Linux-Fsdevel Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
To: Johannes Hirte <johannes.hirte@datenkhaos.de>
Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@linux.ibm.com>,
	"Martin K. Petersen" <martin.petersen@oracle.com>,
	"Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@redhat.com>,
	"Jason Wang" <jasowang@redhat.com>,
	"Paolo Bonzini" <pbonzini@redhat.com>,
	"Stefan Hajnoczi" <stefanha@redhat.com>,
	"Jens Axboe" <axboe@kernel.dk>,
	"Doug Gilbert" <dgilbert@interlog.com>,
	"Kai Mäkisara" <Kai.Makisara@kolumbus.fi>,
	"Alexander Viro" <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	"Dongli Zhang" <dongli.zhang@oracle.com>,
	"Thomas Gleixner" <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	"Bart Van Assche" <bvanassche@acm.org>,
	"Hannes Reinecke" <hare@suse.com>,
	"Damien Le Moal" <damien.lemoal@wdc.com>,
	"John Garry" <john.garry@huawei.com>,
	"Martin Wilck" <mwilck@suse.com>,
	"Heiko Carstens" <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>,
	"Gustavo A. R. Silva" <gustavo@embeddedor.com>,
	"Ira Weiny" <ira.weiny@intel.com>,
	"Iustin Pop" <iustin@k1024.org>,
	"Darrick J. Wong" <darrick.wong@oracle.com>,
	virtualization@lists.linux-foundation.org,
	linux-block <linux-block@vger.kernel.org>,
	"linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-scsi <linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Linux FS-devel Mailing List" <linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 13/22] compat_ioctl: scsi: move ioctl handling into drivers
Date: Wed, 12 Feb 2020 22:49:49 +0100
Message-ID: <CAK8P3a0oPpMC8367sEs+9Ae=wFH30BHAq+aRDbWLyeVLuNOnEw@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200212211452.GA5726@latitude>

On Wed, Feb 12, 2020 at 10:15 PM Johannes Hirte
<johannes.hirte@datenkhaos.de> wrote:
>
> On 2020 Jan 02, Arnd Bergmann wrote:

>
> Error in getting drive hardware properties
> Error in getting drive reading properties
> Error in getting drive writing properties
> __________________________________
>
> Disc mode is listed as: CD-DA
> ++ WARN: error in ioctl CDROMREADTOCHDR: Bad address
>
> cd-info: Can't get first track number. I give up.

Right, there was also a report about breaking the Fedora installer,
see https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1801353

There is a preliminary patch that should fix this, I'll post a
version with more references tomorrow:
https://www.happyassassin.net/temp/0001-Replace-.ioctl-with-.compat_ioctl-in-three-appropria.patch

      Arnd

  reply index

Thread overview: 12+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-01-02 14:55 [GIT PULL v3 00/27] block, scsi: final compat_ioctl cleanup Arnd Bergmann
2020-01-02 14:55 ` [PATCH v3 13/22] compat_ioctl: scsi: move ioctl handling into drivers Arnd Bergmann
2020-01-02 16:33   ` Stefan Hajnoczi
2020-02-12 21:14   ` Johannes Hirte
2020-02-12 21:49     ` Arnd Bergmann [this message]
2020-02-13  6:53       ` Johannes Hirte
2020-01-02 14:55 ` [PATCH v3 14/22] compat_ioctl: move sys_compat_ioctl() to ioctl.c Arnd Bergmann
2020-01-02 14:55 ` [PATCH v3 15/22] compat_ioctl: simplify the implementation Arnd Bergmann
2020-01-02 20:22 ` [GIT PULL v3 00/27] block, scsi: final compat_ioctl cleanup Arnd Bergmann
2020-01-03  0:22 ` Ben Hutchings
2020-01-03  8:56   ` Arnd Bergmann
2020-01-03  3:02 ` Martin K. Petersen

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAK8P3a0oPpMC8367sEs+9Ae=wFH30BHAq+aRDbWLyeVLuNOnEw@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=Kai.Makisara@kolumbus.fi \
    --cc=axboe@kernel.dk \
    --cc=bvanassche@acm.org \
    --cc=damien.lemoal@wdc.com \
    --cc=darrick.wong@oracle.com \
    --cc=dgilbert@interlog.com \
    --cc=dongli.zhang@oracle.com \
    --cc=gustavo@embeddedor.com \
    --cc=hare@suse.com \
    --cc=heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=ira.weiny@intel.com \
    --cc=iustin@k1024.org \
    --cc=jasowang@redhat.com \
    --cc=jejb@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=johannes.hirte@datenkhaos.de \
    --cc=john.garry@huawei.com \
    --cc=linux-block@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=martin.petersen@oracle.com \
    --cc=mst@redhat.com \
    --cc=mwilck@suse.com \
    --cc=pbonzini@redhat.com \
    --cc=stefanha@redhat.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=virtualization@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-Fsdevel Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-fsdevel/0 linux-fsdevel/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-fsdevel linux-fsdevel/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-fsdevel \
		linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-fsdevel

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-fsdevel


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git