Linux-mm Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Qian Cai <cai@lca.pw>
To: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky.work@gmail.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>,
	tytso@mit.edu, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	gregkh@linuxfoundation.org, pmladek@suse.com,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	dan.j.williams@intel.com, Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	longman@redhat.com, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Linux-MM <linux-mm@kvack.org>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] char/random: silence a lockdep splat with printk()
Date: Thu, 2 Jan 2020 12:16:28 -0500
Message-ID: <00116950-7DFB-4F93-959A-06D63E8FF51E@lca.pw> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200102120752.7b893b1e@gandalf.local.home>



> On Jan 2, 2020, at 12:07 PM, Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> wrote:
> 
> How would this disable lockdep early in the process? The patch is just
> changing pr_notice() to printk_deferred() correct?

Yes, I meant without this patch. Lockdep will easily generate this potential deadlock warning early after boot and then disable itself.

  reply index

Thread overview: 9+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-11-13 21:16 Qian Cai
2019-12-03 18:46 ` Qian Cai
2019-12-05  1:00   ` Sergey Senozhatsky
2019-12-17  1:52     ` Qian Cai
2020-01-02 15:42       ` Qian Cai
2020-01-02 17:07         ` Steven Rostedt
2020-01-02 17:16           ` Qian Cai [this message]
2020-01-02 18:00         ` Theodore Y. Ts'o
2020-01-07 21:07 ` Theodore Y. Ts'o

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=00116950-7DFB-4F93-959A-06D63E8FF51E@lca.pw \
    --to=cai@lca.pw \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=dan.j.williams@intel.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=longman@redhat.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=pmladek@suse.com \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=sergey.senozhatsky.work@gmail.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=tytso@mit.edu \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-mm Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-mm/0 linux-mm/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-mm linux-mm/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-mm \
		linux-mm@kvack.org
	public-inbox-index linux-mm

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kvack.linux-mm


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git