Linux-Fsdevel Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Alexei Starovoitov <alexei.starovoitov@gmail.com>
To: "Luis R. Rodriguez" <mcgrof@kernel.org>
Cc: Alexei Starovoitov <ast@kernel.org>,
	davem@davemloft.net, daniel@iogearbox.net,
	torvalds@linux-foundation.org, gregkh@linuxfoundation.org,
	luto@amacapital.net, netdev@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, kernel-team@fb.com,
	Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>, Eric Paris <eparis@redhat.com>,
	Matthew Auld <matthew.auld@intel.com>,
	Josh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org>,
	"Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>,
	Joonas Lahtinen <joonas.lahtinen@linux.intel.com>,
	Chris Wilson <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk>,
	Stephen Smalley <sds@tycho.nsa.gov>,
	"Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>,
	Mimi Zohar <zohar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Dominik Brodowski <linux@dominikbrodowski.net>,
	Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>, Jann Horn <jannh@google.com>,
	Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@linux.intel.com>,
	Rodrigo Vivi <rodrigo.vivi@intel.com>,
	David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>,
	Linux FS Devel <linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org>,
	pjones@redhat.com, Michael Matz <matz@suse.de>,
	mjg59@google.com,
	linux-security-module <linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-integrity@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 net-next 2/4] net: add skeleton of bpfilter kernel module
Date: Tue, 8 May 2018 19:29:29 -0700
Message-ID: <20180509022928.elyxj6mohm2jud56@ast-mbp> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20180507185124.GA18195@wotan.suse.de>

On Mon, May 07, 2018 at 06:51:24PM +0000, Luis R. Rodriguez wrote:
> > Notice that _binary_net_bpfilter_bpfilter_umh_start - end
> > is placed into .init.rodata section, so it's freed as soon as __init
> > function of bpfilter.ko is finished.
> > As part of __init the bpfilter.ko does first request/reply action
> > via two unix pipe provided by fork_usermode_blob() helper to
> > make sure that umh is healthy. If not it will kill it via pid.
> 
> It does this very fast, right away. On a really slow system how are you sure
> that this won't race and the execution of the check happens early on prior to
> letting the actual setup trigger? After all, we're calling the userpsace
> process in async mode. We could preempt it now.

I don't see an issue.
the kernel synchronously writes into a pipe. User space process reads.
Exactly the same as coredump logic with pipes.

> > +# a bit of elf magic to convert bpfilter_umh binary into a binary blob
> > +# inside bpfilter_umh.o elf file referenced by
> > +# _binary_net_bpfilter_bpfilter_umh_start symbol
> > +# which bpfilter_kern.c passes further into umh blob loader at run-time
> > +quiet_cmd_copy_umh = GEN $@
> > +      cmd_copy_umh = echo ':' > $(obj)/.bpfilter_umh.o.cmd; \
> > +      $(OBJCOPY) -I binary -O $(CONFIG_OUTPUT_FORMAT) \
> > +      -B `$(OBJDUMP) -f $<|grep architecture|cut -d, -f1|cut -d' ' -f2` \
> > +      --rename-section .data=.init.rodata $< $@
> 
> Cool, but so our expectation is that the compiler sets this symbol, how
> are we sure it will always be set?

Compiler doesn't set it. objcopy does.

> > +
> > +	if (__bpfilter_process_sockopt(NULL, 0, 0, 0, 0) != 0) {
> 
> See, here, what if the userspace process gets preemtped and we run this
> check afterwards? Is that possible?

User space is a normal task. It can sleep and can be single stepped with GDB.

      reply index

Thread overview: 8+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
     [not found] <20180503043604.1604587-1-ast@kernel.org>
     [not found] ` <20180503043604.1604587-2-ast@kernel.org>
2018-05-04 19:56   ` [PATCH v2 net-next 1/4] umh: introduce fork_usermode_blob() helper Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-05-05  1:37     ` Alexei Starovoitov
2018-05-07 18:39       ` Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-05-09  2:25         ` Alexei Starovoitov
2018-05-10 22:27     ` Kees Cook
2018-05-10 23:16       ` Alexei Starovoitov
     [not found] ` <20180503043604.1604587-3-ast@kernel.org>
2018-05-07 18:51   ` [PATCH v2 net-next 2/4] net: add skeleton of bpfilter kernel module Luis R. Rodriguez
2018-05-09  2:29     ` Alexei Starovoitov [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20180509022928.elyxj6mohm2jud56@ast-mbp \
    --to=alexei.starovoitov@gmail.com \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=ast@kernel.org \
    --cc=chris@chris-wilson.co.uk \
    --cc=daniel@iogearbox.net \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=dhowells@redhat.com \
    --cc=ebiederm@xmission.com \
    --cc=eparis@redhat.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=hughd@google.com \
    --cc=jani.nikula@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=jannh@google.com \
    --cc=jgross@suse.com \
    --cc=joonas.lahtinen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=josh@joshtriplett.org \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kernel-team@fb.com \
    --cc=kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-integrity@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@dominikbrodowski.net \
    --cc=luto@amacapital.net \
    --cc=matthew.auld@intel.com \
    --cc=matz@suse.de \
    --cc=mcgrof@kernel.org \
    --cc=mjg59@google.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=pjones@redhat.com \
    --cc=rjw@rjwysocki.net \
    --cc=rodrigo.vivi@intel.com \
    --cc=sds@tycho.nsa.gov \
    --cc=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=zohar@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-Fsdevel Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-fsdevel/0 linux-fsdevel/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-fsdevel linux-fsdevel/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-fsdevel \
		linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-fsdevel

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-fsdevel


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git