linux-fsdevel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Brian Geffon <bgeffon@google.com>
To: Dmitry Safonov <dima@arista.com>
Cc: LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Dmitry Safonov <0x7f454c46@gmail.com>,
	Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>,
	Dave Jiang <dave.jiang@intel.com>,
	Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	"Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>,
	Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>,
	Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>,
	Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Thomas Bogendoerfer <tsbogend@alpha.franken.de>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Vishal Verma <vishal.l.verma@intel.com>,
	Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>, Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	linux-aio@kvack.org, linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-mm <linux-mm@kvack.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 2/6] mm/mremap: For MREMAP_DONTUNMAP check security_vm_enough_memory_mm()
Date: Wed, 30 Dec 2020 07:43:42 -0800	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CADyq12w0+ZA6nwJOtJJ-66vHuq4aWwQw22NOUymz7KQa9DXqHQ@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <d25ad10c-6f67-8c11-18c3-0193b8ea14c4@arista.com>

Ah, you're right. This individual patch looks good to me.

Brian

On Mon, Dec 28, 2020 at 11:12 AM Dmitry Safonov <dima@arista.com> wrote:
>
> On 12/28/20 6:21 PM, Brian Geffon wrote:
> > This looks good to me with a small comment.
> >
> >>         if (do_munmap(mm, old_addr, old_len, uf_unmap) < 0) {
> >>                 /* OOM: unable to split vma, just get accounts right */
> >> -               if (vm_flags & VM_ACCOUNT)
> >> +               if (vm_flags & VM_ACCOUNT && !(flags & MREMAP_DONTUNMAP))
> >>                         vm_acct_memory(new_len >> PAGE_SHIFT);
> >
> > Checking MREMAP_DONTUNMAP in the do_munmap path is unnecessary as
> > MREMAP_DONTUNMAP will have already returned by this point.
>
> In this code it is also used as err-path. In case move_page_tables()
> fails to move all page tables or .mremap() callback fails, the new VMA
> is unmapped.
>
> IOW, MREMAP_DONTUNMAP returns under:
> :       if (unlikely(!err && (flags & MREMAP_DONTUNMAP))) {
>
> --
>           Dima

  reply	other threads:[~2020-12-30 15:45 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 16+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-10-13  1:34 [PATCH 0/6] mremap: move_vma() fixes Dmitry Safonov
2020-10-13  1:34 ` [PATCH 1/6] mm/mremap: Account memory on do_munmap() failure Dmitry Safonov
2020-10-13  1:34 ` [PATCH 2/6] mm/mremap: For MREMAP_DONTUNMAP check security_vm_enough_memory_mm() Dmitry Safonov
2020-12-28 18:21   ` Brian Geffon
2020-12-28 19:12     ` Dmitry Safonov
2020-12-30 15:43       ` Brian Geffon [this message]
2020-10-13  1:34 ` [PATCH 3/6] mremap: Don't allow MREMAP_DONTUNMAP on special_mappings and aio Dmitry Safonov
2020-12-28 18:03   ` Brian Geffon
2020-12-28 19:33     ` Dmitry Safonov
2020-12-28 19:43       ` Dmitry Safonov
2020-10-13  1:34 ` [PATCH 4/6] vm_ops: Rename .split() callback to .may_split() Dmitry Safonov
2020-10-13  1:34 ` [PATCH 5/6] mremap: Check if it's possible to split original vma Dmitry Safonov
2020-10-13  1:34 ` [PATCH 6/6] mm: Forbid splitting special mappings Dmitry Safonov
2021-01-22 12:58   ` Will Deacon
2021-01-22 13:00     ` Will Deacon
2021-01-22 19:52       ` Dmitry Safonov

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CADyq12w0+ZA6nwJOtJJ-66vHuq4aWwQw22NOUymz7KQa9DXqHQ@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=bgeffon@google.com \
    --cc=0x7f454c46@gmail.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=dan.j.williams@intel.com \
    --cc=dave.jiang@intel.com \
    --cc=dima@arista.com \
    --cc=hughd@google.com \
    --cc=kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=linux-aio@kvack.org \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=luto@kernel.org \
    --cc=mike.kravetz@oracle.com \
    --cc=minchan@kernel.org \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=tsbogend@alpha.franken.de \
    --cc=vbabka@suse.cz \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=vishal.l.verma@intel.com \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).