Linux-GPIO Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Anson Huang <anson.huang@nxp.com>
To: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Russell King - ARM Linux <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Shawn Guo <shawnguo@kernel.org>,
	Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>,
	Sascha Hauer <kernel@pengutronix.de>,
	Fabio Estevam <festevam@gmail.com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Bartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@baylibre.com>,
	Peter Chen <peter.chen@nxp.com>,
	"oleksandr.suvorov@toradex.com" <oleksandr.suvorov@toradex.com>,
	Andreas Kemnade <andreas@kemnade.info>,
	Peng Fan <peng.fan@nxp.com>,
	Hans Verkuil <hverkuil-cisco@xs4all.nl>,
	Olof Johansson <olof@lixom.net>,
	Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@kernel.org>,
	Alexandre Torgue <alexandre.torgue@st.com>,
	Patrice Chotard <patrice.chotard@st.com>,
	Marek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@samsung.com>,
	Joel Stanley <joel@jms.id.au>, Lubomir Rintel <lkundrak@v3.sk>,
	Christian Gmeiner <christian.gmeiner@gmail.com>,
	Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	Leo Li <leoyang.li@nxp.com>,
	Geert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@glider.be>,
	"michael@walle.cc" <michael@walle.cc>,
	Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	"linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	"open list:GPIO SUBSYSTEM" <linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org>,
	dl-linux-imx <linux-imx@nxp.com>
Subject: RE: [PATCH V2 1/4] gpio: mxc: Support module build
Date: Mon, 14 Sep 2020 02:19:49 +0000
Message-ID: <DB3PR0402MB3916B2F7EDB51F9D51491218F5230@DB3PR0402MB3916.eurprd04.prod.outlook.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CACRpkdYN4VdNZOC5f5eAxp=6cXq25owiNW0KVKRupbEFRSANKQ@mail.gmail.com>

Hi, Linus

> Subject: Re: [PATCH V2 1/4] gpio: mxc: Support module build
> 
> On Thu, Sep 3, 2020 at 3:31 AM Anson Huang <anson.huang@nxp.com>
> wrote:
> 
> > Hi, Linus
> >         Do you have chance to take a look at this patch series?
> 
> I've seen there was plenty discussion about them, like this one, so I expected a
> repost (didn't anything change at all?) also a rebase on v5.9-rc1 so I do not
> have to deal with any merge conflicts.

I went through the discussion again, the main concern is whether need to support
unload if the driver supports module build, but for SoC GPIO driver, as john said, it is
commonly used by peripheral devices, similar as clock, pinctrl driver, sorting out the
unloading is particularly complicated or there is some missing infrastructure, and in
those cases being able to load a "permanent" module seems to me like a clear benefit.

So I think the first step is to just enable it as "permanent" modules like pinctrl/clk driver,
as currently, most of the SoC GPIO users are NOT supporting module build at all, so the
unload support for SoC GPIO driver is NOT available currently.

> 
> Could you rebase and resend?

I will rebase to latest linux-next and resend the patch series.

Thanks,
Anson

  reply index

Thread overview: 17+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-07-22  1:45 Anson Huang
2020-07-22  1:45 ` [PATCH V2 2/4] arm64: defconfig: Build in CONFIG_GPIO_MXC by default Anson Huang
2020-07-22  1:45 ` [PATCH V2 3/4] ARM: imx_v6_v7_defconfig: " Anson Huang
2020-07-22  1:45 ` [PATCH V2 4/4] ARM: multi_v7_defconfig: " Anson Huang
2020-07-22  8:15 ` [PATCH V2 1/4] gpio: mxc: Support module build Arnd Bergmann
2020-07-27  8:18   ` Anson Huang
2020-07-27 10:44     ` Arnd Bergmann
2020-07-27 11:21       ` Anson Huang
2020-07-27 11:56         ` Arnd Bergmann
2020-07-27 12:23           ` Anson Huang
2020-07-27 13:41             ` Arnd Bergmann
2020-09-03  1:31               ` Anson Huang
2020-09-12  9:56                 ` Linus Walleij
2020-09-14  2:19                   ` Anson Huang [this message]
2020-07-28  8:09           ` Linus Walleij
2020-07-28  7:59       ` Linus Walleij
2020-07-28 11:25         ` Viresh Kumar

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=DB3PR0402MB3916B2F7EDB51F9D51491218F5230@DB3PR0402MB3916.eurprd04.prod.outlook.com \
    --to=anson.huang@nxp.com \
    --cc=alexandre.torgue@st.com \
    --cc=andreas@kemnade.info \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=bgolaszewski@baylibre.com \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=christian.gmeiner@gmail.com \
    --cc=festevam@gmail.com \
    --cc=geert+renesas@glider.be \
    --cc=hverkuil-cisco@xs4all.nl \
    --cc=joel@jms.id.au \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=krzk@kernel.org \
    --cc=leoyang.li@nxp.com \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-imx@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=lkundrak@v3.sk \
    --cc=m.szyprowski@samsung.com \
    --cc=michael@walle.cc \
    --cc=oleksandr.suvorov@toradex.com \
    --cc=olof@lixom.net \
    --cc=patrice.chotard@st.com \
    --cc=peng.fan@nxp.com \
    --cc=peter.chen@nxp.com \
    --cc=s.hauer@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=shawnguo@kernel.org \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-GPIO Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-gpio/0 linux-gpio/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-gpio linux-gpio/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-gpio \
		linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-gpio

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-gpio


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git