Linux-Fsdevel Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Miklos Szeredi <miklos@szeredi.hu>
To: Kirill Smelkov <kirr@nexedi.com>
Cc: Miklos Szeredi <mszeredi@redhat.com>,
	Brian Foster <bfoster@redhat.com>,
	Maxim Patlasov <mpatlasov@parallels.com>,
	Anatol Pomozov <anatol.pomozov@gmail.com>,
	Pavel Emelyanov <xemul@openvz.org>,
	Andrew Gallagher <andrewjcg@fb.com>,
	"Anand V . Avati" <avati@redhat.com>,
	Alexey Kuznetsov <kuznet@virtuozzo.com>,
	Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>,
	Kirill Tkhai <ktkhai@virtuozzo.com>,
	Constantine Shulyupin <const@makelinux.com>,
	Chad Austin <chadaustin@fb.com>,
	Dan Schatzberg <dschatzberg@fb.com>,
	linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org,
	fuse-devel <fuse-devel@lists.sourceforge.net>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	Han-Wen Nienhuys <hanwen@google.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Subject: Re: [RESEND1, PATCH 1/2] fuse: convert printk -> pr_*
Date: Tue, 23 Apr 2019 16:57:58 +0200
Message-ID: <CAJfpegt9DRmwKksR0QSA7NzQP_=a=yJybdL9mOP1cw5goGkdgw@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <d916d401a80e9834c95970d86ca71c0154e988a6.1553677194.git.kirr@nexedi.com>

On Wed, Mar 27, 2019 at 10:15 AM Kirill Smelkov <kirr@nexedi.com> wrote:
>
> Functions, like pr_err, are a more modern variant of printing compared to
> printk. They could be used to denoise sources by using needed level in
> the print function name, and by automatically inserting per-driver /
> function / ... print prefix as defined by pr_fmt macro. pr_* are also
> said to be used in Documentation/process/coding-style.rst and more
> recent code - for example overlayfs - uses them instead of printk.
>
> Convert CUSE and FUSE to use the new pr_* functions.
>
> CUSE output stays completely unchanged, while FUSE output is amended a
> bit for "trying to steal weird page" warning - the second line now comes
> also with "fuse:" prefix. I hope it is ok.

Yep.  Applied, thanks.

Miklos

  reply index

Thread overview: 7+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-03-27  9:15 [RESEND1, PATCH 0/2] fuse: allow filesystems to have precise control over data cache Kirill Smelkov
2019-03-27  9:15 ` [RESEND1, PATCH 1/2] fuse: convert printk -> pr_* Kirill Smelkov
2019-04-23 14:57   ` Miklos Szeredi [this message]
2019-04-24  8:38     ` FUSE workflow=? (Re: [RESEND1, PATCH 1/2] fuse: convert printk -> pr_*) Kirill Smelkov
2019-04-24  8:57       ` Miklos Szeredi
2019-04-24  9:54         ` Kirill Smelkov
2019-03-27 10:14 ` [RESEND1, PATCH v2 2/2] fuse: allow filesystems to have precise control over data cache Kirill Smelkov

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAJfpegt9DRmwKksR0QSA7NzQP_=a=yJybdL9mOP1cw5goGkdgw@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=miklos@szeredi.hu \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=anatol.pomozov@gmail.com \
    --cc=andrewjcg@fb.com \
    --cc=aryabinin@virtuozzo.com \
    --cc=avati@redhat.com \
    --cc=bfoster@redhat.com \
    --cc=chadaustin@fb.com \
    --cc=const@makelinux.com \
    --cc=dschatzberg@fb.com \
    --cc=fuse-devel@lists.sourceforge.net \
    --cc=hanwen@google.com \
    --cc=kirr@nexedi.com \
    --cc=ktkhai@virtuozzo.com \
    --cc=kuznet@virtuozzo.com \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mpatlasov@parallels.com \
    --cc=mszeredi@redhat.com \
    --cc=xemul@openvz.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-Fsdevel Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-fsdevel/0 linux-fsdevel/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-fsdevel linux-fsdevel/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-fsdevel \
		linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-fsdevel

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-fsdevel


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git