Linux-HyperV Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Jan Engelhardt <jengelh@inai.de>
To: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel@ffwll.ch>,
	Olof Johansson <olof.johansson@gmail.com>,
	Jerome Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>,
	Jason Ekstrand <jason@jlekstrand.net>,
	Alex Deucher <alexander.deucher@amd.com>,
	"Wilson, Chris" <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk>,
	"Syrjala, Ville" <ville.syrjala@linux.intel.com>,
	Hawking Zhang <Hawking.Zhang@amd.com>,
	Tvrtko Ursulin <tvrtko.ursulin@intel.com>,
	linux-hyperv@vger.kernel.org,
	Stephen Hemminger <sthemmin@microsoft.com>,
	Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Haiyang Zhang <haiyangz@microsoft.com>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	dri-devel <dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org>,
	spronovo@microsoft.com, Wei Liu <wei.liu@kernel.org>,
	Linux Fbdev development list <linux-fbdev@vger.kernel.org>,
	iourit@microsoft.com, "K. Y. Srinivasan" <kys@microsoft.com>
Subject: Re: [RFC PATCH 0/4] DirectX on Linux
Date: Wed, 20 May 2020 12:37:25 +0200 (CEST)
Message-ID: <nycvar.YFH.7.77.849.2005201222370.19642@n3.vanv.qr> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200519203608.GG33628@sasha-vm>


On Tuesday 2020-05-19 22:36, Sasha Levin wrote:
>
>> - Why DX12 on linux? Looking at this feels like classic divide and
>
> There is a single usecase for this: WSL2 developer who wants to run
> machine learning on his GPU. The developer is working on his laptop,
> which is running Windows and that laptop has a single GPU that Windows
> is using.

It does not feel right conceptually. If the target is a Windows API
(DX12/ML), why bother with Linux environments? Make it a Windows executable,
thereby skipping the WSL translation layer and passthrough.

  reply index

Thread overview: 20+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-05-19 16:32 Sasha Levin
2020-05-19 16:32 ` [RFC PATCH 2/4] gpu: dxgkrnl: hook up dxgkrnl Sasha Levin
2020-05-19 16:32 ` [RFC PATCH 3/4] Drivers: hv: vmbus: " Sasha Levin
2020-05-19 16:32 ` [RFC PATCH 4/4] gpu: dxgkrnl: create a MAINTAINERS entry Sasha Levin
     [not found] ` <20200519163234.226513-2-sashal@kernel.org>
2020-05-19 17:19   ` [RFC PATCH 1/4] gpu: dxgkrnl: core code Greg KH
2020-05-19 17:21   ` Greg KH
2020-05-19 17:45     ` Sasha Levin
2020-05-20  6:13       ` Greg KH
2020-05-19 17:27   ` Greg KH
2020-05-19 19:21 ` [RFC PATCH 0/4] DirectX on Linux Daniel Vetter
2020-05-19 20:36   ` Sasha Levin
2020-05-20 10:37     ` Jan Engelhardt [this message]
2020-05-19 22:42 ` Dave Airlie
2020-05-19 23:01   ` Daniel Vetter
2020-05-20  3:47     ` [EXTERNAL] " Steve Pronovost
     [not found]       ` <CAKMK7uFubAxtMEeCOYtvgjGYtmDVJeXcPFzmRD7t5BUm_GPP0w@mail.gmail.com>
     [not found]         ` <MWHPR21MB02870909F08EBA08EB903635C7B60@MWHPR21MB0287.namprd21.prod.outlook.com>
2020-05-20 15:34           ` Steve Pronovost
2020-05-19 23:12   ` Dave Airlie
2020-05-20  7:10 ` Thomas Zimmermann
2020-05-20  7:42   ` [EXTERNAL] " Steve Pronovost
2020-05-20 11:06     ` Thomas Zimmermann

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=nycvar.YFH.7.77.849.2005201222370.19642@n3.vanv.qr \
    --to=jengelh@inai.de \
    --cc=Hawking.Zhang@amd.com \
    --cc=alexander.deucher@amd.com \
    --cc=chris@chris-wilson.co.uk \
    --cc=daniel@ffwll.ch \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=haiyangz@microsoft.com \
    --cc=iourit@microsoft.com \
    --cc=jason@jlekstrand.net \
    --cc=jglisse@redhat.com \
    --cc=kys@microsoft.com \
    --cc=linux-fbdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-hyperv@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=olof.johansson@gmail.com \
    --cc=sashal@kernel.org \
    --cc=spronovo@microsoft.com \
    --cc=sthemmin@microsoft.com \
    --cc=tvrtko.ursulin@intel.com \
    --cc=ville.syrjala@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=wei.liu@kernel.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-HyperV Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-hyperv/0 linux-hyperv/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-hyperv linux-hyperv/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-hyperv \
		linux-hyperv@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-hyperv

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-hyperv


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git