linux-fsdevel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
To: Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky.work@gmail.com>
Cc: Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@linux.intel.com>,
	Joonas Lahtinen <joonas.lahtinen@linux.intel.com>,
	Rodrigo Vivi <rodrigo.vivi@intel.com>,
	Chris Wilson <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk>,
	Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>,
	Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>,
	intel-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org, dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org,
	Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@gmail.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCHv2 2/2] i915: do not leak module ref counter
Date: Tue, 20 Aug 2019 07:56:23 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20190820055623.GC27501@lst.de> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20190820031359.11717-2-sergey.senozhatsky@gmail.com>

On Tue, Aug 20, 2019 at 12:13:59PM +0900, Sergey Senozhatsky wrote:
> Always put_filesystem() in i915_gemfs_init().
> 
> Signed-off-by: Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@gmail.com>
> ---
>  - v2: rebased (i915 does not remount gemfs anymore)

Which means it real doesn't need its mount anyore, and thus can use
plain old shmem_file_setup and doesn't need to mess with file system
types at all.

Assuming we find a legitimate rason for why a driver should be able
to create a kernel mount or a file system type where it doesn't have
access to the struct file_system_type an API that mount by file system
name and thus hides the get_fs_type and put_filesystem would be a much
better API than adding this random export.

      reply	other threads:[~2019-08-20  5:56 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 3+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-08-20  3:13 [PATCHv2 1/2] fs: export put_filesystem() Sergey Senozhatsky
2019-08-20  3:13 ` [PATCHv2 2/2] i915: do not leak module ref counter Sergey Senozhatsky
2019-08-20  5:56   ` Christoph Hellwig [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20190820055623.GC27501@lst.de \
    --to=hch@lst.de \
    --cc=chris@chris-wilson.co.uk \
    --cc=dhowells@redhat.com \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=intel-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=jani.nikula@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=joonas.lahtinen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=rodrigo.vivi@intel.com \
    --cc=sergey.senozhatsky.work@gmail.com \
    --cc=sergey.senozhatsky@gmail.com \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --subject='Re: [PATCHv2 2/2] i915: do not leak module ref counter' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).