Linux-m68k Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
* Re: [PATCH V12] mm/debug: Add tests validating architecture page table helpers
       [not found] <1580174873-18117-1-git-send-email-anshuman.khandual@arm.com>
@ 2020-01-30 15:06 ` Anshuman Khandual
  0 siblings, 0 replies; only message in thread
From: Anshuman Khandual @ 2020-01-30 15:06 UTC (permalink / raw)
  To: linux-mm, linux-alpha, Richard Henderson, Ivan Kokshaysky,
	Matt Turner, linux-c6x-dev, Mark Salter, Aurelien Jacquiot,
	uclinux-h8-devel, Yoshinori Sato, linux-hexagon, Brian Cain,
	linux-m68k, Geert Uytterhoeven, Michal Simek, linux-riscv,
	Paul Walmsley, Palmer Dabbelt, Guan Xuetao, linux-xtensa,
	Chris Zankel, Max Filippov
  Cc: Andrew Morton, Vlastimil Babka, Greg Kroah-Hartman,
	Thomas Gleixner, Mike Rapoport, Jason Gunthorpe, Dan Williams,
	Peter Zijlstra, Michal Hocko, Mark Rutland, Mark Brown,
	Steven Price, Ard Biesheuvel, Masahiro Yamada, Kees Cook,
	Tetsuo Handa, Matthew Wilcox, Dave Hansen,
	Russell King - ARM Linux, Michael Ellerman, Paul Mackerras,
	Martin Schwidefsky, Heiko Carstens, David S. Miller,
	Vineet Gupta, James Hogan, Paul Burton, Ralf Baechle,
	Kirill A . Shutemov, Gerald Schaefer, Christophe Leroy,
	Ingo Molnar, linux-snps-arc, linux-mips, linux-arm-kernel,
	linux-ia64, linuxppc-dev, linux-s390, linux-sh, sparclinux, x86,
	linux-kernel

On 01/28/2020 06:57 AM, Anshuman Khandual wrote:
> This adds tests which will validate architecture page table helpers and
> other accessors in their compliance with expected generic MM semantics.
> This will help various architectures in validating changes to existing
> page table helpers or addition of new ones.
> 
> This test covers basic page table entry transformations including but not
> limited to old, young, dirty, clean, write, write protect etc at various
> level along with populating intermediate entries with next page table page
> and validating them.
> 
> Test page table pages are allocated from system memory with required size
> and alignments. The mapped pfns at page table levels are derived from a
> real pfn representing a valid kernel text symbol. This test gets called
> right after page_alloc_init_late().
> 
> This gets build and run when CONFIG_DEBUG_VM_PGTABLE is selected along with
> CONFIG_VM_DEBUG. Architectures willing to subscribe this test also need to
> select CONFIG_ARCH_HAS_DEBUG_VM_PGTABLE which for now is limited to x86 and
> arm64. Going forward, other architectures too can enable this after fixing
> build or runtime problems (if any) with their page table helpers.
> 
> Folks interested in making sure that a given platform's page table helpers
> conform to expected generic MM semantics should enable the above config
> which will just trigger this test during boot. Any non conformity here will
> be reported as an warning which would need to be fixed. This test will help
> catch any changes to the agreed upon semantics expected from generic MM and
> enable platforms to accommodate it thereafter.
> 
> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
> Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
> Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
> Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>
> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>
> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
> Cc: Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>
> Cc: Steven Price <Steven.Price@arm.com>
> Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
> Cc: Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>
> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
> Cc: Tetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@i-love.sakura.ne.jp>
> Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
> Cc: Sri Krishna chowdary <schowdary@nvidia.com>
> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
> Cc: Russell King - ARM Linux <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
> Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>
> Cc: James Hogan <jhogan@kernel.org>
> Cc: Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com>
> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
> Cc: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill@shutemov.name>
> Cc: Gerald Schaefer <gerald.schaefer@de.ibm.com>
> Cc: Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr>
> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
> Cc: linux-snps-arc@lists.infradead.org
> Cc: linux-mips@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
> Cc: linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org
> Cc: linux-s390@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-sh@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: sparclinux@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: x86@kernel.org
> Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org

I should have included mailing lists for all missing platforms here.
Will add them in the patch next time around but for now just adding
them here explicitly so that hopefully in case some of them can build
and run the test successfully on respective platforms.

ALPHA:

+ linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org
+ Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>
+ Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>
+ Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>

C6X:

+ linux-c6x-dev@linux-c6x.org
+ Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com>
+ Aurelien Jacquiot <jacquiot.aurelien@gmail.com>

H8300:

+ uclinux-h8-devel@lists.sourceforge.jp
+ Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>

HEXAGON:

+ linux-hexagon@vger.kernel.org
+ Brian Cain <bcain@codeaurora.org>

M68K:

+ linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org
+ Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>

MICROBLAZE:

+ Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>

RISCV:

+ linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org
+ Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com>
+ Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@dabbelt.com>

UNICORE32:

+ Guan Xuetao <gxt@pku.edu.cn>

XTENSA:

+ linux-xtensa@linux-xtensa.org
+ Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>
+ Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com>

Please feel free to add others if I have missed.

^ permalink raw reply	[flat|nested] only message in thread

only message in thread, back to index

Thread overview: (only message) (download: mbox.gz / follow: Atom feed)
-- links below jump to the message on this page --
     [not found] <1580174873-18117-1-git-send-email-anshuman.khandual@arm.com>
2020-01-30 15:06 ` [PATCH V12] mm/debug: Add tests validating architecture page table helpers Anshuman Khandual

Linux-m68k Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-m68k/0 linux-m68k/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-m68k linux-m68k/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-m68k \
		linux-m68k@vger.kernel.org linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org
	public-inbox-index linux-m68k

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-m68k


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git