Linux-Fsdevel Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com>
To: Ira Weiny <ira.weiny@intel.com>, <john.hubbard@gmail.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>, <linux-mm@kvack.org>,
	Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	Christian Benvenuti <benve@cisco.com>,
	Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>,
	Christopher Lameter <cl@linux.com>,
	Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>,
	Dave Chinner <david@fromorbit.com>,
	Dennis Dalessandro <dennis.dalessandro@intel.com>,
	Doug Ledford <dledford@redhat.com>, Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>,
	Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>,
	Jerome Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>,
	Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>,
	Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>,
	Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>,
	Mike Marciniszyn <mike.marciniszyn@intel.com>,
	Ralph Campbell <rcampbell@nvidia.com>,
	Tom Talpey <tom@talpey.com>, LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	<linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 0/2] mm: put_user_page() call site conversion first
Date: Thu, 14 Feb 2019 16:54:25 -0800
Message-ID: <4a326c1d-0ebb-5463-f7ed-8461bfa489df@nvidia.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20190215002312.GC7512@iweiny-DESK2.sc.intel.com>

On 2/14/19 4:23 PM, Ira Weiny wrote:
> On Thu, Feb 07, 2019 at 11:56:47PM -0800, john.hubbard@gmail.com wrote:
>> From: John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com>
[...]
>>   mm: introduce put_user_page*(), placeholder versions
>>   infiniband/mm: convert put_page() to put_user_page*()
> 
> A bit late but, FWIW:
> 
> Reviewed-by: Ira Weiny <ira.weiny@intel.com>
> 
> John these are the pages sitting in your gup_dma/first_steps branch here,
> correct?
> 
> https://github.com/johnhubbard/linux.git
> 

That's an old branch. In fact, just deleted it now, in order to avoid further
confusion.

This is the current branch: 

    gup_dma_core 

in that same git repo. It has the current set of call site conversions. 
Please note that there are a lot of conversions that are either incomplete
or likely just plain wrong, at this point, but it is sufficient to at least 
boot up and run things such as fio(1).



thanks,
-- 
John Hubbard
NVIDIA

      reply index

Thread overview: 7+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-02-08  7:56 john.hubbard
2019-02-08  7:56 ` [PATCH 1/2] mm: introduce put_user_page*(), placeholder versions john.hubbard
2019-02-08 10:32   ` Mike Rapoport
2019-02-08 20:44     ` John Hubbard
2019-02-08  7:56 ` [PATCH 2/2] infiniband/mm: convert put_page() to put_user_page*() john.hubbard
2019-02-15  0:23 ` [PATCH 0/2] mm: put_user_page() call site conversion first Ira Weiny
2019-02-15  0:54   ` John Hubbard [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=4a326c1d-0ebb-5463-f7ed-8461bfa489df@nvidia.com \
    --to=jhubbard@nvidia.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=benve@cisco.com \
    --cc=cl@linux.com \
    --cc=dan.j.williams@intel.com \
    --cc=david@fromorbit.com \
    --cc=dennis.dalessandro@intel.com \
    --cc=dledford@redhat.com \
    --cc=hch@infradead.org \
    --cc=ira.weiny@intel.com \
    --cc=jack@suse.cz \
    --cc=jgg@ziepe.ca \
    --cc=jglisse@redhat.com \
    --cc=john.hubbard@gmail.com \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=mhocko@kernel.org \
    --cc=mike.marciniszyn@intel.com \
    --cc=rcampbell@nvidia.com \
    --cc=rppt@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=tom@talpey.com \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=willy@infradead.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-Fsdevel Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-fsdevel/0 linux-fsdevel/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-fsdevel linux-fsdevel/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-fsdevel \
		linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org linux-fsdevel@archiver.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-fsdevel


Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-fsdevel


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/ public-inbox