Linux-mm Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
* [patch 057/158] mm: pagewalk: allow walking without vma
@ 2019-12-01  1:52 akpm
  0 siblings, 0 replies; only message in thread
From: akpm @ 2019-12-01  1:52 UTC (permalink / raw)
  To: akpm, alex, aou, ard.biesheuvel, arnd, aryabinin, benh,
	borntraeger, bp, cai, catalin.marinas, dave.hansen, dave.jiang,
	davem, dvyukov, glider, gor, heiko.carstens, hpa, james.morse,
	jhogan, kan.liang, linux-mm, linux, luto, mark.rutland, mawilcox,
	mingo, mm-commits, mpe, n-horiguchi, palmer, paul.burton,
	paul.walmsley, paulus, peterz, ralf, sfr, shashim, steven.price,
	tglx, torvalds, vgupta, will, zong.li

From: Steven Price <steven.price@arm.com>
Subject: mm: pagewalk: allow walking without vma

Since 48684a65b4e3: "mm: pagewalk: fix misbehavior of walk_page_range for
vma(VM_PFNMAP)", page_table_walk() will report any kernel area as a hole,
because it lacks a vma.

This means each arch has re-implemented page table walking when needed,
for example in the per-arch ptdump walker.

Remove the requirement to have a vma in the generic code and add a new
function walk_page_range_novma() which ignores the VMAs and simply walks
the page tables.

[steven.price@arm.com: v15]
  Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20191101140942.51554-13-steven.price@arm.com
[steven.price@arm.com: fix boot crash]
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20191028135910.33253-13-steven.price@arm.com
Cc: Zong Li <zong.li@sifive.com>
Cc: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com>
Cc: Shiraz Hashim <shashim@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Albert Ou <aou@eecs.berkeley.edu>
Cc: Alexander Potapenko <glider@google.com>
Cc: Alexandre Ghiti <alex@ghiti.fr>
Cc: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Dave Jiang <dave.jiang@intel.com>
Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: James Hogan <jhogan@kernel.org>
Cc: James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>
Cc: "Liang, Kan" <kan.liang@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <mawilcox@microsoft.com>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@sifive.com>
Cc: Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
Cc: Qian Cai <cai@lca.pw>
Cc: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 include/linux/pagewalk.h |    5 ++++
 mm/pagewalk.c            |   44 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++-------
 2 files changed, 41 insertions(+), 8 deletions(-)

--- a/include/linux/pagewalk.h~mm-pagewalk-allow-walking-without-vma
+++ a/include/linux/pagewalk.h
@@ -59,6 +59,7 @@ struct mm_walk_ops {
  * @ops:	operation to call during the walk
  * @mm:		mm_struct representing the target process of page table walk
  * @vma:	vma currently walked (NULL if walking outside vmas)
+ * @no_vma:	walk ignoring vmas (vma will always be NULL)
  * @private:	private data for callbacks' usage
  *
  * (see the comment on walk_page_range() for more details)
@@ -67,12 +68,16 @@ struct mm_walk {
 	const struct mm_walk_ops *ops;
 	struct mm_struct *mm;
 	struct vm_area_struct *vma;
+	bool no_vma;
 	void *private;
 };
 
 int walk_page_range(struct mm_struct *mm, unsigned long start,
 		unsigned long end, const struct mm_walk_ops *ops,
 		void *private);
+int walk_page_range_novma(struct mm_struct *mm, unsigned long start,
+			  unsigned long end, const struct mm_walk_ops *ops,
+			  void *private);
 int walk_page_vma(struct vm_area_struct *vma, const struct mm_walk_ops *ops,
 		void *private);
 int walk_page_mapping(struct address_space *mapping, pgoff_t first_index,
--- a/mm/pagewalk.c~mm-pagewalk-allow-walking-without-vma
+++ a/mm/pagewalk.c
@@ -39,7 +39,7 @@ static int walk_pmd_range(pud_t *pud, un
 	do {
 again:
 		next = pmd_addr_end(addr, end);
-		if (pmd_none(*pmd) || !walk->vma) {
+		if (pmd_none(*pmd) || (!walk->vma && !walk->no_vma)) {
 			if (ops->pte_hole)
 				err = ops->pte_hole(addr, next, walk);
 			if (err)
@@ -62,9 +62,14 @@ again:
 		if (!ops->pte_entry)
 			continue;
 
-		split_huge_pmd(walk->vma, pmd, addr);
-		if (pmd_trans_unstable(pmd))
-			goto again;
+		if (walk->vma) {
+			split_huge_pmd(walk->vma, pmd, addr);
+			if (pmd_trans_unstable(pmd))
+				goto again;
+		} else if (pmd_leaf(*pmd) || !pmd_present(*pmd)) {
+			continue;
+		}
+
 		err = walk_pte_range(pmd, addr, next, walk);
 		if (err)
 			break;
@@ -85,7 +90,7 @@ static int walk_pud_range(p4d_t *p4d, un
 	do {
  again:
 		next = pud_addr_end(addr, end);
-		if (pud_none(*pud) || !walk->vma) {
+		if (pud_none(*pud) || (!walk->vma && !walk->no_vma)) {
 			if (ops->pte_hole)
 				err = ops->pte_hole(addr, next, walk);
 			if (err)
@@ -99,9 +104,13 @@ static int walk_pud_range(p4d_t *p4d, un
 				break;
 		}
 
-		split_huge_pud(walk->vma, pud, addr);
-		if (pud_none(*pud))
-			goto again;
+		if (walk->vma) {
+			split_huge_pud(walk->vma, pud, addr);
+			if (pud_none(*pud))
+				goto again;
+		} else if (pud_leaf(*pud) || !pud_present(*pud)) {
+			continue;
+		}
 
 		if (ops->pmd_entry || ops->pte_entry)
 			err = walk_pmd_range(pud, addr, next, walk);
@@ -374,6 +383,25 @@ int walk_page_range(struct mm_struct *mm
 	return err;
 }
 
+int walk_page_range_novma(struct mm_struct *mm, unsigned long start,
+			  unsigned long end, const struct mm_walk_ops *ops,
+			  void *private)
+{
+	struct mm_walk walk = {
+		.ops		= ops,
+		.mm		= mm,
+		.private	= private,
+		.no_vma		= true
+	};
+
+	if (start >= end || !walk.mm)
+		return -EINVAL;
+
+	lockdep_assert_held(&walk.mm->mmap_sem);
+
+	return __walk_page_range(start, end, &walk);
+}
+
 int walk_page_vma(struct vm_area_struct *vma, const struct mm_walk_ops *ops,
 		void *private)
 {
_


^ permalink raw reply	[flat|nested] only message in thread

only message in thread, back to index

Thread overview: (only message) (download: mbox.gz / follow: Atom feed)
-- links below jump to the message on this page --
2019-12-01  1:52 [patch 057/158] mm: pagewalk: allow walking without vma akpm

Linux-mm Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-mm/0 linux-mm/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-mm linux-mm/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-mm \
		linux-mm@kvack.org
	public-inbox-index linux-mm

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kvack.linux-mm


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git