linux-hardening.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Dan Li <ashimida.1990@gmail.com>
To: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Cc: Qing Zhao <qing.zhao@oracle.com>,
	gcc-patches@gcc.gnu.org,
	Richard Sandiford <richard.sandiford@arm.com>,
	Masahiro Yamada <masahiroy@kernel.org>,
	Michal Marek <michal.lkml@markovi.net>,
	Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@google.com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Sami Tolvanen <samitolvanen@google.com>,
	Nathan Chancellor <nathan@kernel.org>, Tom Rix <trix@redhat.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	"Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@kernel.org>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@kernel.org>,
	Frederic Weisbecker <frederic@kernel.org>,
	"Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>,
	Marco Elver <elver@google.com>,
	Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@csgroup.eu>,
	Song Liu <song@kernel.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Uros Bizjak <ubizjak@gmail.com>,
	Kumar Kartikeya Dwivedi <memxor@gmail.com>,
	Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>,
	Luis Chamberlain <mcgrof@kernel.org>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>,
	Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@kernel.org>,
	Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com>,
	Aaron Tomlin <atomlin@redhat.com>,
	Kalesh Singh <kaleshsingh@google.com>,
	Yuntao Wang <ytcoode@gmail.com>,
	Changbin Du <changbin.du@intel.com>,
	linux-kbuild@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, llvm@lists.linux.dev,
	linux-hardening@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [RFC/RFT,V2 0/3] Add compiler support for Kernel Control Flow Integrity
Date: Wed, 19 Jul 2023 16:20:55 +0800	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAE+Z0PFtqKf9EM+u8V87TPo87jbGXz20VQvx0JvDHTdT8Xp+Pw@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <202306211451.CB0A34563@keescook>

Hi Kees,

Sincerely sorry, I just saw this email.
Embarrassingly, due to another job change, my plan was postponed again :(.

I may not be able to attend this year's GCC meeting. Is there any other
way to let this get some traction in GCC? I really hope someone can help
with this topic.

BTW, I'm still looking at this and plan to finish it by the end of this
year, but it's taking too long and there's a lot of uncertainty, so
please just consider this only as a backup option.

Thanks,
Dan.

On Thu, 22 Jun 2023 at 05:54, Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> wrote:
>
> On Sat, Mar 25, 2023 at 01:11:14AM -0700, Dan Li wrote:
> > This series of patches is mainly used to support the control flow
> > integrity protection of the linux kernel [1], which is similar to
> > -fsanitize=kcfi in clang 16.0 [2,3].
> >
> > Any suggestion please let me know :).
>
> Hi Dan,
>
> It's been a couple months, and I didn't see any other feedback on this
> proposal. I was curious what the status of this work is. Are you able to
> attend GNU Cauldron[1] this year? I'd love to see this get some traction
> in GCC.
>
> Thanks!
>
> -Kees
>
> [1] https://gcc.gnu.org/wiki/cauldron2023
>
> --
> Kees Cook

  reply	other threads:[~2023-07-19  8:21 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 16+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2022-12-19  5:54 [RFC/RFT 0/3] Add compiler support for Control Flow Integrity Dan Li
2022-12-19  5:54 ` [RFC/RFT 1/3] [PR102768] flag-types.h (enum sanitize_code): Extend sanitize_code to 64 bits to support more features Dan Li
2022-12-19  5:54 ` [RFC/RFT 2/3] [PR102768] Support CFI: Add new pass for Control Flow Integrity Dan Li
2022-12-19  5:54 ` [RFC/RFT 3/3] [PR102768] aarch64: Add support " Dan Li
2023-02-09  1:48 ` [RFC/RFT 0/3] Add compiler " Hongtao Liu
2023-02-10 16:18   ` Dan Li
2023-02-13  1:39     ` Hongtao Liu
2023-02-09  5:32 ` Peter Collingbourne
2023-02-10 16:20   ` Dan Li
2023-03-25  8:11 ` [RFC/RFT,V2 0/3] Add compiler support for Kernel " Dan Li
2023-03-25  8:11   ` [RFC/RFT,V2 1/3] [PR102768] flag-types.h (enum sanitize_code): Extend sanitize_code to 64 bits to support more features Dan Li
2023-03-25  8:11   ` [RFC/RFT,V2 2/3] [PR102768] Support CFI: Add basic support for Kernel Control Flow Integrity Dan Li
2023-03-25  8:11   ` [RFC/RFT,V2 3/3] [PR102768] aarch64: Add " Dan Li
2023-06-21 21:54   ` [RFC/RFT,V2 0/3] Add compiler " Kees Cook
2023-07-19  8:20     ` Dan Li [this message]
2023-07-19  8:41   ` Dan Li

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAE+Z0PFtqKf9EM+u8V87TPo87jbGXz20VQvx0JvDHTdT8Xp+Pw@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=ashimida.1990@gmail.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=atomlin@redhat.com \
    --cc=bp@suse.de \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=changbin.du@intel.com \
    --cc=christophe.leroy@csgroup.eu \
    --cc=dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com \
    --cc=ebiederm@xmission.com \
    --cc=elver@google.com \
    --cc=frederic@kernel.org \
    --cc=gcc-patches@gcc.gnu.org \
    --cc=jgross@suse.com \
    --cc=jpoimboe@kernel.org \
    --cc=kaleshsingh@google.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-hardening@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kbuild@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=llvm@lists.linux.dev \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=masahiroy@kernel.org \
    --cc=mcgrof@kernel.org \
    --cc=memxor@gmail.com \
    --cc=mhiramat@kernel.org \
    --cc=michal.lkml@markovi.net \
    --cc=nathan@kernel.org \
    --cc=ndesaulniers@google.com \
    --cc=paulmck@kernel.org \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=qing.zhao@oracle.com \
    --cc=richard.sandiford@arm.com \
    --cc=samitolvanen@google.com \
    --cc=song@kernel.org \
    --cc=trix@redhat.com \
    --cc=ubizjak@gmail.com \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --cc=ytcoode@gmail.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).