linux-mips.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Steven Price <steven.price@arm.com>
To: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>, linux-mm@kvack.org
Cc: "Steven Price" <steven.price@arm.com>,
	"Andy Lutomirski" <luto@kernel.org>,
	"Ard Biesheuvel" <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>,
	"Arnd Bergmann" <arnd@arndb.de>, "Borislav Petkov" <bp@alien8.de>,
	"Catalin Marinas" <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	"Dave Hansen" <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>,
	"Ingo Molnar" <mingo@redhat.com>,
	"James Morse" <james.morse@arm.com>,
	"Jérôme Glisse" <jglisse@redhat.com>,
	"Peter Zijlstra" <peterz@infradead.org>,
	"Thomas Gleixner" <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	"Will Deacon" <will@kernel.org>,
	x86@kernel.org, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	"Mark Rutland" <Mark.Rutland@arm.com>,
	"Liang, Kan" <kan.liang@linux.intel.com>,
	"Ralf Baechle" <ralf@linux-mips.org>,
	"Paul Burton" <paul.burton@mips.com>,
	"James Hogan" <jhogan@kernel.org>,
	linux-mips@vger.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH v16 05/25] mips: mm: Add p?d_leaf() definitions
Date: Fri,  6 Dec 2019 13:52:56 +0000	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20191206135316.47703-6-steven.price@arm.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20191206135316.47703-1-steven.price@arm.com>

walk_page_range() is going to be allowed to walk page tables other than
those of user space. For this it needs to know when it has reached a
'leaf' entry in the page tables. This information is provided by the
p?d_leaf() functions/macros.

If _PAGE_HUGE is defined we can simply look for it. When not defined we
can be confident that there are no leaf pages in existence and fall back
on the generic implementation (added in a later patch) which returns 0.

CC: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
CC: Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com>
CC: James Hogan <jhogan@kernel.org>
CC: linux-mips@vger.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Steven Price <steven.price@arm.com>
Acked-by: Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com>
---
 arch/mips/include/asm/pgtable.h | 5 +++++
 1 file changed, 5 insertions(+)

diff --git a/arch/mips/include/asm/pgtable.h b/arch/mips/include/asm/pgtable.h
index 91b89aab1787..aef5378f909c 100644
--- a/arch/mips/include/asm/pgtable.h
+++ b/arch/mips/include/asm/pgtable.h
@@ -639,6 +639,11 @@ static inline pmd_t pmdp_huge_get_and_clear(struct mm_struct *mm,
 
 #endif /* CONFIG_TRANSPARENT_HUGEPAGE */
 
+#ifdef _PAGE_HUGE
+#define pmd_leaf(pmd)	((pmd_val(pmd) & _PAGE_HUGE) != 0)
+#define pud_leaf(pud)	((pud_val(pud) & _PAGE_HUGE) != 0)
+#endif
+
 #define gup_fast_permitted(start, end)	(!cpu_has_dc_aliases)
 
 #include <asm-generic/pgtable.h>
-- 
2.20.1


           reply	other threads:[~2019-12-06 13:54 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed
 [parent not found: <20191206135316.47703-1-steven.price@arm.com>]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20191206135316.47703-6-steven.price@arm.com \
    --to=steven.price@arm.com \
    --cc=Mark.Rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=dave.hansen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=james.morse@arm.com \
    --cc=jglisse@redhat.com \
    --cc=jhogan@kernel.org \
    --cc=kan.liang@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mips@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=luto@kernel.org \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=paul.burton@mips.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=ralf@linux-mips.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v16 05/25] mips: mm: Add p?d_leaf() definitions' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).