Linux-Fsdevel Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Kirill Smelkov <kirr@nexedi.com>
To: Miklos Szeredi <miklos@szeredi.hu>, Miklos Szeredi <mszeredi@redhat.com>
Cc: Brian Foster <bfoster@redhat.com>,
	Maxim Patlasov <mpatlasov@parallels.com>,
	Anatol Pomozov <anatol.pomozov@gmail.com>,
	Pavel Emelyanov <xemul@openvz.org>,
	Andrew Gallagher <andrewjcg@fb.com>,
	"Anand V . Avati" <avati@redhat.com>,
	Alexey Kuznetsov <kuznet@virtuozzo.com>,
	Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>,
	Kirill Tkhai <ktkhai@virtuozzo.com>,
	Constantine Shulyupin <const@MakeLinux.com>,
	Chad Austin <chadaustin@fb.com>,
	Dan Schatzberg <dschatzberg@fb.com>,
	<linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org>,
	<fuse-devel@lists.sourceforge.net>,
	<linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Han-Wen Nienhuys <hanwen@google.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Kirill Smelkov <kirr@nexedi.com>
Subject: [RESEND1, PATCH 0/2] fuse: allow filesystems to have precise control over data cache
Date: Wed, 27 Mar 2019 09:15:06 +0000
Message-ID: <cover.1553677194.git.kirr@nexedi.com> (raw)

Miklos,

This is a resend of the patches that teach fs/fuse/ to give filesystems
full control over data cache if the filesystem server indicates to
kernel that it is fully responsible for data cache invalidation. This
functionality is essential when the data in cache are relatively big and
it is very desirable to avoid automatically clearing the data cache of
inode on file size change. The second patch of the series describes the
problem in details as well as the fix to it.

I send the change initially ~ 2 weeks ago

	https://lwn.net/ml/linux-fsdevel/20190315212556.9315-1-kirr@nexedi.com/

but had not heard from you at all. Could you please have a look?

Thanks beforehand,
Kirill

Kirill Smelkov (2):
  fuse: convert printk -> pr_*
  fuse: allow filesystems to have precise control over data cache

 fs/fuse/cuse.c            | 13 +++++++------
 fs/fuse/dev.c             |  4 ++--
 fs/fuse/fuse_i.h          |  7 +++++++
 fs/fuse/inode.c           | 18 +++++++++++++-----
 include/uapi/linux/fuse.h |  7 ++++++-
 5 files changed, 35 insertions(+), 14 deletions(-)

-- 
2.21.0.392.gf8f6787159

             reply index

Thread overview: 7+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-03-27  9:15 Kirill Smelkov [this message]
2019-03-27  9:15 ` [RESEND1, PATCH 1/2] fuse: convert printk -> pr_* Kirill Smelkov
2019-04-23 14:57   ` Miklos Szeredi
2019-04-24  8:38     ` FUSE workflow=? (Re: [RESEND1, PATCH 1/2] fuse: convert printk -> pr_*) Kirill Smelkov
2019-04-24  8:57       ` Miklos Szeredi
2019-04-24  9:54         ` Kirill Smelkov
2019-03-27 10:14 ` [RESEND1, PATCH v2 2/2] fuse: allow filesystems to have precise control over data cache Kirill Smelkov

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=cover.1553677194.git.kirr@nexedi.com \
    --to=kirr@nexedi.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=anatol.pomozov@gmail.com \
    --cc=andrewjcg@fb.com \
    --cc=aryabinin@virtuozzo.com \
    --cc=avati@redhat.com \
    --cc=bfoster@redhat.com \
    --cc=chadaustin@fb.com \
    --cc=const@MakeLinux.com \
    --cc=dschatzberg@fb.com \
    --cc=fuse-devel@lists.sourceforge.net \
    --cc=hanwen@google.com \
    --cc=ktkhai@virtuozzo.com \
    --cc=kuznet@virtuozzo.com \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=miklos@szeredi.hu \
    --cc=mpatlasov@parallels.com \
    --cc=mszeredi@redhat.com \
    --cc=xemul@openvz.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-Fsdevel Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-fsdevel/0 linux-fsdevel/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-fsdevel linux-fsdevel/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-fsdevel \
		linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-fsdevel

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-fsdevel


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git