Linux-GPIO Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@gmail.com>
To: "Uwe Kleine-König" <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>
Cc: Bartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@baylibre.com>,
	Miquel Raynal <miquel.raynal@bootlin.com>,
	Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	linux-gpio <linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-pwm@vger.kernel.org,
	Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@bootlin.com>,
	LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v6] gpio: pca953x: Add Maxim MAX7313 PWM support
Date: Wed, 1 Jul 2020 00:27:31 +0300
Message-ID: <CAHp75VcxQ-qK+RYmfULDx3cHQW9W8__-Gf8EFw7Hgqsz0oPkjA@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200630124500.m765t276atb3wqgy@pengutronix.de>

On Tue, Jun 30, 2020 at 3:45 PM Uwe Kleine-König
<u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de> wrote:
> On Tue, Jun 30, 2020 at 11:13:31AM +0200, Bartosz Golaszewski wrote:
> > I can't find anything in any of the previous threads. What was the
> > reason to not go the MFD way here?
>
> MFD doesn't work because the different "modes" are not orthogonal. So
> this is not a single device that provides several functions at the same
> time that can be used in parallel.

Did I get this correctly that it's either *all* pins are GPIO or *all* are PWM?

Otherwise, it fits from my point of view.

-- 
With Best Regards,
Andy Shevchenko

  reply index

Thread overview: 15+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-05-03 10:54 Miquel Raynal
2020-05-03 19:20 ` Andy Shevchenko
2020-05-03 19:41   ` Uwe Kleine-König
2020-06-29 14:08 ` Miquel Raynal
2020-06-29 16:50   ` Andy Shevchenko
2020-06-29 19:50   ` Uwe Kleine-König
2020-06-30  6:58     ` Miquel Raynal
2020-06-30  9:08       ` Uwe Kleine-König
2020-06-30  9:13       ` Bartosz Golaszewski
2020-06-30 12:45         ` Uwe Kleine-König
2020-06-30 21:27           ` Andy Shevchenko [this message]
2020-06-30 21:56             ` Miquel Raynal
2020-07-03 14:53 ` Uwe Kleine-König
2020-07-04 11:23   ` Andy Shevchenko
2020-07-04 15:43     ` Uwe Kleine-König

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAHp75VcxQ-qK+RYmfULDx3cHQW9W8__-Gf8EFw7Hgqsz0oPkjA@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=andy.shevchenko@gmail.com \
    --cc=bgolaszewski@baylibre.com \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pwm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=miquel.raynal@bootlin.com \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --cc=thomas.petazzoni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-GPIO Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-gpio/0 linux-gpio/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-gpio linux-gpio/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-gpio \
		linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-gpio

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-gpio


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git