Linux-Fsdevel Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Michal Suchanek <msuchanek@suse.de>
To: linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org
Cc: Michal Suchanek <msuchanek@suse.de>,
	Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>,
	Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>,
	Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>,
	Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>,
	Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr>,
	Breno Leitao <leitao@debian.org>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Firoz Khan <firoz.khan@linaro.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Joel Stanley <joel@jms.id.au>,
	Hari Bathini <hbathini@linux.ibm.com>,
	Michael Neuling <mikey@neuling.org>,
	Andrew Donnellan <andrew.donnellan@au1.ibm.com>,
	Russell Currey <ruscur@russell.cc>,
	Diana Craciun <diana.craciun@nxp.com>,
	"Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>,
	David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>,
	Allison Randal <allison@lohutok.net>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Madhavan Srinivasan <maddy@linux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH v9 7/8] powerpc/64: Make COMPAT user-selectable disabled on littleendian by default.
Date: Fri, 13 Sep 2019 14:58:01 +0200
Message-ID: <0017ff10ff75c3b5587406ad81f6827872e39f6e.1568319276.git.msuchanek@suse.de> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <cover.1568319275.git.msuchanek@suse.de>

On bigendian ppc64 it is common to have 32bit legacy binaries but much
less so on littleendian.

Signed-off-by: Michal Suchanek <msuchanek@suse.de>
Reviewed-by: Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr>
---
v3: make configurable
---
 arch/powerpc/Kconfig | 5 +++--
 1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/powerpc/Kconfig b/arch/powerpc/Kconfig
index 5bab0bb6b833..b0339e892329 100644
--- a/arch/powerpc/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/powerpc/Kconfig
@@ -264,8 +264,9 @@ config PANIC_TIMEOUT
 	default 180
 
 config COMPAT
-	bool
-	default y if PPC64
+	bool "Enable support for 32bit binaries"
+	depends on PPC64
+	default y if !CPU_LITTLE_ENDIAN
 	select COMPAT_BINFMT_ELF
 	select ARCH_WANT_OLD_COMPAT_IPC
 	select COMPAT_OLD_SIGACTION
-- 
2.23.0


  parent reply index

Thread overview: 9+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-09-13 12:57 [PATCH v9 0/8] Disable compat cruft on ppc64le v9 Michal Suchanek
2019-09-13 12:57 ` [PATCH v9 1/8] powerpc: Add back __ARCH_WANT_SYS_LLSEEK macro Michal Suchanek
2019-09-13 12:57 ` [PATCH v9 2/8] powerpc: move common register copy functions from signal_32.c to signal.c Michal Suchanek
2019-09-13 12:57 ` [PATCH v9 3/8] powerpc/perf: consolidate read_user_stack_32 Michal Suchanek
2019-09-13 12:57 ` [PATCH v9 4/8] powerpc/perf: consolidate valid_user_sp Michal Suchanek
2019-09-13 12:57 ` [PATCH v9 5/8] powerpc/perf: remove current_is_64bit() Michal Suchanek
2019-09-13 12:58 ` [PATCH v9 6/8] powerpc/64: make buildable without CONFIG_COMPAT Michal Suchanek
2019-09-13 12:58 ` Michal Suchanek [this message]
2019-09-13 12:58 ` [PATCH v9 8/8] powerpc/perf: split callchain.c by bitness Michal Suchanek

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=0017ff10ff75c3b5587406ad81f6827872e39f6e.1568319276.git.msuchanek@suse.de \
    --to=msuchanek@suse.de \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=allison@lohutok.net \
    --cc=andrew.donnellan@au1.ibm.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=benh@kernel.crashing.org \
    --cc=christophe.leroy@c-s.fr \
    --cc=david@redhat.com \
    --cc=diana.craciun@nxp.com \
    --cc=ebiederm@xmission.com \
    --cc=firoz.khan@linaro.org \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=hbathini@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=joel@jms.id.au \
    --cc=leitao@debian.org \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=maddy@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --cc=mikey@neuling.org \
    --cc=mpe@ellerman.id.au \
    --cc=npiggin@gmail.com \
    --cc=paulus@samba.org \
    --cc=ruscur@russell.cc \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-Fsdevel Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-fsdevel/0 linux-fsdevel/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-fsdevel linux-fsdevel/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-fsdevel \
		linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org linux-fsdevel@archiver.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-fsdevel


Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-fsdevel


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/ public-inbox