Linux Input Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com>
To: Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com>
Cc: "Uwe Kleine-König" <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>,
	"Roy Im" <roy.im.opensource@diasemi.com>,
	"Bartosz Golaszewski" <bgolaszewski@baylibre.com>,
	"Brian Masney" <masneyb@onstation.org>,
	"Greg KH" <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	"Lee Jones" <lee.jones@linaro.org>, "Luca Weiss" <luca@z3ntu.xyz>,
	"Maximilian Luz" <luzmaximilian@gmail.com>,
	"Pascal PAILLET-LME" <p.paillet@st.com>,
	"Rob Herring" <robh@kernel.org>,
	"Samuel Ortiz" <sameo@linux.intel.com>,
	"Thierry Reding" <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	"Thomas Gleixner" <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	"Support Opensource" <support.opensource@diasemi.com>,
	linux-input@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-pwm@vger.kernel.org, "Petr Mladek" <pmladek@suse.com>,
	"Steven Rostedt" <rostedt@goodmis.org>,
	"Sergey Senozhatsky" <sergey.senozhatsky@gmail.com>,
	"Rasmus Villemoes" <linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v18 3/3] Input: new da7280 haptic driver
Date: Thu, 30 Jul 2020 09:21:57 -0700
Message-ID: <20200730162157.GI1665100@dtor-ws> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200730083058.GC3703480@smile.fi.intel.com>

On Thu, Jul 30, 2020 at 11:30:58AM +0300, Andy Shevchenko wrote:
> On Thu, Jul 30, 2020 at 08:16:31AM +0200, Uwe Kleine-König wrote:
> > On Wed, Jul 29, 2020 at 10:06:53PM -0700, Dmitry Torokhov wrote:
> > > On Wed, Jul 29, 2020 at 09:21:45AM +0200, Uwe Kleine-König wrote:
> > > > On Tue, Jul 28, 2020 at 11:36:38PM -0700, Dmitry Torokhov wrote:
> 
> ...
> 
> > > Maybe we should introduce something like '%de' for the integer error
> > > case?
> > 
> > I suggested that some time ago with limited success, see
> > https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20200129115516.zsvxu56e6h7gheiw@pathway.suse.cz/
> 
> Oh, please, no need for that really. We have now dev_err_probe() on its way to
> upstream (now in Greg's tree) which hides all this behind.
> 
> Just switch to dev_err_probe() and forget about what is under the hood.

Awesome, we just need to make sure there is never an error condition
outside of probe path, and we will be set ;) Easy peasy ;)

Thanks.

-- 
Dmitry

  reply index

Thread overview: 16+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-07-29  2:59 [PATCH v18 0/3] da7280: haptic driver submission Roy Im
2020-07-29  2:59 ` [PATCH v18 3/3] Input: new da7280 haptic driver Roy Im
2020-07-29  6:36   ` Dmitry Torokhov
2020-07-29  7:21     ` Uwe Kleine-König
2020-07-30  5:06       ` Dmitry Torokhov
2020-07-30  6:16         ` Uwe Kleine-König
2020-07-30  6:34           ` Dmitry Torokhov
2020-07-30  7:00             ` Uwe Kleine-König
2020-07-30  8:30           ` Andy Shevchenko
2020-07-30 16:21             ` Dmitry Torokhov [this message]
2020-07-29 14:09     ` Roy Im
2020-07-30  5:10       ` Dmitry Torokhov
2020-07-31 13:26         ` Roy Im
2020-08-02 11:54     ` Pavel Machek
2020-08-03  1:13       ` Roy Im
2020-07-29  2:59 ` [PATCH v18 2/3] dt-bindings: input: Add document bindings for DA7280 Roy Im

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200730162157.GI1665100@dtor-ws \
    --to=dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com \
    --cc=andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=bgolaszewski@baylibre.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=lee.jones@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-input@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pwm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk \
    --cc=luca@z3ntu.xyz \
    --cc=luzmaximilian@gmail.com \
    --cc=masneyb@onstation.org \
    --cc=p.paillet@st.com \
    --cc=pmladek@suse.com \
    --cc=robh@kernel.org \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=roy.im.opensource@diasemi.com \
    --cc=sameo@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=sergey.senozhatsky@gmail.com \
    --cc=support.opensource@diasemi.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --cc=u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux Input Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-input/0 linux-input/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-input linux-input/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-input \
		linux-input@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-input

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-input


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git