms.id.au>,
	David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>, Daniel Vetter <daniel@ffwll.ch>,
	Andrew Jeffery <andrew@aj.id.au>,
	Lucas Stach <l.stach@pengutronix.de>,
	Russell King <linux+etnaviv@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Christian Gmeiner <christian.gmeiner@gmail.com>,
	Mike Rapoport <rppt@kernel.org>,
	Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <b.zolnierkie@samsung.com>,
	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	Michal Simek <michal.simek@xilinx.com>,
	Masahiro Yamada <masahiroy@kernel.org>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>,
	Peter Collingbourne <pcc@google.com>,
	linux-aspeed <linux-aspeed@lists.ozlabs.org>,
	dri-devel <dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org>,
	Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	The etnaviv authors <etnaviv@lists.freedesktop.org>,
	Linux Fbdev development list <linux-fbdev@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v1 2/2] drivers/gpu/drm: don't select DMA_CMA or CMA from aspeed or etnaviv
Date: Thu, 8 Apr 2021 14:00:48 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <3a2d64a7-8425-8daf-17ee-95b9f0c635f9@redhat.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAK8P3a1tVwkDbtvKi8atkrg1-CfoQHGrXLCzn_uo+=dfZJfdQA@mail.gmail.com>

On 08.04.21 13:44, Arnd Bergmann wrote:
> On Thu, Apr 8, 2021 at 1:00 PM David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com> wrote:
>>>
>>> It is a somewhat awkward way to say "prevent this symbol from
>>> being =y if the dependency is =m".
>>
>> What would be the right thing to do in the case here then to achieve the
>> "if DRMA_ASPEED_GFX is enabled, also enable DMA_CMA id possible"?
>>
>> One approach could be to have for DMA_CMA
>>
>> default y if DRMA_ASPEED_GFX
>>
>> but it feels like the wrong way to tackle this.
> 
> I'm still not sure what you are trying to achieve. Is the idea only to provide
> a useful default for DMA_CMA depending on which drivers are enabled?

"Random drivers should not override a user configuration of core knobs
(e.g., CONFIG_DMA_CMA=n)."

Let's assume I'm a distribution and want to set CONFIG_CMA=n or want to 
set CONFIG_DMA_CMA=n with CONFIG_CMA=y; there is no way to do that with 
e.g., DRMA_ASPEED_GFX=y because it will always override my (user!) 
setting -- even though it doesn't really always need it. Using "select" 
is the problem here.

> 
> This is something you could do using a hidden helper symbol like
> 
> config DRMA_ASPEED_GFX
>         bool "Aspeed display driver"
>         select DRM_WANT_CMA
> 
> config DRM_WANT_CMA
>         bool
>         help
>            Select this from any driver that benefits from CMA being enabled
> 
> config DMA_CMA
>         bool "Use CMA helpers for DRM"
>         default DRM_WANT_CMA
> 
>           Arnd
> 

That's precisely what I had first, with an additional "WANT_CMA" --  but 
looking at the number of such existing options (I was able to spot 1 !) 
I wondered if there is a better approach to achieve the same; "imply" 
sounded like a good candidate.

-- 
Thanks,

David / dhildenb


  reply	other threads:[~2021-04-08 12:01 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 23+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-04-08  9:20 [PATCH v1 0/2] drivers: don't select DMA_CMA or CMA David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08  9:20 ` [PATCH v1 1/2] drivers/video/fbdev: don't select DMA_CMA David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08  9:56   ` Mike Rapoport
2021-04-08  9:20 ` [PATCH v1 2/2] drivers/gpu/drm: don't select DMA_CMA or CMA from aspeed or etnaviv David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08  9:56   ` Mike Rapoport
2021-04-08  9:57     ` David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08 10:20   ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-04-08 10:27     ` David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08 10:36       ` David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08 10:44       ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-04-08 11:00         ` David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08 11:44           ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-04-08 12:00             ` David Hildenbrand [this message]
2021-04-08 12:12               ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-04-08 12:49               ` Linus Walleij
2021-04-08 13:19                 ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-04-09  8:07                   ` David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08 16:44                 ` David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08 20:29                   ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-04-09  8:09                     ` David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08 21:45                   ` Linus Walleij
2021-04-08 11:38     ` Daniel Vetter
2021-04-08 16:46       ` Jason Gunthorpe

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=3a2d64a7-8425-8daf-17ee-95b9f0c635f9@redhat.com \
    --to=david@redhat.com \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=andrew@aj.id.au \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=b.zolnierkie@samsung.com \
    --cc=christian.gmeiner@gmail.com \
    --cc=daniel@ffwll.ch \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=etnaviv@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=joel@jms.id.au \
    --cc=l.stach@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux+etnaviv@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-aspeed@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=linux-fbdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=masahiroy@kernel.org \
    --cc=michal.simek@xilinx.com \
    --cc=pcc@google.com \
    --cc=rdunlap@infradead.org \
    --cc=rppt@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v1 2/2] drivers/gpu/drm: don'\''t select DMA_CMA or CMA from aspeed or etnaviv' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).