Linux-MIPS Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill@shutemov.name>
To: Anshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>
Cc: Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr>,
	linux-mm@kvack.org, Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>,
	Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>,
	Steven Price <Steven.Price@arm.com>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>,
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Tetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@i-love.sakura.ne.jp>,
	Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>,
	Sri Krishna chowdary <schowdary@nvidia.com>,
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>,
	Russell King - ARM Linux <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>,
	Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>,
	Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>,
	Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>,
	James Hogan <jhogan@kernel.org>,
	Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com>,
	Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>,
	Gerald Schaefer <gerald.schaefer@de.ibm.com>,
	linux-snps-arc@lists.infradead.org, linux-mips@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org,
	linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-sh@vger.kernel.org, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org,
	x86@kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH V2 2/2] mm/pgtable/debug: Add test validating architecture page table helpers
Date: Fri, 13 Sep 2019 12:13:05 +0300
Message-ID: <20190913091305.rkds4f3fqv3yjhjy@box> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <502c497a-9bf1-7d2e-95f2-cfebcd9cf1d9@arm.com>

On Fri, Sep 13, 2019 at 02:32:04PM +0530, Anshuman Khandual wrote:
> 
> On 09/12/2019 10:44 PM, Christophe Leroy wrote:
> > 
> > 
> > Le 12/09/2019 à 08:02, Anshuman Khandual a écrit :
> >> This adds a test module which will validate architecture page table helpers
> >> and accessors regarding compliance with generic MM semantics expectations.
> >> This will help various architectures in validating changes to the existing
> >> page table helpers or addition of new ones.
> >>
> >> Test page table and memory pages creating it's entries at various level are
> >> all allocated from system memory with required alignments. If memory pages
> >> with required size and alignment could not be allocated, then all depending
> >> individual tests are skipped.
> >>
> > 
> > [...]
> > 
> >>
> >> Suggested-by: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
> >> Signed-off-by: Anshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>
> >> ---
> >>   arch/x86/include/asm/pgtable_64_types.h |   2 +
> >>   mm/Kconfig.debug                        |  14 +
> >>   mm/Makefile                             |   1 +
> >>   mm/arch_pgtable_test.c                  | 429 ++++++++++++++++++++++++
> >>   4 files changed, 446 insertions(+)
> >>   create mode 100644 mm/arch_pgtable_test.c
> >>
> >> diff --git a/arch/x86/include/asm/pgtable_64_types.h b/arch/x86/include/asm/pgtable_64_types.h
> >> index 52e5f5f2240d..b882792a3999 100644
> >> --- a/arch/x86/include/asm/pgtable_64_types.h
> >> +++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/pgtable_64_types.h
> >> @@ -40,6 +40,8 @@ static inline bool pgtable_l5_enabled(void)
> >>   #define pgtable_l5_enabled() 0
> >>   #endif /* CONFIG_X86_5LEVEL */
> >>   +#define mm_p4d_folded(mm) (!pgtable_l5_enabled())
> >> +
> > 
> > This is specific to x86, should go in a separate patch.
> 
> Thought about it but its just a single line. Kirill suggested this in the
> previous version. There is a generic fallback definition but s390 has it's
> own. This change overrides the generic one for x86 probably as a fix or as
> an improvement. Kirill should be able to help classify it in which case it
> can be a separate patch.

I don't think it worth a separate patch.

-- 
 Kirill A. Shutemov

  reply index

Thread overview: 25+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-09-12  6:02 [PATCH V2 0/2] mm/debug: Add tests for architecture exported " Anshuman Khandual
2019-09-12  6:02 ` [PATCH V2 2/2] mm/pgtable/debug: Add test validating architecture " Anshuman Khandual
2019-09-12 11:00   ` Kirill A. Shutemov
2019-09-12 12:09     ` Anshuman Khandual
2019-09-12 15:00   ` Christophe Leroy
2019-09-12 15:36     ` Christophe Leroy
2019-09-12 15:52       ` Christophe Leroy
2019-09-13  6:30         ` Christophe Leroy
2019-09-12 17:14   ` Christophe Leroy
2019-09-13  6:23     ` [PATCH] mm/pgtable/debug: Fix " Christophe Leroy
2019-09-13  6:58       ` Anshuman Khandual
2019-09-13  7:03         ` Christophe Leroy
2019-09-13  7:11           ` Christophe Leroy
2019-09-13  8:42             ` Anshuman Khandual
2019-09-13  8:51               ` Kirill A. Shutemov
2019-09-18  7:32       ` Anshuman Khandual
2019-09-13  9:02     ` [PATCH V2 2/2] mm/pgtable/debug: Add " Anshuman Khandual
2019-09-13  9:13       ` Kirill A. Shutemov [this message]
2019-09-13 10:01       ` Christophe Leroy
2019-09-18  5:04         ` Anshuman Khandual
2019-09-18 16:26           ` Christophe Leroy
2019-09-18 18:22             ` Gerald Schaefer
2019-09-12 14:42 ` [PATCH V2 0/2] mm/debug: Add tests for architecture exported " Christophe Leroy
2019-09-13  6:24   ` Anshuman Khandual
2019-09-13  6:32     ` Christophe Leroy

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20190913091305.rkds4f3fqv3yjhjy@box \
    --to=kirill@shutemov.name \
    --cc=Steven.Price@arm.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=anshuman.khandual@arm.com \
    --cc=ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org \
    --cc=broonie@kernel.org \
    --cc=christophe.leroy@c-s.fr \
    --cc=dan.j.williams@intel.com \
    --cc=dave.hansen@intel.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=gerald.schaefer@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=jgg@ziepe.ca \
    --cc=jhogan@kernel.org \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mips@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=linux-s390@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-sh@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-snps-arc@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mhocko@kernel.org \
    --cc=mpe@ellerman.id.au \
    --cc=paul.burton@mips.com \
    --cc=paulus@samba.org \
    --cc=penguin-kernel@i-love.sakura.ne.jp \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=ralf@linux-mips.org \
    --cc=rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --cc=schowdary@nvidia.com \
    --cc=schwidefsky@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=sparclinux@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=vbabka@suse.cz \
    --cc=vgupta@synopsys.com \
    --cc=willy@infradead.org \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --cc=yamada.masahiro@socionext.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-MIPS Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-mips/0 linux-mips/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-mips linux-mips/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-mips \
		linux-mips@vger.kernel.org linux-mips@archiver.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-mips


Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-mips


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/ public-inbox