Linux-ide Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
To: Nathan Chancellor <natechancellor@gmail.com>
Cc: Nicolas Saenz Julienne <nsaenzjulienne@suse.de>,
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>,
	Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>,
	Hanjun Guo <guohanjun@huawei.com>,
	Sudeep Holla <sudeep.holla@arm.com>, Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>,
	Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>, Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	Frank Rowand <frowand.list@gmail.com>,
	Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>,
	Marek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@samsung.com>,
	Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>,
	Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>,
	linux-pci@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-ide@vger.kernel.org, Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>,
	"H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>,
	Paul Burton <paulburton@kernel.org>,
	Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>,
	x86@kernel.org, linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, James Hogan <jhogan@kernel.org>,
	Len Brown <lenb@kernel.org>,
	devicetree@vger.kernel.org, Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>,
	linux-mips@vger.kernel.org, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>,
	iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2] dma-mapping: treat dev->bus_dma_mask as a DMA limit
Date: Mon, 25 Nov 2019 08:44:12 +0100
Message-ID: <20191125074412.GA30595@lst.de> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20191123165108.GA15306@ubuntu-x2-xlarge-x86>

On Sat, Nov 23, 2019 at 09:51:08AM -0700, Nathan Chancellor wrote:
> Just as an FYI, this introduces a warning on arm32 allyesconfig for me:

I think the dma_limit argument to iommu_dma_alloc_iova should be a u64
and/or we need to use min_t and open code the zero exception.

Robin, Nicolas - any opinions?

Also I wonder how this file gets compiled on arm32 given that arm32
has its own set of iommu dma ops..

  reply index

Thread overview: 15+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-11-21  9:26 Nicolas Saenz Julienne
2019-11-21 15:24 ` Christoph Hellwig
2019-11-21 15:26   ` Nicolas Saenz Julienne
2019-11-21 15:26   ` Christoph Hellwig
2019-11-21 15:55     ` Robin Murphy
2019-11-21 16:02       ` Christoph Hellwig
2019-11-21 16:53         ` Will Deacon
2019-11-21 17:16           ` Christoph Hellwig
2019-11-21 17:07 ` Robin Murphy
2019-11-21 17:17   ` Christoph Hellwig
2019-11-23 16:51 ` Nathan Chancellor
2019-11-25  7:44   ` Christoph Hellwig [this message]
2019-11-25 16:33     ` Robin Murphy
2019-11-26 18:51       ` Nicolas Saenz Julienne
2019-11-26 21:45         ` Robin Murphy

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20191125074412.GA30595@lst.de \
    --to=hch@lst.de \
    --cc=axboe@kernel.dk \
    --cc=benh@kernel.crashing.org \
    --cc=bhelgaas@google.com \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=dave.hansen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=frowand.list@gmail.com \
    --cc=guohanjun@huawei.com \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=jhogan@kernel.org \
    --cc=joro@8bytes.org \
    --cc=lenb@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-ide@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mips@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com \
    --cc=luto@kernel.org \
    --cc=m.szyprowski@samsung.com \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=mpe@ellerman.id.au \
    --cc=natechancellor@gmail.com \
    --cc=nsaenzjulienne@suse.de \
    --cc=paulburton@kernel.org \
    --cc=paulus@samba.org \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=ralf@linux-mips.org \
    --cc=rjw@rjwysocki.net \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=robin.murphy@arm.com \
    --cc=sudeep.holla@arm.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-ide Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-ide/0 linux-ide/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-ide linux-ide/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-ide \
		linux-ide@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-ide

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-ide


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git