Linux-MIPS Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Russell King - ARM Linux <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
To: linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linux-nfs@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org, linux-usb@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org, netdev@vger.kernel.org,
	target-devel@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Andrew Lunn <andrew@lunn.ch>,
	Anna Schumaker <anna.schumaker@netapp.com>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Derek Chickles <derek.chickles@caviumnetworks.com>,
	Felix Manlunas <felix.manlunas@caviumnetworks.com>,
	Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>,
	"J. Bruce Fields" <bfields@fieldses.org>,
	Jeff Layton <jlayton@poochiereds.net>,
	Jiri Slaby <jirislaby@gmail.com>,
	Kalle Valo <kvalo@codeaurora.org>,
	"Luis R. Rodriguez" <mcgrof@do-not-panic.com>,
	Madalin Bucur <madalin.bucur@nxp.com>,
	Microchip Linux Driver Support <UNGLinuxDriver@microchip.com>,
	"Nicholas A. Bellinger" <nab@linux-iscsi.org>,
	Nick Kossifidis <mickflemm@gmail.com>,
	Nicolas Ferre <nicolas.ferre@atmel.com>,
	Raghu Vatsavayi <raghu.vatsavayi@caviumnetworks.com>,
	Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>,
	Satanand Burla <satananda.burla@caviumnetworks.com>,
	Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@free-electrons.com>,
	Timur Tabi <timur@codeaurora.org>,
	Trond Myklebust <trond.myklebust@primarydata.com>,
	Vivien Didelot <vivien.didelot@savoirfairelinux.com>,
	Woojung Huh <woojung.huh@microchip.com>
Subject: [PATCH 4.10-rc3 00/13] net: dsa: remove unnecessary phy.h include
Date: Tue, 31 Jan 2017 19:17:04 +0000
Message-ID: <20170131191704.GA8281@n2100.armlinux.org.uk> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20170118001403.GJ27312@n2100.armlinux.org.uk>

Including phy.h and phy_fixed.h into net/dsa.h causes phy*.h to be an
unnecessary dependency for quite a large amount of the kernel.  There's
very little which actually requires definitions from phy.h in net/dsa.h
- the include itself only wants the declaration of a couple of
structures and IFNAMSIZ.

Add linux/if.h for IFNAMSIZ, declarations for the structures, phy.h to
mv88e6xxx.h as it needs it for phy_interface_t, and remove both phy.h
and phy_fixed.h from net/dsa.h.

This patch reduces from around 800 files rebuilt to around 40 - even
with ccache, the time difference is noticable.

In order to make this change, several drivers need to be updated to
include necessary headers that they were picking up through this
include.  This has resulted in a much larger patch series.

I'm assuming the 0-day builder has had 24 hours with this series, and
hasn't reported any further issues with it - the last issue was two
weeks ago (before I became ill) which I fixed over the last weekend.

I'm hoping this doesn't conflict with what's already in net-next...

 arch/mips/cavium-octeon/octeon-platform.c             | 4 ----
 drivers/net/dsa/mv88e6xxx/mv88e6xxx.h                 | 1 +
 drivers/net/ethernet/broadcom/bgmac.c                 | 2 ++
 drivers/net/ethernet/cadence/macb.h                   | 2 ++
 drivers/net/ethernet/cavium/liquidio/lio_main.c       | 1 +
 drivers/net/ethernet/cavium/liquidio/lio_vf_main.c    | 1 +
 drivers/net/ethernet/cavium/liquidio/octeon_console.c | 1 +
 drivers/net/ethernet/freescale/fman/fman_memac.c      | 1 +
 drivers/net/ethernet/marvell/mvneta.c                 | 1 +
 drivers/net/ethernet/qualcomm/emac/emac-sgmii.c       | 1 +
 drivers/net/usb/lan78xx.c                             | 1 +
 drivers/net/wireless/ath/ath5k/ahb.c                  | 2 +-
 drivers/target/iscsi/iscsi_target_login.c             | 1 +
 include/net/dsa.h                                     | 6 ++++--
 net/core/netprio_cgroup.c                             | 1 +
 net/sunrpc/xprtrdma/svc_rdma_backchannel.c            | 1 +
 16 files changed, 20 insertions(+), 7 deletions(-)

-- 
RMK's Patch system: http://www.armlinux.org.uk/developer/patches/
FTTC broadband for 0.8mile line: currently at 9.6Mbps down 400kbps up
according to speedtest.net.

       reply index

Thread overview: 26+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
     [not found] <20170118001403.GJ27312@n2100.armlinux.org.uk>
2017-01-31 19:17 ` Russell King - ARM Linux [this message]
2017-01-31 19:18   ` [PATCH 4.10-rc3 01/13] net: sunrpc: fix build errors when linux/phy*.h is removed from net/dsa.h Russell King
2017-01-31 19:48     ` Anna Schumaker
2017-01-31 19:18   ` [PATCH 4.10-rc3 02/13] net: cgroups: " Russell King
2017-01-31 19:18   ` [PATCH 4.10-rc3 03/13] net: macb: " Russell King
2017-02-01  9:40     ` Nicolas Ferre
2017-02-01  9:40       ` Nicolas Ferre
2017-01-31 19:18   ` [PATCH 4.10-rc3 04/13] net: lan78xx: " Russell King
2017-01-31 19:18   ` [PATCH 4.10-rc3 05/13] net: bgmac: " Russell King
2017-02-01  9:55     ` Rafał Miłecki
2017-01-31 19:18   ` [PATCH 4.10-rc3 06/13] net: fman: " Russell King
2017-01-31 19:18   ` [PATCH 4.10-rc3 07/13] net: mvneta: " Russell King
2017-02-01 10:27     ` Thomas Petazzoni
2017-01-31 19:19   ` [PATCH 4.10-rc3 08/13] net: emac: " Russell King
2017-01-31 20:15     ` Timur Tabi
2017-01-31 19:19   ` [PATCH 4.10-rc3 09/13] iscsi: " Russell King
2017-01-31 19:32     ` Bart Van Assche
2017-01-31 19:32       ` Bart Van Assche
2017-01-31 19:19   ` [PATCH 4.10-rc3 10/13] MIPS: Octeon: Remove unnecessary MODULE_*() Russell King
2017-01-31 19:19   ` [PATCH 4.10-rc3 11/13] net: liquidio: fix build errors when linux/phy*.h is removed from net/dsa.h Russell King
2017-02-01 19:07     ` Felix Manlunas
2017-02-01 19:07       ` Felix Manlunas
2017-01-31 19:19   ` [PATCH 4.10-rc3 12/13] net: ath5k: " Russell King
2017-02-01  5:34     ` Kalle Valo
2017-01-31 19:19   ` [PATCH 4.10-rc3 13/13] net: dsa: remove unnecessary phy*.h includes Russell King
2017-02-01  2:42   ` [PATCH 4.10-rc3 00/13] net: dsa: remove unnecessary phy.h include Florian Fainelli

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20170131191704.GA8281@n2100.armlinux.org.uk \
    --to=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=UNGLinuxDriver@microchip.com \
    --cc=andrew@lunn.ch \
    --cc=anna.schumaker@netapp.com \
    --cc=bfields@fieldses.org \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=derek.chickles@caviumnetworks.com \
    --cc=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=felix.manlunas@caviumnetworks.com \
    --cc=jirislaby@gmail.com \
    --cc=jlayton@poochiereds.net \
    --cc=kvalo@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=linux-mips@linux-mips.org \
    --cc=linux-nfs@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-usb@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=madalin.bucur@nxp.com \
    --cc=mcgrof@do-not-panic.com \
    --cc=mickflemm@gmail.com \
    --cc=nab@linux-iscsi.org \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=nicolas.ferre@atmel.com \
    --cc=raghu.vatsavayi@caviumnetworks.com \
    --cc=ralf@linux-mips.org \
    --cc=satananda.burla@caviumnetworks.com \
    --cc=target-devel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=thomas.petazzoni@free-electrons.com \
    --cc=timur@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=trond.myklebust@primarydata.com \
    --cc=vivien.didelot@savoirfairelinux.com \
    --cc=woojung.huh@microchip.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-MIPS Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-mips/0 linux-mips/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-mips linux-mips/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-mips \
		linux-mips@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-mips

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-mips


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git