linux-fsdevel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Axel Rasmussen <axelrasmussen@google.com>
To: "Alexander Viro" <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	"Alexey Dobriyan" <adobriyan@gmail.com>,
	"Andrea Arcangeli" <aarcange@redhat.com>,
	"Andrew Morton" <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	"Anshuman Khandual" <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>,
	"Catalin Marinas" <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	"Chinwen Chang" <chinwen.chang@mediatek.com>,
	"Huang Ying" <ying.huang@intel.com>,
	"Ingo Molnar" <mingo@redhat.com>, "Jann Horn" <jannh@google.com>,
	"Jerome Glisse" <jglisse@redhat.com>,
	"Lokesh Gidra" <lokeshgidra@google.com>,
	"Matthew Wilcox (Oracle)" <willy@infradead.org>,
	"Michael Ellerman" <mpe@ellerman.id.au>,
	"Michal Koutný" <mkoutny@suse.com>,
	"Michel Lespinasse" <walken@google.com>,
	"Mike Kravetz" <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>,
	"Mike Rapoport" <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	"Nicholas Piggin" <npiggin@gmail.com>,
	"Peter Xu" <peterx@redhat.com>, "Shaohua Li" <shli@fb.com>,
	"Shawn Anastasio" <shawn@anastas.io>,
	"Steven Rostedt" <rostedt@goodmis.org>,
	"Steven Price" <steven.price@arm.com>,
	"Vlastimil Babka" <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-mm@kvack.org, Adam Ruprecht <ruprecht@google.com>,
	Axel Rasmussen <axelrasmussen@google.com>,
	Cannon Matthews <cannonmatthews@google.com>,
	"Dr . David Alan Gilbert" <dgilbert@redhat.com>,
	David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>,
	Oliver Upton <oupton@google.com>
Subject: [PATCH v2 6/9] userfaultfd: disable huge PMD sharing for MINOR registered VMAs
Date: Fri, 22 Jan 2021 13:29:23 -0800	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210122212926.3457593-7-axelrasmussen@google.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210122212926.3457593-1-axelrasmussen@google.com>

As the comment says: for the MINOR fault use case, although the page
might be present and populated in the other (non-UFFD-registered) half
of the shared mapping, it may be out of date, and we explicitly want
userspace to get a minor fault so it can check and potentially update
the page's contents.

Huge PMD sharing would prevent these faults from occurring for
suitably aligned areas, so disable it upon UFFD registration.

Reviewed-by: Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Axel Rasmussen <axelrasmussen@google.com>
---
 include/linux/userfaultfd_k.h | 12 +++++++++---
 1 file changed, 9 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/include/linux/userfaultfd_k.h b/include/linux/userfaultfd_k.h
index 0390e5ac63b3..fb9abaeb4194 100644
--- a/include/linux/userfaultfd_k.h
+++ b/include/linux/userfaultfd_k.h
@@ -56,12 +56,18 @@ static inline bool is_mergeable_vm_userfaultfd_ctx(struct vm_area_struct *vma,
 }
 
 /*
- * Never enable huge pmd sharing on uffd-wp registered vmas, because uffd-wp
- * protect information is per pgtable entry.
+ * Never enable huge pmd sharing on some uffd registered vmas:
+ *
+ * - VM_UFFD_WP VMAs, because write protect information is per pgtable entry.
+ *
+ * - VM_UFFD_MINOR VMAs, because we explicitly want minor faults to occur even
+ *   when the other half of a shared mapping is populated (even though the page
+ *   is there, in our use case it may be out of date, so userspace needs to
+ *   check for this and possibly update it).
  */
 static inline bool uffd_disable_huge_pmd_share(struct vm_area_struct *vma)
 {
-	return vma->vm_flags & VM_UFFD_WP;
+	return vma->vm_flags & (VM_UFFD_WP | VM_UFFD_MINOR);
 }
 
 static inline bool userfaultfd_missing(struct vm_area_struct *vma)
-- 
2.30.0.280.ga3ce27912f-goog


  parent reply	other threads:[~2021-01-22 21:35 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 10+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-01-22 21:29 [PATCH 0/9] userfaultfd: add minor fault handling Axel Rasmussen
2021-01-22 21:29 ` [PATCH v2 1/9] hugetlb: Pass vma into huge_pte_alloc() Axel Rasmussen
2021-01-22 21:29 ` [PATCH v2 2/9] hugetlb/userfaultfd: Forbid huge pmd sharing when uffd enabled Axel Rasmussen
2021-01-22 21:29 ` [PATCH v2 3/9] mm/hugetlb: Move flush_hugetlb_tlb_range() into hugetlb.h Axel Rasmussen
2021-01-22 21:29 ` [PATCH v2 4/9] hugetlb/userfaultfd: Unshare all pmds for hugetlbfs when register wp Axel Rasmussen
2021-01-22 21:29 ` [PATCH v2 5/9] userfaultfd: add minor fault registration mode Axel Rasmussen
2021-01-22 21:29 ` Axel Rasmussen [this message]
2021-01-22 21:29 ` [PATCH v2 7/9] userfaultfd: add UFFDIO_CONTINUE ioctl Axel Rasmussen
2021-01-22 21:29 ` [PATCH v2 8/9] userfaultfd: update documentation to describe minor fault handling Axel Rasmussen
2021-01-22 21:29 ` [PATCH v2 9/9] userfaultfd/selftests: add test exercising " Axel Rasmussen

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210122212926.3457593-7-axelrasmussen@google.com \
    --to=axelrasmussen@google.com \
    --cc=aarcange@redhat.com \
    --cc=adobriyan@gmail.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=anshuman.khandual@arm.com \
    --cc=cannonmatthews@google.com \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=chinwen.chang@mediatek.com \
    --cc=dgilbert@redhat.com \
    --cc=jannh@google.com \
    --cc=jglisse@redhat.com \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=lokeshgidra@google.com \
    --cc=mike.kravetz@oracle.com \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=mkoutny@suse.com \
    --cc=mpe@ellerman.id.au \
    --cc=npiggin@gmail.com \
    --cc=oupton@google.com \
    --cc=peterx@redhat.com \
    --cc=rientjes@google.com \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --cc=ruprecht@google.com \
    --cc=shawn@anastas.io \
    --cc=shli@fb.com \
    --cc=steven.price@arm.com \
    --cc=vbabka@suse.cz \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=walken@google.com \
    --cc=willy@infradead.org \
    --cc=ying.huang@intel.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).