Linux-mm Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: akpm@linux-foundation.org
To: akpm@linux-foundation.org, alex@ghiti.fr, aou@eecs.berkeley.edu,
	ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org, arnd@arndb.de,
	aryabinin@virtuozzo.com, benh@kernel.crashing.org,
	borntraeger@de.ibm.com, bp@alien8.de, catalin.marinas@arm.com,
	dave.hansen@linux.intel.com, dave.jiang@intel.com,
	davem@davemloft.net, dvyukov@google.com, glider@google.com,
	gor@linux.ibm.com, heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com, hpa@zytor.com,
	james.morse@arm.com, jhogan@kernel.org,
	kan.liang@linux.intel.com, linux-mm@kvack.org,
	linux@armlinux.org.uk, luto@kernel.org, mark.rutland@arm.com,
	mawilcox@microsoft.com, mingo@elte.hu,
	mm-commits@vger.kernel.org, mpe@ellerman.id.au,
	n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com, palmer@sifive.com,
	paul.burton@mips.com, paul.walmsley@sifive.com, paulus@samba.org,
	peterz@infradead.org, ralf@linux-mips.org,
	shashim@codeaurora.org, steven.price@arm.com, tglx@linutronix.de,
	torvalds@linux-foundation.org, vgupta@synopsys.com,
	will@kernel.org, zong.li@sifive.com
Subject: [patch 048/158] arm: mm: add p?d_leaf() definitions
Date: Sat, 30 Nov 2019 17:51:46 -0800
Message-ID: <20191201015146.IL3mB9ych%akpm@linux-foundation.org> (raw)

From: Steven Price <steven.price@arm.com>
Subject: arm: mm: add p?d_leaf() definitions

walk_page_range() is going to be allowed to walk page tables other than
those of user space.  For this it needs to know when it has reached a
'leaf' entry in the page tables.  This information is provided by the
p?d_leaf() functions/macros.

For arm pmd_large() already exists and does what we want.  So simply
provide the generic pmd_leaf() name.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20191028135910.33253-4-steven.price@arm.com
Signed-off-by: Steven Price <steven.price@arm.com>
Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
Cc: Albert Ou <aou@eecs.berkeley.edu>
Cc: Alexander Potapenko <glider@google.com>
Cc: Alexandre Ghiti <alex@ghiti.fr>
Cc: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Dave Jiang <dave.jiang@intel.com>
Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <.com>
Cc: James Hogan <jhogan@kernel.org>
Cc: James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>
Cc: "Liang, Kan" <kan.liang@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <mawilcox@microsoft.com>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com>
Cc: Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@sifive.com>
Cc: Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Cc: Shiraz Hashim <shashim@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
Cc: Zong Li <zong.li@sifive.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 arch/arm/include/asm/pgtable-2level.h |    1 +
 arch/arm/include/asm/pgtable-3level.h |    1 +
 2 files changed, 2 insertions(+)

--- a/arch/arm/include/asm/pgtable-2level.h~arm-mm-add-pd_leaf-definitions
+++ a/arch/arm/include/asm/pgtable-2level.h
@@ -189,6 +189,7 @@ static inline pmd_t *pmd_offset(pud_t *p
 }
 
 #define pmd_large(pmd)		(pmd_val(pmd) & 2)
+#define pmd_leaf(pmd)		(pmd_val(pmd) & 2)
 #define pmd_bad(pmd)		(pmd_val(pmd) & 2)
 #define pmd_present(pmd)	(pmd_val(pmd))
 
--- a/arch/arm/include/asm/pgtable-3level.h~arm-mm-add-pd_leaf-definitions
+++ a/arch/arm/include/asm/pgtable-3level.h
@@ -134,6 +134,7 @@
 #define pmd_sect(pmd)		((pmd_val(pmd) & PMD_TYPE_MASK) == \
 						 PMD_TYPE_SECT)
 #define pmd_large(pmd)		pmd_sect(pmd)
+#define pmd_leaf(pmd)		pmd_sect(pmd)
 
 #define pud_clear(pudp)			\
 	do {				\
_


                 reply index

Thread overview: [no followups] expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20191201015146.IL3mB9ych%akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --to=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=alex@ghiti.fr \
    --cc=aou@eecs.berkeley.edu \
    --cc=ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=aryabinin@virtuozzo.com \
    --cc=benh@kernel.crashing.org \
    --cc=borntraeger@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=dave.hansen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=dave.jiang@intel.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=dvyukov@google.com \
    --cc=glider@google.com \
    --cc=gor@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=james.morse@arm.com \
    --cc=jhogan@kernel.org \
    --cc=kan.liang@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=luto@kernel.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mawilcox@microsoft.com \
    --cc=mingo@elte.hu \
    --cc=mm-commits@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mpe@ellerman.id.au \
    --cc=n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com \
    --cc=palmer@sifive.com \
    --cc=paul.burton@mips.com \
    --cc=paul.walmsley@sifive.com \
    --cc=paulus@samba.org \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=ralf@linux-mips.org \
    --cc=shashim@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=steven.price@arm.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=vgupta@synopsys.com \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --cc=zong.li@sifive.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-mm Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-mm/0 linux-mm/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-mm linux-mm/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-mm \
		linux-mm@kvack.org
	public-inbox-index linux-mm

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kvack.linux-mm


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git