linux-m68k.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
To: Michal Simek <michal.simek@xilinx.com>, linux-m68k@vger.kernel.org
Cc: "linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>, Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@nexb.com>,
	U-Boot Mailing List <u-boot@lists.denx.de>,
	Neil Armstrong <narmstrong@baylibre.com>,
	Kate Stewart <kstewart@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Matthias Brugger <matthias.bgg@gmail.com>,
	Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@linaro.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] microblaze: Remove architecture heart beat code
Date: Mon, 11 Jun 2018 10:46:59 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CACRpkdb=Vfs6R+576+Wjh1cOh8ti-8jkGhj7Pw8zXdOxvHKOCg@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <84075652e978661247d71f84de46efd827869948.1528697370.git.michal.simek@xilinx.com>

On Mon, Jun 11, 2018 at 8:09 AM, Michal Simek <michal.simek@xilinx.com> wrote:

> There is no reason to keep this gpio based code in architecture. Use
> ledtrig-heartbeat.c instead which is much more flexible then this
> ancient code.
>
> Signed-off-by: Michal Simek <michal.simek@xilinx.com>

Reviewed-by: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>

Maybe the arch maintainers will complain that the corresponding
new heartbeat code is not put in place in the same patch, but I
think the change is so much overdue that I don't see why they
can't do that themselves if they have interest in it.

BTW: m68k has the same kind of luggage, in the middle of it
timekeeping code:
arch/m68k/kernel/time.c

Yours,
Linus Walleij

       reply	other threads:[~2018-06-11  8:46 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 2+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
     [not found] <84075652e978661247d71f84de46efd827869948.1528697370.git.michal.simek@xilinx.com>
2018-06-11  8:46 ` Linus Walleij [this message]
2018-06-11  8:52   ` [PATCH] microblaze: Remove architecture heart beat code Geert Uytterhoeven

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CACRpkdb=Vfs6R+576+Wjh1cOh8ti-8jkGhj7Pw8zXdOxvHKOCg@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=daniel.lezcano@linaro.org \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=kstewart@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-m68k@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=matthias.bgg@gmail.com \
    --cc=michal.simek@xilinx.com \
    --cc=monstr@monstr.eu \
    --cc=narmstrong@baylibre.com \
    --cc=pombredanne@nexb.com \
    --cc=robh@kernel.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=u-boot@lists.denx.de \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).