iommu.lists.linux-foundation.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Bjorn Helgaas <helgaas@kernel.org>
To: Rajat Jain <rajatja@google.com>
Cc: Todd Broch <tbroch@google.com>,
	linux-pci@vger.kernel.org, lalithambika.krishnakumar@intel.com,
	Heikki Krogerus <heikki.krogerus@linux.intel.com>,
	Diego Rivas <diegorivas@google.com>,
	Jean-Philippe Brucker <jean-philippe@linaro.org>,
	Furquan Shaikh <furquan@google.com>,
	Raj Ashok <ashok.raj@intel.com>,
	Saravana Kannan <saravanak@google.com>,
	linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org,
	Christian Kellner <christian@kellner.me>,
	Mattias Nissler <mnissler@google.com>,
	Jesse Barnes <jsbarnes@google.com>, Len Brown <lenb@kernel.org>,
	Rajat Jain <rajatxjain@gmail.com>,
	Prashant Malani <pmalani@google.com>,
	Suzuki K Poulose <suzuki.poulose@arm.com>,
	Aaron Durbin <adurbin@google.com>,
	Alex Williamson <alex.williamson@redhat.com>,
	Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>,
	Mika Westerberg <mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com>,
	Bernie Keany <bernie.keany@intel.com>,
	Duncan Laurie <dlaurie@google.com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	oohall@gmail.com, Benson Leung <bleung@google.com>,
	David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>,
	Alex Levin <levinale@google.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v4 4/4] PCI/ACS: Enable PCI_ACS_TB for untrusted/external-facing devices
Date: Wed, 16 Sep 2020 16:46:35 -0500	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20200916214635.GA1586835@bjorn-Precision-5520> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200707224604.3737893-4-rajatja@google.com>

On Tue, Jul 07, 2020 at 03:46:04PM -0700, Rajat Jain wrote:
> When enabling ACS, enable translation blocking for external facing ports
> and untrusted devices.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Rajat Jain <rajatja@google.com>

Applied (slightly modified) to pci/acs for v5.10, thanks!

I think the warning is superfluous because every external_facing
device is a Root Port or Switch Downstream Port, and if those support
ACS at all, they are required to support Translation Blocking.  So we
should only see the warning if the device is defective, and I don't
think we need to go out of our way to look for those.

> ---
> v4: Add braces to avoid warning from kernel robot
>     print warning for only external-facing devices.
> v3: print warning if ACS_TB not supported on external-facing/untrusted ports.
>     Minor code comments fixes.
> v2: Commit log change
> 
>  drivers/pci/pci.c    |  8 ++++++++
>  drivers/pci/quirks.c | 15 +++++++++++++++
>  2 files changed, 23 insertions(+)
> 
> diff --git a/drivers/pci/pci.c b/drivers/pci/pci.c
> index 73a8627822140..a5a6bea7af7ce 100644
> --- a/drivers/pci/pci.c
> +++ b/drivers/pci/pci.c
> @@ -876,6 +876,14 @@ static void pci_std_enable_acs(struct pci_dev *dev)
>  	/* Upstream Forwarding */
>  	ctrl |= (cap & PCI_ACS_UF);
>  
> +	/* Enable Translation Blocking for external devices */
> +	if (dev->external_facing || dev->untrusted) {
> +		if (cap & PCI_ACS_TB)
> +			ctrl |= PCI_ACS_TB;
> +		else if (dev->external_facing)
> +			pci_warn(dev, "ACS: No Translation Blocking on external-facing dev\n");
> +	}
> +
>  	pci_write_config_word(dev, pos + PCI_ACS_CTRL, ctrl);
>  }
>  
> diff --git a/drivers/pci/quirks.c b/drivers/pci/quirks.c
> index b341628e47527..bb22b46c1d719 100644
> --- a/drivers/pci/quirks.c
> +++ b/drivers/pci/quirks.c
> @@ -4934,6 +4934,13 @@ static void pci_quirk_enable_intel_rp_mpc_acs(struct pci_dev *dev)
>  	}
>  }
>  
> +/*
> + * Currently this quirk does the equivalent of
> + * PCI_ACS_SV | PCI_ACS_RR | PCI_ACS_CR | PCI_ACS_UF
> + *
> + * TODO: This quirk also needs to do equivalent of PCI_ACS_TB,
> + * if dev->external_facing || dev->untrusted
> + */
>  static int pci_quirk_enable_intel_pch_acs(struct pci_dev *dev)
>  {
>  	if (!pci_quirk_intel_pch_acs_match(dev))
> @@ -4973,6 +4980,14 @@ static int pci_quirk_enable_intel_spt_pch_acs(struct pci_dev *dev)
>  	ctrl |= (cap & PCI_ACS_CR);
>  	ctrl |= (cap & PCI_ACS_UF);
>  
> +	/* Enable Translation Blocking for external devices */
> +	if (dev->external_facing || dev->untrusted) {
> +		if (cap & PCI_ACS_TB)
> +			ctrl |= PCI_ACS_TB;
> +		else if (dev->external_facing)
> +			pci_warn(dev, "ACS: No Translation Blocking on external-facing dev\n");
> +	}
> +
>  	pci_write_config_dword(dev, pos + INTEL_SPT_ACS_CTRL, ctrl);
>  
>  	pci_info(dev, "Intel SPT PCH root port ACS workaround enabled\n");
> -- 
> 2.27.0.212.ge8ba1cc988-goog
> 
_______________________________________________
iommu mailing list
iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org
https://lists.linuxfoundation.org/mailman/listinfo/iommu

  parent reply	other threads:[~2020-09-16 21:46 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 16+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-07-07 22:46 [PATCH v4 1/4] PCI: Move pci_enable_acs() and its dependencies up in pci.c Rajat Jain via iommu
2020-07-07 22:46 ` [PATCH v4 2/4] PCI: Keep the ACS capability offset in device Rajat Jain via iommu
2020-07-07 22:46 ` [PATCH v4 3/4] PCI: Treat "external-facing" devices as internal Rajat Jain via iommu
2020-07-07 22:46 ` [PATCH v4 4/4] PCI/ACS: Enable PCI_ACS_TB for untrusted/external-facing devices Rajat Jain via iommu
2020-07-10 20:29   ` Bjorn Helgaas
2020-07-10 21:28     ` Raj, Ashok
2020-07-10 22:53       ` Rajat Jain via iommu
2020-07-10 23:32         ` Bjorn Helgaas
2020-07-11 19:53         ` Bjorn Helgaas
2020-07-12  0:08           ` Rajat Jain
2020-07-12  2:58             ` Bjorn Helgaas
2020-07-13  8:01               ` Joerg Roedel
2020-07-14 20:19           ` Rajat Jain via iommu
2020-09-15 23:01             ` Rajat Jain via iommu
2020-09-16 21:46   ` Bjorn Helgaas [this message]
2020-07-10 20:39 ` [PATCH v4 1/4] PCI: Move pci_enable_acs() and its dependencies up in pci.c Bjorn Helgaas

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200916214635.GA1586835@bjorn-Precision-5520 \
    --to=helgaas@kernel.org \
    --cc=adurbin@google.com \
    --cc=alex.williamson@redhat.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=ashok.raj@intel.com \
    --cc=bernie.keany@intel.com \
    --cc=bhelgaas@google.com \
    --cc=bleung@google.com \
    --cc=christian@kellner.me \
    --cc=diegorivas@google.com \
    --cc=dlaurie@google.com \
    --cc=dwmw2@infradead.org \
    --cc=furquan@google.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=heikki.krogerus@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=jean-philippe@linaro.org \
    --cc=jsbarnes@google.com \
    --cc=lalithambika.krishnakumar@intel.com \
    --cc=lenb@kernel.org \
    --cc=levinale@google.com \
    --cc=linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=mnissler@google.com \
    --cc=oohall@gmail.com \
    --cc=pmalani@google.com \
    --cc=rajatja@google.com \
    --cc=rajatxjain@gmail.com \
    --cc=rjw@rjwysocki.net \
    --cc=saravanak@google.com \
    --cc=suzuki.poulose@arm.com \
    --cc=tbroch@google.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).