Linux-Fsdevel Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Peter Enderborg <peter.enderborg@sony.com>
To: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org,
	"Sumit Semwal" <sumit.semwal@linaro.org>,
	"Christian König" <christian.koenig@amd.com>,
	"Alexey Dobriyan" <adobriyan@gmail.com>,
	"Andrew Morton" <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	"Muchun Song" <songmuchun@bytedance.com>,
	"Roman Gushchin" <guro@fb.com>,
	"Shakeel Butt" <shakeelb@google.com>,
	"Michal Hocko" <mhocko@suse.com>, NeilBrown <neilb@suse.de>,
	"Sami Tolvanen" <samitolvanen@google.com>,
	"Mike Rapoport" <rppt@kernel.org>,
	linux-media@vger.kernel.org, dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org,
	linaro-mm-sig@lists.linaro.org,
	"Matthew Wilcox" <willy@infradead.org>,
	"Jonathan Corbet" <corbet@lwn.net>,
	"Randy Dunlap" <rdunlap@infradead.org>,
	"Kees Cook" <keescook@chromium.org>,
	"Mauro Carvalho Chehab" <mchehab+huawei@kernel.org>,
	"Alexey Gladkov" <gladkov.alexey@gmail.com>,
	"Feng Tang" <feng.tang@intel.com>,
	linux-doc@vger.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH 0/2 V6]Add dma-buf counter
Date: Tue, 20 Apr 2021 10:22:18 +0200
Message-ID: <20210420082220.7402-1-peter.enderborg@sony.com> (raw)

The dma-buf counter is a metric for mapped memory used by it's clients.
It is a shared buffer that is typically used for interprocess communication
or process to hardware communication. In android we used to have ION,. but
it is now replaced with dma-buf. ION had some overview metrics that was similar.



V1
	initial version. Add dma-buf counter

V2
	Fix build depencendy error suggested by Matthew Wilcox
	Extent commit message sugged by Köning

V3
	Change variable and function names.

V4
	Fix function name in code doc
	Reported-by: kernel test robot <lkp@intel.com>

V5
	Removed EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL suggested by Muchun Song

V6
	Made it a patch set, Adding a addional patch for
	printing dma-buf counter in show_mem.
	Suggested by Michal Hocko.




	


             reply index

Thread overview: 4+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-04-20  8:22 Peter Enderborg [this message]
2021-04-20  8:22 ` [PATCH 1/2 V6] dma-buf: Add DmaBufTotal counter in meminfo Peter Enderborg
2021-04-20  8:22 ` [PATCH 2/2 V6] lib/show_mem.c: Add dma-buf counter to show_mem dump Peter Enderborg
2021-04-20  8:30 ` [PATCH 0/2 V6]Add dma-buf counter Michal Hocko

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210420082220.7402-1-peter.enderborg@sony.com \
    --to=peter.enderborg@sony.com \
    --cc=adobriyan@gmail.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=christian.koenig@amd.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=feng.tang@intel.com \
    --cc=gladkov.alexey@gmail.com \
    --cc=guro@fb.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=linaro-mm-sig@lists.linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-media@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mchehab+huawei@kernel.org \
    --cc=mhocko@suse.com \
    --cc=neilb@suse.de \
    --cc=rdunlap@infradead.org \
    --cc=rppt@kernel.org \
    --cc=samitolvanen@google.com \
    --cc=shakeelb@google.com \
    --cc=songmuchun@bytedance.com \
    --cc=sumit.semwal@linaro.org \
    --cc=willy@infradead.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-Fsdevel Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-fsdevel/0 linux-fsdevel/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-fsdevel linux-fsdevel/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-fsdevel \
		linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-fsdevel

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-fsdevel


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git