Linux-MIPS Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
To: Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@gmail.com>
Cc: Thomas Bogendoerfer <tbogendoerfer@suse.de>,
	Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>,
	Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com>,
	James Hogan <jhogan@kernel.org>,
	Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com>,
	Lee Jones <lee.jones@linaro.org>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Srinivas Kandagatla <srinivas.kandagatla@linaro.org>,
	Alessandro Zummo <a.zummo@towertech.it>,
	Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com>,
	Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.com>, Evgeniy Polyakov <zbr@ioremap.net>,
	linux-mips@vger.kernel.org,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-input <linux-input@vger.kernel.org>,
	netdev <netdev@vger.kernel.org>,
	"open list:REAL TIME CLOCK (RTC) SUBSYSTEM" 
	<linux-rtc@vger.kernel.org>,
	"open list:SERIAL DRIVERS" <linux-serial@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v4 8/9] MIPS: SGI-IP27: fix readb/writeb addressing
Date: Sun, 11 Aug 2019 09:29:07 +0200
Message-ID: <20190811072907.GA1416@kroah.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAHp75Vd_083R9sRsspVuJ3ZMTxpVR79PF5Lg-bpnMxRfN+b7wA@mail.gmail.com>

On Sat, Aug 10, 2019 at 04:22:23PM +0300, Andy Shevchenko wrote:
> On Fri, Aug 9, 2019 at 1:34 PM Thomas Bogendoerfer
> <tbogendoerfer@suse.de> wrote:
> >
> > Our chosen byte swapping, which is what firmware already uses, is to
> > do readl/writel by normal lw/sw intructions (data invariance). This
> > also means we need to mangle addresses for u8 and u16 accesses. The
> > mangling for 16bit has been done aready, but 8bit one was missing.
> > Correcting this causes different addresses for accesses to the
> > SuperIO and local bus of the IOC3 chip. This is fixed by changing
> > byte order in ioc3 and m48rtc_rtc structs.
> 
> >  /* serial port register map */
> >  struct ioc3_serialregs {
> > -       uint32_t        sscr;
> > -       uint32_t        stpir;
> > -       uint32_t        stcir;
> > -       uint32_t        srpir;
> > -       uint32_t        srcir;
> > -       uint32_t        srtr;
> > -       uint32_t        shadow;
> > +       u32     sscr;
> > +       u32     stpir;
> > +       u32     stcir;
> > +       u32     srpir;
> > +       u32     srcir;
> > +       u32     srtr;
> > +       u32     shadow;
> >  };
> 
> Isn't it a churn? AFAIU kernel documentation the uint32_t is okay to
> use, just be consistent inside one module / driver.
> Am I mistaken?

No, but really it uint* shouldn't be used anywhere in the kernel source
as it does not make sense.

thanks,

greg k-h

  reply index

Thread overview: 28+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-08-09 10:32 [PATCH v4 0/9] Use MFD framework for SGI IOC3 drivers Thomas Bogendoerfer
2019-08-09 10:32 ` [PATCH v4 1/9] w1: add 1-wire master driver for IP block found in SGI ASICs Thomas Bogendoerfer
2019-08-09 10:32 ` [PATCH v4 2/9] w1: add DS2501, DS2502, DS2505 EPROM device driver Thomas Bogendoerfer
2019-08-09 10:32 ` [PATCH v4 3/9] nvmem: core: add nvmem_device_find Thomas Bogendoerfer
2019-08-13  9:40   ` Srinivas Kandagatla
2019-08-14 11:46     ` Thomas Bogendoerfer
2019-08-14 12:52       ` Srinivas Kandagatla
2019-08-16 14:09         ` Thomas Bogendoerfer
2019-08-19 16:03           ` Srinivas Kandagatla
2019-08-21 12:48             ` Thomas Bogendoerfer
2019-08-09 10:32 ` [PATCH v4 4/9] MIPS: PCI: refactor ioc3 special handling Thomas Bogendoerfer
2019-08-29 11:20   ` Thomas Bogendoerfer
2019-08-09 10:32 ` [PATCH v4 5/9] MIPS: PCI: use information from 1-wire PROM for IOC3 detection Thomas Bogendoerfer
2019-08-09 10:32 ` [PATCH v4 6/9] MIPS: SGI-IP27: remove ioc3 ethernet init Thomas Bogendoerfer
2019-08-09 10:32 ` [PATCH v4 8/9] MIPS: SGI-IP27: fix readb/writeb addressing Thomas Bogendoerfer
2019-08-10 13:22   ` Andy Shevchenko
2019-08-11  7:29     ` Greg Kroah-Hartman [this message]
2019-08-13  8:47       ` Philippe Mathieu-Daudé
2019-08-14 11:40         ` Thomas Bogendoerfer
2019-08-09 10:32 ` [PATCH v4 9/9] Input: add IOC3 serio driver Thomas Bogendoerfer
2019-08-09 22:04   ` Dmitry Torokhov
2019-08-14 13:20   ` Jonas Gorski
2019-08-14 14:37     ` Thomas Bogendoerfer
2019-08-14 16:57       ` Jonas Gorski
2019-08-14 18:04         ` Dmitry Torokhov
     [not found] ` <20190809103235.16338-8-tbogendoerfer@suse.de>
2019-08-09 21:22   ` [PATCH v4 7/9] mfd: ioc3: Add driver for SGI IOC3 chip Jakub Kicinski
2019-08-11  7:32     ` Thomas Bogendoerfer
2019-08-12 19:52       ` Jakub Kicinski

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20190811072907.GA1416@kroah.com \
    --to=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=a.zummo@towertech.it \
    --cc=alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=andy.shevchenko@gmail.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com \
    --cc=jhogan@kernel.org \
    --cc=jslaby@suse.com \
    --cc=lee.jones@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-input@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mips@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-rtc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-serial@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=paul.burton@mips.com \
    --cc=ralf@linux-mips.org \
    --cc=srinivas.kandagatla@linaro.org \
    --cc=tbogendoerfer@suse.de \
    --cc=zbr@ioremap.net \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-MIPS Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-mips/0 linux-mips/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-mips linux-mips/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-mips \
		linux-mips@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-mips

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-mips


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git