linux-media.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+huawei@kernel.org>
To: unlisted-recipients:; (no To-header on input)
Cc: linuxarm@huawei.com, mauro.chehab@huawei.com,
	Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+huawei@kernel.org>,
	Alexandre Torgue <alexandre.torgue@foss.st.com>,
	Andrzej Hajda <a.hajda@samsung.com>,
	Andy Gross <agross@kernel.org>, Benoit Parrot <bparrot@ti.com>,
	Bingbu Cao <bingbu.cao@intel.com>,
	Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	Chen-Yu Tsai <wens@csie.org>,
	Dafna Hirschfeld <dafna.hirschfeld@collabora.com>,
	Dan Scally <djrscally@gmail.com>,
	Dmitry Osipenko <digetx@gmail.com>,
	Ezequiel Garcia <ezequiel@collabora.com>,
	Fabio Estevam <festevam@gmail.com>,
	Heiko Stuebner <heiko@sntech.de>,
	Helen Koike <helen.koike@collabora.com>,
	Jacob Chen <jacob-chen@iotwrt.com>,
	Jernej Skrabec <jernej.skrabec@siol.net>,
	Jonathan Hunter <jonathanh@nvidia.com>,
	Matthias Brugger <matthias.bgg@gmail.com>,
	Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@kernel.org>,
	Maxime Coquelin <mcoquelin.stm32@gmail.com>,
	Maxime Ripard <mripard@kernel.org>,
	NXP Linux Team <linux-imx@nxp.com>,
	Paul Kocialkowski <paul.kocialkowski@bootlin.com>,
	Pengutronix Kernel Team <kernel@pengutronix.de>,
	Philipp Zabel <p.zabel@pengutronix.de>,
	Robert Foss <robert.foss@linaro.org>,
	Rui Miguel Silva <rmfrfs@gmail.com>,
	Sakari Ailus <sakari.ailus@linux.intel.com>,
	Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>,
	Shawn Guo <shawnguo@kernel.org>,
	Sowjanya Komatineni <skomatineni@nvidia.com>,
	Stanimir Varbanov <stanimir.varbanov@linaro.org>,
	Steve Longerbeam <slongerbeam@gmail.com>,
	Sylwester Nawrocki <sylvester.nawrocki@gmail.com>,
	Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	Tianshu Qiu <tian.shu.qiu@intel.com>,
	Todor Tomov <todor.too@gmail.com>, Yong Zhi <yong.zhi@intel.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-media@vger.kernel.org, linux-mediatek@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-rockchip@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org, linux-staging@lists.linux.dev,
	linux-stm32@st-md-mailman.stormreply.com,
	linux-sunxi@lists.linux.dev, linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH v5 00/25] media: use pm_runtime_resume_and_get() on non-i2c drivers
Date: Thu,  6 May 2021 17:25:38 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <cover.1620314616.git.mchehab+huawei@kernel.org> (raw)

Dealing with PM runtime (RPM) is different than dealing with other kAPIs used
on media, as most pm_runtime_get_*() functions won't return to the the state
before the call if an error rises. They, instead, increment an usage_count.

Due to that, there were several bugs on media. Just on this review, we found
24 such errors.

So, let's use pm_runtime_resume_and_get() whenever possible, as it
has two advantages over :

1. On errors, it decrements the usage count;
2. It always return zero on success or an error code. This prevents a
   common error pattern of checking if ret is not zero to identify
   for errors.

There are however a few places where calls to pm_runtime_get_sync()
are kept. On several of those, a comment was added, in order to
help preventing trivial patches that could try to change them.

PS.: This series was submitted already together with the fix patches
at:

   	https://lore.kernel.org/linux-media/cover.1619621413.git.mchehab+huawei@kernel.org/

I opted to break it on 3 parts, in order to make easier to review.

This is the third (and final) part.

Mauro Carvalho Chehab (25):
  staging: media: imx7-mipi-csis: use pm_runtime_resume_and_get()
  staging: media: atomisp: use pm_runtime_resume_and_get()
  staging: media: ipu3: use pm_runtime_resume_and_get()
  staging: media: cedrus_video: use pm_runtime_resume_and_get()
  staging: media: tegra-vde: use pm_runtime_resume_and_get()
  staging: media: tegra-video: use pm_runtime_resume_and_get()
  media: rockchip/rga: use pm_runtime_resume_and_get()
  media: sti/hva: use pm_runtime_resume_and_get()
  media: ipu3: use pm_runtime_resume_and_get()
  media: coda: use pm_runtime_resume_and_get()
  media: mtk-jpeg: use pm_runtime_resume_and_get()
  media: camss: use pm_runtime_resume_and_get()
  media: venus: core: use pm_runtime_resume_and_get()
  media: venus: vdec: use pm_runtime_resume_and_get()
  media: venus: venc: use pm_runtime_resume_and_get()
  media: rcar-fcp: use pm_runtime_resume_and_get()
  media: rkisp1: use pm_runtime_resume_and_get()
  media: s3c-camif: use pm_runtime_resume_and_get()
  media: s5p-mfc: use pm_runtime_resume_and_get()
  media: stm32: use pm_runtime_resume_and_get()
  media: sunxi: use pm_runtime_resume_and_get()
  media: ti-vpe: use pm_runtime_resume_and_get()
  media: vsp1: use pm_runtime_resume_and_get()
  media: rcar-vin: use pm_runtime_resume_and_get()
  media: hantro: use pm_runtime_resume_and_get()

 drivers/media/pci/intel/ipu3/ipu3-cio2-main.c |  3 +--
 drivers/media/platform/coda/coda-common.c     |  7 ++++---
 .../media/platform/mtk-jpeg/mtk_jpeg_core.c   |  4 ++--
 .../media/platform/qcom/camss/camss-csid.c    |  6 ++----
 .../media/platform/qcom/camss/camss-csiphy.c  |  6 ++----
 .../media/platform/qcom/camss/camss-ispif.c   |  6 ++----
 drivers/media/platform/qcom/camss/camss-vfe.c |  5 +++--
 .../media/platform/qcom/venus/pm_helpers.c    |  3 +--
 drivers/media/platform/qcom/venus/vdec.c      |  6 +++---
 drivers/media/platform/qcom/venus/venc.c      |  5 +++--
 drivers/media/platform/rcar-fcp.c             |  8 +------
 drivers/media/platform/rcar-vin/rcar-csi2.c   | 15 ++++++++++---
 drivers/media/platform/rcar-vin/rcar-dma.c    |  6 ++----
 drivers/media/platform/rcar-vin/rcar-v4l2.c   |  6 ++----
 drivers/media/platform/rockchip/rga/rga-buf.c |  3 +--
 drivers/media/platform/rockchip/rga/rga.c     |  4 +++-
 .../platform/rockchip/rkisp1/rkisp1-capture.c |  3 +--
 .../media/platform/s3c-camif/camif-capture.c  |  2 +-
 drivers/media/platform/s3c-camif/camif-core.c |  5 +++--
 drivers/media/platform/s5p-mfc/s5p_mfc_pm.c   |  6 ++----
 drivers/media/platform/sti/hva/hva-hw.c       | 17 ++++++++-------
 drivers/media/platform/stm32/stm32-dcmi.c     |  5 +++--
 .../platform/sunxi/sun4i-csi/sun4i_v4l2.c     |  6 ++++--
 drivers/media/platform/ti-vpe/cal-video.c     |  4 +++-
 drivers/media/platform/ti-vpe/cal.c           |  8 ++++---
 drivers/media/platform/ti-vpe/vpe.c           |  8 +++----
 drivers/media/platform/vsp1/vsp1_drv.c        | 10 +--------
 .../staging/media/atomisp/pci/atomisp_fops.c  |  6 +++---
 drivers/staging/media/hantro/hantro_drv.c     |  5 ++---
 drivers/staging/media/imx/imx7-mipi-csis.c    |  7 +++----
 drivers/staging/media/ipu3/ipu3.c             |  3 +--
 .../staging/media/sunxi/cedrus/cedrus_video.c |  6 ++----
 drivers/staging/media/tegra-vde/vde.c         | 21 ++++++++++++++++---
 drivers/staging/media/tegra-video/csi.c       |  3 +--
 drivers/staging/media/tegra-video/vi.c        |  3 +--
 35 files changed, 110 insertions(+), 111 deletions(-)

-- 
2.30.2



             reply	other threads:[~2021-05-06 15:27 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 38+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-05-06 15:25 Mauro Carvalho Chehab [this message]
2021-05-06 15:25 ` [PATCH v5 01/25] staging: media: imx7-mipi-csis: use pm_runtime_resume_and_get() Mauro Carvalho Chehab
2021-05-06 15:25 ` [PATCH v5 02/25] staging: media: atomisp: " Mauro Carvalho Chehab
2021-05-06 15:25 ` [PATCH v5 03/25] staging: media: ipu3: " Mauro Carvalho Chehab
2021-05-06 15:25 ` [PATCH v5 04/25] staging: media: cedrus_video: " Mauro Carvalho Chehab
2021-05-06 15:25 ` [PATCH v5 05/25] staging: media: tegra-vde: " Mauro Carvalho Chehab
2021-05-07  5:13   ` Dan Carpenter
2021-05-10 12:26     ` Dmitry Osipenko
2021-05-06 15:25 ` [PATCH v5 06/25] staging: media: tegra-video: " Mauro Carvalho Chehab
2021-05-06 15:25 ` [PATCH v5 07/25] media: rockchip/rga: " Mauro Carvalho Chehab
2021-05-13 22:38   ` Heiko Stuebner
2021-05-06 15:25 ` [PATCH v5 08/25] media: sti/hva: " Mauro Carvalho Chehab
2021-05-06 15:25 ` [PATCH v5 09/25] media: ipu3: " Mauro Carvalho Chehab
2021-05-06 15:25 ` [PATCH v5 10/25] media: coda: " Mauro Carvalho Chehab
2021-05-06 15:25 ` [PATCH v5 11/25] media: mtk-jpeg: " Mauro Carvalho Chehab
2021-05-06 15:25 ` [PATCH v5 12/25] media: camss: " Mauro Carvalho Chehab
2021-05-06 15:25 ` [PATCH v5 13/25] media: venus: core: " Mauro Carvalho Chehab
2021-05-10 13:54   ` Stanimir Varbanov
2021-05-17 15:26     ` Stanimir Varbanov
2021-05-18 15:20       ` Mauro Carvalho Chehab
2021-05-18 15:49         ` Stanimir Varbanov
2021-05-06 15:25 ` [PATCH v5 14/25] media: venus: vdec: " Mauro Carvalho Chehab
2021-05-10 13:55   ` Stanimir Varbanov
2021-05-06 15:25 ` [PATCH v5 15/25] media: venus: venc: " Mauro Carvalho Chehab
2021-05-10 13:55   ` Stanimir Varbanov
2021-05-06 15:25 ` [PATCH v5 16/25] media: rcar-fcp: " Mauro Carvalho Chehab
2021-05-06 16:05   ` Laurent Pinchart
2021-05-06 15:25 ` [PATCH v5 17/25] media: rkisp1: " Mauro Carvalho Chehab
2021-05-13 22:27   ` Heiko Stuebner
2021-05-06 15:25 ` [PATCH v5 18/25] media: s3c-camif: " Mauro Carvalho Chehab
2021-05-06 15:25 ` [PATCH v5 19/25] media: s5p-mfc: " Mauro Carvalho Chehab
2021-05-06 15:25 ` [PATCH v5 20/25] media: stm32: " Mauro Carvalho Chehab
2021-05-06 15:25 ` [PATCH v5 21/25] media: sunxi: " Mauro Carvalho Chehab
2021-05-06 15:26 ` [PATCH v5 22/25] media: ti-vpe: " Mauro Carvalho Chehab
2021-05-06 15:26 ` [PATCH v5 23/25] media: vsp1: " Mauro Carvalho Chehab
2021-05-06 16:06   ` Laurent Pinchart
2021-05-06 15:26 ` [PATCH v5 24/25] media: rcar-vin: " Mauro Carvalho Chehab
2021-05-06 15:26 ` [PATCH v5 25/25] media: hantro: " Mauro Carvalho Chehab

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=cover.1620314616.git.mchehab+huawei@kernel.org \
    --to=mchehab+huawei@kernel.org \
    --cc=a.hajda@samsung.com \
    --cc=agross@kernel.org \
    --cc=alexandre.torgue@foss.st.com \
    --cc=bingbu.cao@intel.com \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=bparrot@ti.com \
    --cc=dafna.hirschfeld@collabora.com \
    --cc=digetx@gmail.com \
    --cc=djrscally@gmail.com \
    --cc=ezequiel@collabora.com \
    --cc=festevam@gmail.com \
    --cc=heiko@sntech.de \
    --cc=helen.koike@collabora.com \
    --cc=jacob-chen@iotwrt.com \
    --cc=jernej.skrabec@siol.net \
    --cc=jonathanh@nvidia.com \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-imx@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-media@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mediatek@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-rockchip@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-staging@lists.linux.dev \
    --cc=linux-stm32@st-md-mailman.stormreply.com \
    --cc=linux-sunxi@lists.linux.dev \
    --cc=linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linuxarm@huawei.com \
    --cc=matthias.bgg@gmail.com \
    --cc=mauro.chehab@huawei.com \
    --cc=mchehab@kernel.org \
    --cc=mcoquelin.stm32@gmail.com \
    --cc=mripard@kernel.org \
    --cc=p.zabel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=paul.kocialkowski@bootlin.com \
    --cc=rmfrfs@gmail.com \
    --cc=robert.foss@linaro.org \
    --cc=s.hauer@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=sakari.ailus@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=shawnguo@kernel.org \
    --cc=skomatineni@nvidia.com \
    --cc=slongerbeam@gmail.com \
    --cc=stanimir.varbanov@linaro.org \
    --cc=sylvester.nawrocki@gmail.com \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --cc=tian.shu.qiu@intel.com \
    --cc=todor.too@gmail.com \
    --cc=wens@csie.org \
    --cc=yong.zhi@intel.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v5 00/25] media: use pm_runtime_resume_and_get() on non-i2c drivers' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
on how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox