Linux-mm Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
* [patch 060/158] x86: mm: point to struct seq_file from struct pg_state
@ 2019-12-01  1:52 akpm
  0 siblings, 0 replies; only message in thread
From: akpm @ 2019-12-01  1:52 UTC (permalink / raw)
  To: akpm, alex, aou, ard.biesheuvel, arnd, aryabinin, benh,
	borntraeger, bp, catalin.marinas, dave.hansen, dave.jiang, davem,
	dvyukov, glider, gor, heiko.carstens, hpa, james.morse, jhogan,
	kan.liang, linux-mm, linux, luto, mark.rutland, mawilcox, mingo,
	mm-commits, mpe, n-horiguchi, palmer, paul.burton, paul.walmsley,
	paulus, peterz, ralf, shashim, steven.price, tglx, torvalds,
	vgupta, will, zong.li

From: Steven Price <steven.price@arm.com>
Subject: x86: mm: point to struct seq_file from struct pg_state

mm/dump_pagetables.c passes both struct seq_file and struct pg_state down
the chain of walk_*_level() functions to be passed to note_page(). 
Instead place the struct seq_file in struct pg_state and access it from
struct pg_state (which is private to this file) in note_page().

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20191028135910.33253-16-steven.price@arm.com
Signed-off-by: Steven Price <steven.price@arm.com>
Cc: Albert Ou <aou@eecs.berkeley.edu>
Cc: Alexander Potapenko <glider@google.com>
Cc: Alexandre Ghiti <alex@ghiti.fr>
Cc: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Dave Jiang <dave.jiang@intel.com>
Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: James Hogan <jhogan@kernel.org>
Cc: James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>
Cc: "Liang, Kan" <kan.liang@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <mawilcox@microsoft.com>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com>
Cc: Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@sifive.com>
Cc: Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
Cc: Shiraz Hashim <shashim@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
Cc: Zong Li <zong.li@sifive.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 arch/x86/mm/dump_pagetables.c |   69 ++++++++++++++++----------------
 1 file changed, 35 insertions(+), 34 deletions(-)

--- a/arch/x86/mm/dump_pagetables.c~x86-mm-point-to-struct-seq_file-from-struct-pg_state
+++ a/arch/x86/mm/dump_pagetables.c
@@ -36,6 +36,7 @@ struct pg_state {
 	bool to_dmesg;
 	bool check_wx;
 	unsigned long wx_pages;
+	struct seq_file *seq;
 };
 
 struct addr_marker {
@@ -265,11 +266,12 @@ static void note_wx(struct pg_state *st)
  * of PTE entries; the next one is different so we need to
  * print what we collected so far.
  */
-static void note_page(struct seq_file *m, struct pg_state *st,
-		      pgprot_t new_prot, pgprotval_t new_eff, int level)
+static void note_page(struct pg_state *st, pgprot_t new_prot,
+		      pgprotval_t new_eff, int level)
 {
 	pgprotval_t prot, cur, eff;
 	static const char units[] = "BKMGTPE";
+	struct seq_file *m = st->seq;
 
 	/*
 	 * If we have a "break" in the series, we need to flush the state that
@@ -354,8 +356,8 @@ static inline pgprotval_t effective_prot
 	       ((prot1 | prot2) & _PAGE_NX);
 }
 
-static void walk_pte_level(struct seq_file *m, struct pg_state *st, pmd_t addr,
-			   pgprotval_t eff_in, unsigned long P)
+static void walk_pte_level(struct pg_state *st, pmd_t addr, pgprotval_t eff_in,
+			   unsigned long P)
 {
 	int i;
 	pte_t *pte;
@@ -366,7 +368,7 @@ static void walk_pte_level(struct seq_fi
 		pte = pte_offset_map(&addr, st->current_address);
 		prot = pte_flags(*pte);
 		eff = effective_prot(eff_in, prot);
-		note_page(m, st, __pgprot(prot), eff, 5);
+		note_page(st, __pgprot(prot), eff, 5);
 		pte_unmap(pte);
 	}
 }
@@ -379,22 +381,20 @@ static void walk_pte_level(struct seq_fi
  * us dozens of seconds (minutes for 5-level config) while checking for
  * W+X mapping or reading kernel_page_tables debugfs file.
  */
-static inline bool kasan_page_table(struct seq_file *m, struct pg_state *st,
-				void *pt)
+static inline bool kasan_page_table(struct pg_state *st, void *pt)
 {
 	if (__pa(pt) == __pa(kasan_early_shadow_pmd) ||
 	    (pgtable_l5_enabled() &&
 			__pa(pt) == __pa(kasan_early_shadow_p4d)) ||
 	    __pa(pt) == __pa(kasan_early_shadow_pud)) {
 		pgprotval_t prot = pte_flags(kasan_early_shadow_pte[0]);
-		note_page(m, st, __pgprot(prot), 0, 5);
+		note_page(st, __pgprot(prot), 0, 5);
 		return true;
 	}
 	return false;
 }
 #else
-static inline bool kasan_page_table(struct seq_file *m, struct pg_state *st,
-				void *pt)
+static inline bool kasan_page_table(struct pg_state *st, void *pt)
 {
 	return false;
 }
@@ -402,7 +402,7 @@ static inline bool kasan_page_table(stru
 
 #if PTRS_PER_PMD > 1
 
-static void walk_pmd_level(struct seq_file *m, struct pg_state *st, pud_t addr,
+static void walk_pmd_level(struct pg_state *st, pud_t addr,
 			   pgprotval_t eff_in, unsigned long P)
 {
 	int i;
@@ -416,27 +416,27 @@ static void walk_pmd_level(struct seq_fi
 			prot = pmd_flags(*start);
 			eff = effective_prot(eff_in, prot);
 			if (pmd_large(*start) || !pmd_present(*start)) {
-				note_page(m, st, __pgprot(prot), eff, 4);
-			} else if (!kasan_page_table(m, st, pmd_start)) {
-				walk_pte_level(m, st, *start, eff,
+				note_page(st, __pgprot(prot), eff, 4);
+			} else if (!kasan_page_table(st, pmd_start)) {
+				walk_pte_level(st, *start, eff,
 					       P + i * PMD_LEVEL_MULT);
 			}
 		} else
-			note_page(m, st, __pgprot(0), 0, 4);
+			note_page(st, __pgprot(0), 0, 4);
 		start++;
 	}
 }
 
 #else
-#define walk_pmd_level(m,s,a,e,p) walk_pte_level(m,s,__pmd(pud_val(a)),e,p)
+#define walk_pmd_level(s,a,e,p) walk_pte_level(s,__pmd(pud_val(a)),e,p)
 #define pud_large(a) pmd_large(__pmd(pud_val(a)))
 #define pud_none(a)  pmd_none(__pmd(pud_val(a)))
 #endif
 
 #if PTRS_PER_PUD > 1
 
-static void walk_pud_level(struct seq_file *m, struct pg_state *st, p4d_t addr,
-			   pgprotval_t eff_in, unsigned long P)
+static void walk_pud_level(struct pg_state *st, p4d_t addr, pgprotval_t eff_in,
+			   unsigned long P)
 {
 	int i;
 	pud_t *start, *pud_start;
@@ -450,33 +450,33 @@ static void walk_pud_level(struct seq_fi
 			prot = pud_flags(*start);
 			eff = effective_prot(eff_in, prot);
 			if (pud_large(*start) || !pud_present(*start)) {
-				note_page(m, st, __pgprot(prot), eff, 3);
-			} else if (!kasan_page_table(m, st, pud_start)) {
-				walk_pmd_level(m, st, *start, eff,
+				note_page(st, __pgprot(prot), eff, 3);
+			} else if (!kasan_page_table(st, pud_start)) {
+				walk_pmd_level(st, *start, eff,
 					       P + i * PUD_LEVEL_MULT);
 			}
 		} else
-			note_page(m, st, __pgprot(0), 0, 3);
+			note_page(st, __pgprot(0), 0, 3);
 
 		start++;
 	}
 }
 
 #else
-#define walk_pud_level(m,s,a,e,p) walk_pmd_level(m,s,__pud(p4d_val(a)),e,p)
+#define walk_pud_level(s,a,e,p) walk_pmd_level(s,__pud(p4d_val(a)),e,p)
 #define p4d_large(a) pud_large(__pud(p4d_val(a)))
 #define p4d_none(a)  pud_none(__pud(p4d_val(a)))
 #endif
 
-static void walk_p4d_level(struct seq_file *m, struct pg_state *st, pgd_t addr,
-			   pgprotval_t eff_in, unsigned long P)
+static void walk_p4d_level(struct pg_state *st, pgd_t addr, pgprotval_t eff_in,
+			   unsigned long P)
 {
 	int i;
 	p4d_t *start, *p4d_start;
 	pgprotval_t prot, eff;
 
 	if (PTRS_PER_P4D == 1)
-		return walk_pud_level(m, st, __p4d(pgd_val(addr)), eff_in, P);
+		return walk_pud_level(st, __p4d(pgd_val(addr)), eff_in, P);
 
 	p4d_start = start = (p4d_t *)pgd_page_vaddr(addr);
 
@@ -486,13 +486,13 @@ static void walk_p4d_level(struct seq_fi
 			prot = p4d_flags(*start);
 			eff = effective_prot(eff_in, prot);
 			if (p4d_large(*start) || !p4d_present(*start)) {
-				note_page(m, st, __pgprot(prot), eff, 2);
-			} else if (!kasan_page_table(m, st, p4d_start)) {
-				walk_pud_level(m, st, *start, eff,
+				note_page(st, __pgprot(prot), eff, 2);
+			} else if (!kasan_page_table(st, p4d_start)) {
+				walk_pud_level(st, *start, eff,
 					       P + i * P4D_LEVEL_MULT);
 			}
 		} else
-			note_page(m, st, __pgprot(0), 0, 2);
+			note_page(st, __pgprot(0), 0, 2);
 
 		start++;
 	}
@@ -529,6 +529,7 @@ static void ptdump_walk_pgd_level_core(s
 	}
 
 	st.check_wx = checkwx;
+	st.seq = m;
 	if (checkwx)
 		st.wx_pages = 0;
 
@@ -542,13 +543,13 @@ static void ptdump_walk_pgd_level_core(s
 			eff = prot;
 #endif
 			if (pgd_large(*start) || !pgd_present(*start)) {
-				note_page(m, &st, __pgprot(prot), eff, 1);
+				note_page(&st, __pgprot(prot), eff, 1);
 			} else {
-				walk_p4d_level(m, &st, *start, eff,
+				walk_p4d_level(&st, *start, eff,
 					       i * PGD_LEVEL_MULT);
 			}
 		} else
-			note_page(m, &st, __pgprot(0), 0, 1);
+			note_page(&st, __pgprot(0), 0, 1);
 
 		cond_resched();
 		start++;
@@ -556,7 +557,7 @@ static void ptdump_walk_pgd_level_core(s
 
 	/* Flush out the last page */
 	st.current_address = normalize_addr(PTRS_PER_PGD*PGD_LEVEL_MULT);
-	note_page(m, &st, __pgprot(0), 0, 0);
+	note_page(&st, __pgprot(0), 0, 0);
 	if (!checkwx)
 		return;
 	if (st.wx_pages)
_


^ permalink raw reply	[flat|nested] only message in thread

only message in thread, back to index

Thread overview: (only message) (download: mbox.gz / follow: Atom feed)
-- links below jump to the message on this page --
2019-12-01  1:52 [patch 060/158] x86: mm: point to struct seq_file from struct pg_state akpm

Linux-mm Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-mm/0 linux-mm/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-mm linux-mm/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-mm \
		linux-mm@kvack.org
	public-inbox-index linux-mm

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kvack.linux-mm


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git