Linux-kselftest Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
To: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>,
	Jeff Layton <jlayton@kernel.org>,
	Aleksa Sarai <cyphar@cyphar.com>,
	Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	"J. Bruce Fields" <bfields@fieldses.org>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>,
	Shuah Khan <shuah@kernel.org>,
	Shuah Khan <skhan@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Christian Brauner <christian@brauner.io>,
	Eric Biederman <ebiederm@xmission.com>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Alexei Starovoitov <ast@kernel.org>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>, Jann Horn <jannh@google.com>,
	Tycho Andersen <tycho@tycho.ws>,
	David Drysdale <drysdale@google.com>,
	Chanho Min <chanho.min@lge.com>, Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>,
	Rasmus Villemoes <linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk>,
	Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>,
	Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>, Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>,
	Aleksa Sarai <asarai@suse.de>,
	Linux Containers <containers@lists.linux-foundation.org>,
	alpha <linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux API <linux-api@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-arch <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	linux-fsdevel <linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org,
	Linux List Kernel Mailing <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	"open list:KERNEL SELFTEST FRAMEWORK" 
	<linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-m68k <linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org>,
	linux-mips@vger.kernel.org, linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org,
	linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org,
	linux-s390 <linux-s390@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux-sh list <linux-sh@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-xtensa@linux-xtensa.org, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v12 11/12] open: openat2(2) syscall
Date: Tue, 10 Sep 2019 08:35:32 +0200
Message-ID: <20190910063532.GB1579@gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAHk-=whe90Ec_RRrMRLE0=bJOHNS9YmVwcytVxmrfK3oCuZF6A@mail.gmail.com>


* Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> wrote:

> On Sat, Sep 7, 2019 at 10:42 AM Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net> wrote:
> >
> > Linus, you rejected resolveat() because you wanted a *nice* API
> 
> No. I rejected resoveat() because it was a completely broken garbage
> API that couldn't do even basic stuff right (like O_CREAT).
> 
> We have a ton of flag space in the new openat2() model, we might as
> well leave the old flags alone that people are (a) used to and (b) we
> have code to support _anyway_.
> 
> Making up a new flag namespace is only going to cause us - and users -
> more work, and more confusion. For no actual advantage. It's not going
> to be "cleaner". It's just going to be worse.

I suspect there is a "add a clean new flags namespace" analogy to the 
classic "add a clean new standard" XKCD:

	https://xkcd.com/927/

Thanks,

	Ingo

  parent reply index

Thread overview: 65+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-09-04 20:19 [PATCH v12 00/12] namei: openat2(2) path resolution restrictions Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 20:19 ` [PATCH v12 01/12] lib: introduce copy_struct_{to,from}_user helpers Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 20:48   ` Linus Torvalds
2019-09-04 21:00   ` Randy Dunlap
2019-09-05  7:32   ` Peter Zijlstra
2019-09-05  9:26     ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-05  9:43       ` Peter Zijlstra
2019-09-05 10:57         ` Peter Zijlstra
2019-09-11 10:37           ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-05 13:35         ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-05 17:01         ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-05  8:43   ` Rasmus Villemoes
2019-09-05  9:50     ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-05 10:45       ` Christian Brauner
2019-09-05  9:09   ` Andreas Schwab
2019-09-05 10:13     ` [PATCH v12 01/12] lib: introduce copy_struct_{to, from}_user helpers Gabriel Paubert
2019-09-05 11:05   ` [PATCH v12 01/12] lib: introduce copy_struct_{to,from}_user helpers Christian Brauner
2019-09-05 11:17     ` Rasmus Villemoes
2019-09-05 11:29       ` Christian Brauner
2019-09-05 13:40     ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-05 11:09   ` Christian Brauner
2019-09-05 11:27     ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-05 11:40       ` Christian Brauner
2019-09-05 18:07   ` Al Viro
2019-09-05 18:23     ` Christian Brauner
2019-09-05 18:28       ` Al Viro
2019-09-05 18:35         ` Christian Brauner
2019-09-05 19:56         ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-05 22:31           ` Al Viro
2019-09-06  7:00           ` Christian Brauner
2019-09-05 23:00     ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-05 23:49       ` Al Viro
2019-09-06  0:09         ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-06  0:14         ` Al Viro
2019-09-04 20:19 ` [PATCH v12 02/12] clone3: switch to copy_struct_from_user() Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 20:19 ` [PATCH v12 03/12] sched_setattr: switch to copy_struct_{to,from}_user() Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 20:19 ` [PATCH v12 04/12] perf_event_open: switch to copy_struct_from_user() Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 20:19 ` [PATCH v12 05/12] namei: obey trailing magic-link DAC permissions Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-17 21:30   ` Jann Horn
2019-09-18 13:51     ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-18 15:46       ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 20:19 ` [PATCH v12 06/12] procfs: switch magic-link modes to be more sane Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 20:19 ` [PATCH v12 07/12] open: O_EMPTYPATH: procfs-less file descriptor re-opening Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 20:19 ` [PATCH v12 08/12] namei: O_BENEATH-style path resolution flags Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 20:19 ` [PATCH v12 09/12] namei: LOOKUP_IN_ROOT: chroot-like path resolution Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 20:19 ` [PATCH v12 10/12] namei: aggressively check for nd->root escape on ".." resolution Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 21:09   ` Linus Torvalds
2019-09-04 21:35     ` Linus Torvalds
2019-09-04 21:36       ` Linus Torvalds
2019-09-04 21:48     ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 22:16       ` Linus Torvalds
2019-09-04 22:31       ` David Howells
2019-09-04 22:38         ` Linus Torvalds
2019-09-04 23:29           ` Al Viro
2019-09-04 23:44             ` Linus Torvalds
2019-09-04 20:19 ` [PATCH v12 11/12] open: openat2(2) syscall Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 21:00   ` Randy Dunlap
2019-09-07 12:40   ` Jeff Layton
2019-09-07 16:58     ` Linus Torvalds
2019-09-07 17:42       ` Andy Lutomirski
2019-09-07 17:45         ` Linus Torvalds
2019-09-07 18:15           ` Andy Lutomirski
2019-09-10  6:35           ` Ingo Molnar [this message]
2019-09-08 16:24     ` Aleksa Sarai
2019-09-04 20:19 ` [PATCH v12 12/12] selftests: add openat2(2) selftests Aleksa Sarai

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20190910063532.GB1579@gmail.com \
    --to=mingo@kernel.org \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=asarai@suse.de \
    --cc=ast@kernel.org \
    --cc=bfields@fieldses.org \
    --cc=chanho.min@lge.com \
    --cc=christian@brauner.io \
    --cc=containers@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=cyphar@cyphar.com \
    --cc=dhowells@redhat.com \
    --cc=drysdale@google.com \
    --cc=ebiederm@xmission.com \
    --cc=jannh@google.com \
    --cc=jlayton@kernel.org \
    --cc=jolsa@redhat.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-api@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arch@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=linux-mips@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-s390@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-sh@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-xtensa@linux-xtensa.org \
    --cc=linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=luto@amacapital.net \
    --cc=luto@kernel.org \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=namhyung@kernel.org \
    --cc=oleg@redhat.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=shuah@kernel.org \
    --cc=skhan@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=sparclinux@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=tycho@tycho.ws \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-kselftest Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-kselftest/0 linux-kselftest/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-kselftest linux-kselftest/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-kselftest \
		linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org linux-kselftest@archiver.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-kselftest

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-kselftest


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/ public-inbox