Linux-m68k Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Aleksa Sarai <cyphar@cyphar.com>
To: Florian Weimer <fweimer@redhat.com>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	Jeff Layton <jlayton@kernel.org>,
	"J. Bruce Fields" <bfields@fieldses.org>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>,
	Shuah Khan <shuah@kernel.org>,
	Shuah Khan <skhan@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Alexei Starovoitov <ast@kernel.org>,
	Daniel Borkmann <daniel@iogearbox.net>,
	Martin KaFai Lau <kafai@fb.com>, Song Liu <songliubraving@fb.com>,
	Yonghong Song <yhs@fb.com>, Andrii Nakryiko <andriin@fb.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org, linux-doc@vger.kernel.org,
	Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>,
	Rasmus Villemoes <linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org,
	sparclinux@vger.kernel.org, linux-api@vger.kernel.org,
	Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>,
	linux-arch@vger.kernel.org, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-sh@vger.kernel.org, David Drysdale <drysdale@google.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, linux-mips@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-xtensa@linux-xtensa.org, Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Jann Horn <jannh@google.com>,
	linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, dev@opencontainers.org,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>,
	Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	libc-alpha@sourceware.org, linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org, netdev@vger.kernel.org,
	Chanho Min <chanho.min@lge.com>, Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>,
	Eric Biederman <ebiederm@xmission.com>,
	linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org, linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org,
	bpf@vger.kernel.org,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>,
	containers@lists.linux-foundation.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v18 11/13] open: introduce openat2(2) syscall
Date: Tue, 17 Dec 2019 17:39:50 +1100
Message-ID: <20191217063950.5oqwwqz5p3bu7t2x@yavin.dot.cyphar.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20191216192158.B9F19832924A@oldenburg2.str.redhat.com>

[-- Attachment #1: Type: text/plain, Size: 2456 bytes --]

On 2019-12-16, Florian Weimer <fweimer@redhat.com> wrote:
> > diff --git a/include/uapi/linux/fcntl.h b/include/uapi/linux/fcntl.h
> > index 1d338357df8a..58c3a0e543c6 100644
> > --- a/include/uapi/linux/fcntl.h
> > +++ b/include/uapi/linux/fcntl.h
> > @@ -93,5 +93,40 @@
> >  
> >  #define AT_RECURSIVE		0x8000	/* Apply to the entire subtree */
> >  
> > +/*
> > + * Arguments for how openat2(2) should open the target path. If @resolve is
> > + * zero, then openat2(2) operates very similarly to openat(2).
> > + *
> > + * However, unlike openat(2), unknown bits in @flags result in -EINVAL rather
> > + * than being silently ignored. @mode must be zero unless one of {O_CREAT,
> > + * O_TMPFILE} are set.
> > + *
> > + * @flags: O_* flags.
> > + * @mode: O_CREAT/O_TMPFILE file mode.
> > + * @resolve: RESOLVE_* flags.
> > + */
> > +struct open_how {
> > +	__aligned_u64 flags;
> > +	__u16 mode;
> > +	__u16 __padding[3]; /* must be zeroed */
> > +	__aligned_u64 resolve;
> > +};
> > +
> > +#define OPEN_HOW_SIZE_VER0	24 /* sizeof first published struct */
> > +#define OPEN_HOW_SIZE_LATEST	OPEN_HOW_SIZE_VER0
> > +
> > +/* how->resolve flags for openat2(2). */
> > +#define RESOLVE_NO_XDEV		0x01 /* Block mount-point crossings
> > +					(includes bind-mounts). */
> > +#define RESOLVE_NO_MAGICLINKS	0x02 /* Block traversal through procfs-style
> > +					"magic-links". */
> > +#define RESOLVE_NO_SYMLINKS	0x04 /* Block traversal through all symlinks
> > +					(implies OEXT_NO_MAGICLINKS) */
> > +#define RESOLVE_BENEATH		0x08 /* Block "lexical" trickery like
> > +					"..", symlinks, and absolute
> > +					paths which escape the dirfd. */
> > +#define RESOLVE_IN_ROOT		0x10 /* Make all jumps to "/" and ".."
> > +					be scoped inside the dirfd
> > +					(similar to chroot(2)). */
> >  
> >  #endif /* _UAPI_LINUX_FCNTL_H */
> 
> Would it be possible to move these to a new UAPI header?
> 
> In glibc, we currently do not #include <linux/fcntl.h>.  We need some of
> the AT_* constants in POSIX mode, and the header is not necessarily
> namespace-clean.  If there was a separate header for openat2 support, we
> could use that easily, and we would only have to maintain the baseline
> definitions (which never change).

Sure, (assuming nobody objects) I can move it to "linux/openat2.h".

-- 
Aleksa Sarai
Senior Software Engineer (Containers)
SUSE Linux GmbH
<https://www.cyphar.com/>

[-- Attachment #2: signature.asc --]
[-- Type: application/pgp-signature, Size: 228 bytes --]

  parent reply index

Thread overview: 15+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-12-06 14:13 [PATCH v18 00/13] " Aleksa Sarai
2019-12-06 14:13 ` [PATCH v18 01/13] namei: only return -ECHILD from follow_dotdot_rcu() Aleksa Sarai
2019-12-06 14:13 ` [PATCH v18 02/13] nsfs: clean-up ns_get_path() signature to return int Aleksa Sarai
2019-12-06 14:13 ` [PATCH v18 03/13] namei: allow nd_jump_link() to produce errors Aleksa Sarai
2019-12-06 14:13 ` [PATCH v18 04/13] namei: allow set_root() " Aleksa Sarai
2019-12-06 14:13 ` [PATCH v18 05/13] namei: LOOKUP_NO_SYMLINKS: block symlink resolution Aleksa Sarai
2019-12-06 14:13 ` [PATCH v18 06/13] namei: LOOKUP_NO_MAGICLINKS: block magic-link resolution Aleksa Sarai
2019-12-06 14:13 ` [PATCH v18 07/13] namei: LOOKUP_NO_XDEV: block mountpoint crossing Aleksa Sarai
2019-12-06 14:13 ` [PATCH v18 08/13] namei: LOOKUP_BENEATH: O_BENEATH-like scoped resolution Aleksa Sarai
2019-12-06 14:13 ` [PATCH v18 09/13] namei: LOOKUP_IN_ROOT: chroot-like " Aleksa Sarai
2019-12-06 14:13 ` [PATCH v18 10/13] namei: LOOKUP_{IN_ROOT,BENEATH}: permit limited ".." resolution Aleksa Sarai
2019-12-06 14:13 ` [PATCH v18 11/13] open: introduce openat2(2) syscall Aleksa Sarai
     [not found]   ` <20191216192158.B9F19832924A@oldenburg2.str.redhat.com>
2019-12-17  6:39     ` Aleksa Sarai [this message]
2019-12-06 14:13 ` [PATCH v18 12/13] selftests: add openat2(2) selftests Aleksa Sarai
2019-12-06 14:13 ` [PATCH v18 13/13] Documentation: path-lookup: include new LOOKUP flags Aleksa Sarai

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20191217063950.5oqwwqz5p3bu7t2x@yavin.dot.cyphar.com \
    --to=cyphar@cyphar.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=andriin@fb.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=ast@kernel.org \
    --cc=bfields@fieldses.org \
    --cc=bpf@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=chanho.min@lge.com \
    --cc=containers@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=daniel@iogearbox.net \
    --cc=dev@opencontainers.org \
    --cc=dhowells@redhat.com \
    --cc=drysdale@google.com \
    --cc=ebiederm@xmission.com \
    --cc=fweimer@redhat.com \
    --cc=jannh@google.com \
    --cc=jlayton@kernel.org \
    --cc=jolsa@redhat.com \
    --cc=kafai@fb.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=libc-alpha@sourceware.org \
    --cc=linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-api@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arch@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=linux-mips@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-s390@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-sh@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-xtensa@linux-xtensa.org \
    --cc=linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=luto@kernel.org \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=namhyung@kernel.org \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=oleg@redhat.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=shuah@kernel.org \
    --cc=skhan@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=songliubraving@fb.com \
    --cc=sparclinux@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=yhs@fb.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-m68k Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-m68k/0 linux-m68k/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-m68k linux-m68k/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-m68k \
		linux-m68k@vger.kernel.org linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org
	public-inbox-index linux-m68k

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-m68k


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git