linux-mm.kvack.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>
To: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>
Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-doc@vger.kernel.org,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>,
	Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>,
	Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com>,
	Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@dabbelt.com>,
	Albert Ou <aou@eecs.berkeley.edu>,
	Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>,
	Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>,
	Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>,
	"David S . Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>, Longpeng <longpeng2@huawei.com>,
	Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr>,
	Mina Almasry <almasrymina@google.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 2/4] hugetlbfs: move hugepagesz= parsing to arch independent code
Date: Fri, 10 Apr 2020 15:26:56 -0400	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20200410192656.GE3172@xz-x1> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200401183819.20647-3-mike.kravetz@oracle.com>

On Wed, Apr 01, 2020 at 11:38:17AM -0700, Mike Kravetz wrote:
> Now that architectures provide arch_hugetlb_valid_size(), parsing
> of "hugepagesz=" can be done in architecture independent code.
> Create a single routine to handle hugepagesz= parsing and remove
> all arch specific routines.  We can also remove the interface
> hugetlb_bad_size() as this is no longer used outside arch independent
> code.
> 
> This also provides consistent behavior of hugetlbfs command line
> options.  The hugepagesz= option should only be specified once for
> a specific size, but some architectures allow multiple instances.
> This appears to be more of an oversight when code was added by some
> architectures to set up ALL huge pages sizes.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>

This could change the error messages for a wrong setup on archs, but I
guess it's not a big deal, assuming even to capture error people will
majorly still look for error lines in general..

Reviewed-by: Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>

-- 
Peter Xu



  reply	other threads:[~2020-04-10 19:27 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 13+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-04-01 18:38 [PATCH v2 0/4] Clean up hugetlb boot command line processing Mike Kravetz
2020-04-01 18:38 ` [PATCH v2 1/4] hugetlbfs: add arch_hugetlb_valid_size Mike Kravetz
2020-04-10 19:16   ` Peter Xu
2020-04-13 17:04     ` Mike Kravetz
2020-04-01 18:38 ` [PATCH v2 2/4] hugetlbfs: move hugepagesz= parsing to arch independent code Mike Kravetz
2020-04-10 19:26   ` Peter Xu [this message]
2020-04-01 18:38 ` [PATCH v2 3/4] hugetlbfs: remove hugetlb_add_hstate() warning for existing hstate Mike Kravetz
2020-04-10 19:34   ` Peter Xu
2020-04-01 18:38 ` [PATCH v2 4/4] hugetlbfs: clean up command line processing Mike Kravetz
2020-04-01 18:55   ` Randy Dunlap
2020-04-10 20:37   ` Peter Xu
2020-04-13 17:59     ` Mike Kravetz
2020-04-14 15:27       ` Peter Xu

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200410192656.GE3172@xz-x1 \
    --to=peterx@redhat.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=almasrymina@google.com \
    --cc=aou@eecs.berkeley.edu \
    --cc=benh@kernel.crashing.org \
    --cc=borntraeger@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=christophe.leroy@c-s.fr \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=dave.hansen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=gor@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-s390@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=longpeng2@huawei.com \
    --cc=mike.kravetz@oracle.com \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=palmer@dabbelt.com \
    --cc=paul.walmsley@sifive.com \
    --cc=paulus@samba.org \
    --cc=sparclinux@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2 2/4] hugetlbfs: move hugepagesz= parsing to arch independent code' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).