Linux-Fsdevel Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>
To: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>, Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
Cc: "Alexander Viro" <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	"Paul Elliott" <paul.elliott@arm.com>,
	"Peter Zijlstra" <peterz@infradead.org>,
	"Yu-cheng Yu" <yu-cheng.yu@intel.com>,
	"Amit Kachhap" <amit.kachhap@arm.com>,
	"Vincenzo Frascino" <vincenzo.frascino@arm.com>,
	"Marc Zyngier" <maz@kernel.org>,
	"Eugene Syromiatnikov" <esyr@redhat.com>,
	"Szabolcs Nagy" <szabolcs.nagy@arm.com>,
	"H . J . Lu " <hjl.tools@gmail.com>,
	"Andrew Jones" <drjones@redhat.com>,
	"Kees Cook" <keescook@chromium.org>,
	"Arnd Bergmann" <arnd@arndb.de>, "Jann Horn" <jannh@google.com>,
	"Richard Henderson" <richard.henderson@linaro.org>,
	"Kristina Martšenko" <kristina.martsenko@arm.com>,
	"Thomas Gleixner" <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	"Florian Weimer" <fweimer@redhat.com>,
	"Sudakshina Das" <sudi.das@arm.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-arch@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org,
	"Dave Martin" <Dave.Martin@arm.com>,
	"Mark Brown" <broonie@kernel.org>
Subject: [PATCH v6 09/11] arm64: BTI: Reset BTYPE when skipping emulated instructions
Date: Wed, 12 Feb 2020 19:29:04 +0000
Message-ID: <20200212192906.53366-10-broonie@kernel.org> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200212192906.53366-1-broonie@kernel.org>

From: Dave Martin <Dave.Martin@arm.com>

Since normal execution of any non-branch instruction resets the
PSTATE BTYPE field to 0, so do the same thing when emulating a
trapped instruction.

Branches don't trap directly, so we should never need to assign a
non-zero value to BTYPE here.

Signed-off-by: Dave Martin <Dave.Martin@arm.com>
Signed-off-by: Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>
---
 arch/arm64/kernel/traps.c | 2 ++
 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+)

diff --git a/arch/arm64/kernel/traps.c b/arch/arm64/kernel/traps.c
index 3c07a7074145..52ed261e7739 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/kernel/traps.c
+++ b/arch/arm64/kernel/traps.c
@@ -335,6 +335,8 @@ void arm64_skip_faulting_instruction(struct pt_regs *regs, unsigned long size)
 
 	if (compat_user_mode(regs))
 		advance_itstate(regs);
+	else
+		regs->pstate &= ~PSR_BTYPE_MASK;
 }
 
 static LIST_HEAD(undef_hook);
-- 
2.20.1


  parent reply index

Thread overview: 18+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-02-12 19:28 [PATCH v6 00/11] arm64: Branch Target Identification support Mark Brown
2020-02-12 19:28 ` [PATCH v6 01/11] ELF: UAPI and Kconfig additions for ELF program properties Mark Brown
2020-02-26  5:49   ` Kees Cook
2020-02-26 11:20     ` Mark Brown
2020-02-12 19:28 ` [PATCH v6 02/11] ELF: Add ELF program property parsing support Mark Brown
2020-02-12 19:28 ` [PATCH v6 03/11] arm64: Basic Branch Target Identification support Mark Brown
2020-02-12 19:28 ` [PATCH v6 04/11] elf: Allow arch to tweak initial mmap prot flags Mark Brown
2020-02-12 19:29 ` [PATCH v6 05/11] arm64: elf: Enable BTI at exec based on ELF program properties Mark Brown
2020-02-25 13:28   ` Amit Kachhap
2020-02-25 17:27     ` Mark Brown
2020-02-26  5:47   ` Kees Cook
2020-02-12 19:29 ` [PATCH v6 06/11] arm64: BTI: Decode BTYPE bits when printing PSTATE Mark Brown
2020-02-12 19:29 ` [PATCH v6 07/11] arm64: unify native/compat instruction skipping Mark Brown
2020-02-12 19:29 ` [PATCH v6 08/11] arm64: traps: Shuffle code to eliminate forward declarations Mark Brown
2020-02-12 19:29 ` Mark Brown [this message]
2020-02-12 19:29 ` [PATCH v6 10/11] KVM: arm64: BTI: Reset BTYPE when skipping emulated instructions Mark Brown
2020-02-15 11:56   ` Marc Zyngier
2020-02-12 19:29 ` [PATCH v6 11/11] arm64: mm: Display guarded pages in ptdump Mark Brown

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200212192906.53366-10-broonie@kernel.org \
    --to=broonie@kernel.org \
    --cc=Dave.Martin@arm.com \
    --cc=amit.kachhap@arm.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=drjones@redhat.com \
    --cc=esyr@redhat.com \
    --cc=fweimer@redhat.com \
    --cc=hjl.tools@gmail.com \
    --cc=jannh@google.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kristina.martsenko@arm.com \
    --cc=linux-arch@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=maz@kernel.org \
    --cc=paul.elliott@arm.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=richard.henderson@linaro.org \
    --cc=sudi.das@arm.com \
    --cc=szabolcs.nagy@arm.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=vincenzo.frascino@arm.com \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --cc=yu-cheng.yu@intel.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-Fsdevel Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-fsdevel/0 linux-fsdevel/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-fsdevel linux-fsdevel/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-fsdevel \
		linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-fsdevel

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-fsdevel


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git