Linux-Hwmon Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Srinivas Pandruvada <srinivas.pandruvada@linux.intel.com>
To: Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@gmail.com>,
	kernel test robot <rong.a.chen@intel.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	"maintainer:X86 ARCHITECTURE (32-BIT AND 64-BIT)"
	<x86@kernel.org>, Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Mark Gross <mgross@linux.intel.com>,
	Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>,
	Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>,
	Linux PM <linux-pm@vger.kernel.org>, Len Brown <lenb@kernel.org>,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>,
	Darren Hart <dvhart@infradead.org>,
	Andy Shevchenko <andy@infradead.org>,
	ACPI Devel Maling List <linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-edac@vger.kernel.org,
	Platform Driver <platform-driver-x86@vger.kernel.org>,
	Jean Delvare <jdelvare@suse.com>,
	Guenter Roeck <linux@roeck-us.net>,
	linux-hwmon@vger.kernel.org, Zhang Rui <rui.zhang@intel.com>,
	Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@linaro.org>,
	Amit Kucheria <amit.kucheria@verdurent.com>,
	Chanwoo Choi <cw00.choi@samsung.com>,
	Jacob Pan <jacob.jun.pan@linux.intel.com>,
	Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>,
	Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@linaro.org>,
	linux-mmc <linux-mmc@vger.kernel.org>,
	Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>,
	linux-pci@vger.kernel.org, Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.com>,
	ALSA Development Mailing List <alsa-devel@alsa-project.org>,
	Herbert Xu <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	linux-crypto <linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org>,
	lkp@lists.01.org
Subject: Re: [cpufreq] 06c4d00466: will-it-scale.per_process_ops -53.4% regression
Date: Tue, 24 Mar 2020 08:38:46 -0700
Message-ID: <406e39aa9890d4d518a2259b539858d82f4d6e18.camel@linux.intel.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAHp75VeeKZLeZ8E3Py7LECN54SPFHaRgkxrMzBYQWXM8x+4JhA@mail.gmail.com>

On Tue, 2020-03-24 at 12:24 +0200, Andy Shevchenko wrote:
> On Tue, Mar 24, 2020 at 8:02 AM kernel test robot <
> rong.a.chen@intel.com> wrote:
> > Greeting,
> > 
> > FYI, we noticed a -53.4% regression of will-it-
> > scale.per_process_ops due to commit:
> > commit: 06c4d00466eb374841bc84c39af19b3161ff6917 ("[patch 09/22]
> > cpufreq: Convert to new X86 CPU match macros")
> > url: 
> > https://github.com/0day-ci/linux/commits/Thomas-Gleixner/x86-devicetable-Move-x86-specific-macro-out-of-generic-code/20200321-031729
> > base: 
> > https://git.kernel.org/cgit/linux/kernel/git/rafael/linux-pm.git
> > linux-next
> > 
> > in testcase: will-it-scale
> > on test machine: 4 threads Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-3220 CPU @ 3.30GHz
> > with 8G memory
> > with following parameters:
> 
> drivers/cpufreq/speedstep-centrino.c change missed the terminator,
> perhaps it's a culprit, because I don't believe removing dups and
> reordering lines may affect this.
> Can you restore terminator there and re-test?

This is a Ivy Bridge. So if it has to do anything cpufreq then it is
not loading the cpufreq driver (intel_pstate or acpi_cpufreq).
What is
 cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor


> 


  reply index

Thread overview: 26+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
     [not found] <20200320131345.635023594@linutronix.de>
2020-03-20 14:31 ` [patch 00/22] x86/treewide: Consolidate CPU match macro maze and get rid of C89 (sic!) initializers Andy Shevchenko
     [not found] ` <20200320131508.736205164@linutronix.de>
2020-03-20 14:33   ` [patch 01/22] x86/devicetable: Move x86 specific macro out of generic code Andy Shevchenko
2020-03-20 20:24     ` Thomas Gleixner
     [not found] ` <20200320131508.826011988@linutronix.de>
2020-03-20 14:29   ` [patch 02/22] x86/cpu: Add conistent CPU match macros Bjorn Helgaas
2020-03-20 14:39   ` Andy Shevchenko
2020-03-20 20:27     ` Thomas Gleixner
     [not found] ` <20200320131509.467730627@linutronix.de>
2020-03-20 14:47   ` [patch 08/22] ACPI: Convert to new X86 " Andy Shevchenko
2020-03-20 20:32     ` Thomas Gleixner
2020-03-23 16:38       ` mark gross
     [not found] ` <20200320131509.766573641@linutronix.de>
2020-03-20 14:52   ` [patch 11/22] platform/x86: Convert to new " Andy Shevchenko
     [not found] ` <20200320131510.594671507@linutronix.de>
2020-03-20 14:58   ` [patch 19/22] ASoC: Intel: Convert to new X86 " Andy Shevchenko
2020-03-20 14:59 ` [patch 00/22] x86/treewide: Consolidate CPU match macro maze and get rid of C89 (sic!) initializers Greg Kroah-Hartman
     [not found] ` <20200320131509.564059710@linutronix.de>
2020-03-20 14:50   ` [patch 09/22] cpufreq: Convert to new X86 CPU match macros Andy Shevchenko
2020-03-20 20:30     ` Thomas Gleixner
2020-03-20 21:52       ` Andy Shevchenko
2020-03-20 22:18         ` Thomas Gleixner
     [not found]   ` <20200324060124.GC11705@shao2-debian>
2020-03-24 10:24     ` [cpufreq] 06c4d00466: will-it-scale.per_process_ops -53.4% regression Andy Shevchenko
2020-03-24 15:38       ` Srinivas Pandruvada [this message]
2020-03-25  7:51         ` Rong Chen
2020-03-25  7:50       ` Rong Chen
2020-03-25 10:32         ` Thomas Gleixner
2020-03-26  8:33           ` kernel test robot
2020-03-24 13:51   ` [patch V2 09/22] cpufreq: Convert to new X86 CPU match macros Thomas Gleixner
2020-03-24 15:37     ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2020-03-24 18:58 ` [PATCH 23/22] x86/smpboot: Remove the last ICPU() macro Borislav Petkov
     [not found] ` <20200320131509.673579000@linutronix.de>
2020-03-24 19:31   ` [patch 10/22] EDAC: Convert to new X86 CPU match macros Luck, Tony

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=406e39aa9890d4d518a2259b539858d82f4d6e18.camel@linux.intel.com \
    --to=srinivas.pandruvada@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=adrian.hunter@intel.com \
    --cc=alsa-devel@alsa-project.org \
    --cc=amit.kucheria@verdurent.com \
    --cc=andy.shevchenko@gmail.com \
    --cc=andy@infradead.org \
    --cc=bhelgaas@google.com \
    --cc=cw00.choi@samsung.com \
    --cc=daniel.lezcano@linaro.org \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=dvhart@infradead.org \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=herbert@gondor.apana.org.au \
    --cc=jacob.jun.pan@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=jdelvare@suse.com \
    --cc=lenb@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-edac@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-hwmon@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mmc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@roeck-us.net \
    --cc=lkp@lists.01.org \
    --cc=mgross@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=pbonzini@redhat.com \
    --cc=platform-driver-x86@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=rjw@rjwysocki.net \
    --cc=rong.a.chen@intel.com \
    --cc=rui.zhang@intel.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=tiwai@suse.com \
    --cc=tony.luck@intel.com \
    --cc=ulf.hansson@linaro.org \
    --cc=viresh.kumar@linaro.org \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-Hwmon Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-hwmon/0 linux-hwmon/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-hwmon linux-hwmon/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-hwmon \
		linux-hwmon@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-hwmon

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-hwmon


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git