Linux-Media Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
To: Peter Enderborg <peter.enderborg@sony.com>
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org,
	"Sumit Semwal" <sumit.semwal@linaro.org>,
	"Christian König" <christian.koenig@amd.com>,
	"Alexey Dobriyan" <adobriyan@gmail.com>,
	"Andrew Morton" <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	"Muchun Song" <songmuchun@bytedance.com>,
	"Roman Gushchin" <guro@fb.com>,
	"Shakeel Butt" <shakeelb@google.com>, NeilBrown <neilb@suse.de>,
	"Sami Tolvanen" <samitolvanen@google.com>,
	"Mike Rapoport" <rppt@kernel.org>,
	linux-media@vger.kernel.org, dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org,
	linaro-mm-sig@lists.linaro.org,
	"Matthew Wilcox" <willy@infradead.org>,
	"Jonathan Corbet" <corbet@lwn.net>,
	"Randy Dunlap" <rdunlap@infradead.org>,
	"Kees Cook" <keescook@chromium.org>,
	"Mauro Carvalho Chehab" <mchehab+huawei@kernel.org>,
	"Alexey Gladkov" <gladkov.alexey@gmail.com>,
	"Feng Tang" <feng.tang@intel.com>,
	linux-doc@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 0/2 V6]Add dma-buf counter
Date: Tue, 20 Apr 2021 10:30:06 +0200
Message-ID: <YH6RDgoJTPWsULDs@dhcp22.suse.cz> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210420082220.7402-1-peter.enderborg@sony.com>

On Tue 20-04-21 10:22:18, Peter Enderborg wrote:
> The dma-buf counter is a metric for mapped memory used by it's clients.
> It is a shared buffer that is typically used for interprocess communication
> or process to hardware communication. In android we used to have ION,. but
> it is now replaced with dma-buf. ION had some overview metrics that was similar.

The discussion around the previous version is still not over and as it
seems your proposed approach is not really viable. So please do not send
new versions until that is sorted out.

Thanks!
-- 
Michal Hocko
SUSE Labs

      parent reply index

Thread overview: 4+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-04-20  8:22 Peter Enderborg
2021-04-20  8:22 ` [PATCH 1/2 V6] dma-buf: Add DmaBufTotal counter in meminfo Peter Enderborg
2021-04-20  8:22 ` [PATCH 2/2 V6] lib/show_mem.c: Add dma-buf counter to show_mem dump Peter Enderborg
2021-04-20  8:30 ` Michal Hocko [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=YH6RDgoJTPWsULDs@dhcp22.suse.cz \
    --to=mhocko@suse.com \
    --cc=adobriyan@gmail.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=christian.koenig@amd.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=feng.tang@intel.com \
    --cc=gladkov.alexey@gmail.com \
    --cc=guro@fb.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=linaro-mm-sig@lists.linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-media@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mchehab+huawei@kernel.org \
    --cc=neilb@suse.de \
    --cc=peter.enderborg@sony.com \
    --cc=rdunlap@infradead.org \
    --cc=rppt@kernel.org \
    --cc=samitolvanen@google.com \
    --cc=shakeelb@google.com \
    --cc=songmuchun@bytedance.com \
    --cc=sumit.semwal@linaro.org \
    --cc=willy@infradead.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-Media Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-media/0 linux-media/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-media linux-media/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-media \
		linux-media@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-media

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-media


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git