linux-fbdev.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
To: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
Cc: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux-MM <linux-mm@kvack.org>, Joel Stanley <joel@jms.id.au>,
	David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>, Daniel Vetter <daniel@ffwll.ch>,
	Andrew Jeffery <andrew@aj.id.au>,
	Lucas Stach <l.stach@pengutronix.de>,
	Russell King <linux+etnaviv@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Christian Gmeiner <christian.gmeiner@gmail.com>,
	Mike Rapoport <rppt@kernel.org>,
	Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <b.zolnierkie@samsung.com>,
	Michal Simek <michal.simek@xilinx.com>,
	Masahiro Yamada <masahiroy@kernel.org>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>,
	Peter Collingbourne <pcc@google.com>,
	linux-aspeed <linux-aspeed@lists.ozlabs.org>,
	dri-devel <dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org>,
	Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	The etnaviv authors <etnaviv@lists.freedesktop.org>,
	Linux Fbdev development list <linux-fbdev@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v1 2/2] drivers/gpu/drm: don't select DMA_CMA or CMA from aspeed or etnaviv
Date: Thu, 8 Apr 2021 15:19:19 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAK8P3a2Wu7tT-YajfdXSSVvg5MYMEnEy3APJ83DcLeJdGkkSrQ@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CACRpkdYizKGhtYzE+22oZAduLNCOGP9Vbp=LQbXG1C-a+MyMcg@mail.gmail.com>

On Thu, Apr 8, 2021 at 2:50 PM Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org> wrote:
>
> On Thu, Apr 8, 2021 at 2:01 PM David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com> wrote:
>
> > > This is something you could do using a hidden helper symbol like
> > >
> > > config DRMA_ASPEED_GFX
> > >         bool "Aspeed display driver"
> > >         select DRM_WANT_CMA
> > >
> > > config DRM_WANT_CMA
> > >         bool
> > >         help
> > >            Select this from any driver that benefits from CMA being enabled
> > >
> > > config DMA_CMA
> > >         bool "Use CMA helpers for DRM"
> > >         default DRM_WANT_CMA
> > >
> > >           Arnd
> > >
> >
> > That's precisely what I had first, with an additional "WANT_CMA" --  but
> > looking at the number of such existing options (I was able to spot 1 !)
>
> If you do this it probably makes sense to fix a few other drivers
> Kconfig in the process. It's not just a problem with your driver.
> "my" drivers:
>
> drivers/gpu/drm/mcde/Kconfig
> drivers/gpu/drm/pl111/Kconfig
> drivers/gpu/drm/tve200/Kconfig
>
> certainly needs this as well, and pretty much anything that is
> selecting DRM_KMS_CMA_HELPER or
> DRM_GEM_CMA_HELPER "wants" DMA_CMA.

Are there any that don't select either of the helpers and
still want CMA? If not, it would be easy to just add

   default  DRM_KMS_CMA_HELPER || DRM_GEM_CMA_HELPER

and skipt the extra symbol.

        Arnd

  reply	other threads:[~2021-04-08 13:19 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 23+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-04-08  9:20 [PATCH v1 0/2] drivers: don't select DMA_CMA or CMA David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08  9:20 ` [PATCH v1 1/2] drivers/video/fbdev: don't select DMA_CMA David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08  9:56   ` Mike Rapoport
2021-04-08  9:20 ` [PATCH v1 2/2] drivers/gpu/drm: don't select DMA_CMA or CMA from aspeed or etnaviv David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08  9:56   ` Mike Rapoport
2021-04-08  9:57     ` David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08 10:20   ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-04-08 10:27     ` David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08 10:36       ` David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08 10:44       ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-04-08 11:00         ` David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08 11:44           ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-04-08 12:00             ` David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08 12:12               ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-04-08 12:49               ` Linus Walleij
2021-04-08 13:19                 ` Arnd Bergmann [this message]
2021-04-09  8:07                   ` David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08 16:44                 ` David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08 20:29                   ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-04-09  8:09                     ` David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08 21:45                   ` Linus Walleij
2021-04-08 11:38     ` Daniel Vetter
2021-04-08 16:46       ` Jason Gunthorpe

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAK8P3a2Wu7tT-YajfdXSSVvg5MYMEnEy3APJ83DcLeJdGkkSrQ@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=andrew@aj.id.au \
    --cc=b.zolnierkie@samsung.com \
    --cc=christian.gmeiner@gmail.com \
    --cc=daniel@ffwll.ch \
    --cc=david@redhat.com \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=etnaviv@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=joel@jms.id.au \
    --cc=l.stach@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux+etnaviv@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-aspeed@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=linux-fbdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=masahiroy@kernel.org \
    --cc=michal.simek@xilinx.com \
    --cc=pcc@google.com \
    --cc=rdunlap@infradead.org \
    --cc=rppt@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v1 2/2] drivers/gpu/drm: don'\''t select DMA_CMA or CMA from aspeed or etnaviv' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).